Ratings based on 648 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Okay visit.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Hotel room was clean but did not have but one wash cloth and towel for two people. A half roll of tissue paper when I called the front desk they said it would be taken care of. Two hours later I called again that's when someone came to give us towels but no toilet tissue. No I won't be coming back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Maintenance needed.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The size was impressive, and it looked good from the outside.
Cons: Room maintenance. don't just blame the cleaning staff.
We stood outside of entrance # 3 trying to get in with our door card/key. Turned out the door would not unlock due to the card reader needing repair. There were no signs stating out of order, we had to call the hotel to find out, then drag all our bags to another entrance. The room itself was okay, but the bathroom was in disrepair and needed cleaning. The vent in the bathroom was dirty. The shower had a lot of mold and cracked tiles. The shower head was split and sprayed water from the handle. There were no notices found relating to check out times. There were stains on the carpet. Pulling up to this hotel and going in the front entrance you get the feel that this place is going to be really nice, and perhaps we got the worst room, but we were disappointed in our room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
The customer service was horrible. Very impolite staff. The room was dirty. Mold in tub. Given disability room. I am not disabled. Spider webs on every lamp. Blood stains on sheets. Room smelled bad. Did not even take a shower bc shower flower was dirty. So happy trip was only one night. Would not stay here again. Would not recommend to worst enemy. Photos are on my sisters phone. I will try to get them to upload later.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand rapids

Dirty hotel close to expressway !t

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: The pool and the location .that is all .
Cons: All of it .this was not a good experience .
Location: We went to the palace in auburn hills .that's all I know about .s
The bathroom had used soap. No towels used shampoo etc . we did not get the adjoining rooms we reserved .we had children with us so this was important ! The hotel staff would not work with us on anything .in fact they were quite rude ! !this was very disa0pointing .😫
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toledo,ohio

worst place to stay.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: Hotel staff attitudes. Better cleaning and people who care about their hotel.
Location: Went for the woodward dream cruise.
Could not check in at check in time # 3pm. It was almost 5pm. 30 plus people besides us . no seating in lobby. Hotel staff rude and didn't care. No towels on room. Bath tube drained very slow. Key cards needed reset multiple times. Alot of the guests had all the same issues. Tried to talk to a manager , They wouldn't talk to us .Would never stay here agian!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price I would stay again.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
the bed was clean and the linens were fresh, The place is nice looking the lobby was nice. But the room had only one towel, the tub needs to be recaulked, the mat in tub was discusting, the carpet was gross. The bed was comfortable. The price was right. I just take off my shoes. I was glad I had flip flops for the shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Tiring ... Waited forever to change rooms

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Wouldn't hold guaranteed. Reservation even though I traveled 650 miles. Stay at a beautiful hotel for first 2 nights. Pictures of this hotel looked great rebooked for last night. Rooms terrible condition, no A/C in halls, waited 2 hours for rooms. Called 3 times for towels at pool, only 1 towel in each room and no one to get more towels from. Don't answer their phone at front desk, no knowledge of hotel policy,. Restaurant closed no continental breakfast. Pool was nice but no towels. Finally got two decent rooms was wore out from the whole procedure. Horrible will never even look at their web site ever again. Must have been a beautiful hotel in the 50' s.....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't recommend

Posted Aug 19, 2015
When we arrived our room that was booked and paid for was given to someone else
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, FL

Posh Modern Hotel Meets Scooby Doo Haunted House

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Beautiful lobby, sauna, pool, exercise room, and all the decaying ghostly remnants of when the Met was in it's prime.
Cons: Fire the entire staff and rehire people who aren't miserable. Two out of four nights, we had no towels. Our room had two phones. Neither worked.
Location: Right next to 75.
You may have noticed that I gave this hotel an overall rating of "2 - disappointing", yet I still recommended it. This was no mistake. I can say that my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay at the Met with confidence...even though so many aspects of it were absolutely terrible. When I first pulled up, I saw a massive metal globe statue in the front and the two absurdly gargantuan stone heads on either side of the front entrance. Generic trendy ambient music, the kind you'd hear at the Guggenheim or on the soundtrack to Zoolander, filled the air as I pulled the car in front of the revolving doors. I stepped inside and walked over to the front desk. A man with a wrinkled untucked shirt who looked like he combed his hair with a firecracker stabbed his fingers on a keyboard. In the conversation that followed, without ever looking up, he told me my reservation was cancelled, then it wasn't, then he tried to convince me to give up my king sized bed for two doubles (which he described as "really big for doubles"). While wandering around, I saw stained carpets, peeling paint, elegant architecture, a massive ball room, a luxurious sauna, and almost no staff. The Met is bizzare. In 2009, $1.5 million in renovations were done to make it a high end fancy hotel. It failed, fell into disarray, and is now an amazing hotel with minimal maintenance and a terrible staff. Everything about the place is interesting. If you don't mind being treated like garbage, you'll love it! We did!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

False Advertising

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Locatioon
Cons: All of it. Hotel needs to invest money into renovations or fold.
Hotel was chosen based on the reviews and its website. Totally false advertising ): One bulb in three lamps in the room. Bathroom was in sad shape, not even a full roll of toilet paper and none to replace. One towel for two guests. Couch was filthy. I was more than disappointed in this hotel. Young man at check in was completely unhappy and made the check in worse. Could clearly see at that point that this hotel was not being taken care of. Won't be back or recommend.