Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love old buildings.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Great pizza!
So the hotel was very comfortable for the most part, was a little drafty because of the time of year and the high ceilings but it has so much character that you don't mind. Love the decode it was spot on for the period, and the history is so interesting that if you are looking for an adventure this is your place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Weird

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Can't think of anything
Cons: Coffee maker in the room would be great.
Location: The location met my needs.
I've never stayed in a hotel where I was the only guest and the staff/owner left for the night. I believe I was the only person (guest or staff) in the hotel each of the 3 nights I stayed. I did not have cell service (not their fault) and the phone in my room didn't work. I did have internet though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed dining at Port O Call on the bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Packer fans.

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleased to find a reasonably priced room not too far from Lambeau Field when the Packers played Thursday night and everything in Green Bay was booked. Late check in after the game was no problem. Continental breakfast didn't amount to much. Glad I didn't have much luggage to carry up to third floor room (no elevator). Quaint hotel décor and nice little town (Kewaunee). View of Lake Michigan from the lobby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Karsten is cool old hotel, but it's a better place for budget than luxury! The staff were very friendly and personable. Continental breakfast was ok, nothing special. The room is very tiny and plain, though quite clean. While the neighborhood was quiet, the floors are squeaky and walls are thin so you are likely to hear your neighbors. :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

relive the past

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Karsten is an classic old hotel with lots of old school character. High ceilings, wood floors and not much changed from the past except the internet juke box in the bar and modern room fixtures. This is a blast from the past property. Lots of historical info on premises. Supposedly has resident spirits/ghosts but we witnessed none on 3rd floor. No elevator so you must be able to use stairs except there is one accessible room on first floor. Basic continental breakfast in the big room off the lobby with 3 pool tables. Reasonable rate for the room. 301 has jaccuzzi tub which was nice. Ahnapee Brewery tap room in Algoma only 10 mile north and some great brews.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
A real gem!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome old hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Had a fabulous stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Old charm, but uninspired

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Nice old building with lots of character and promise.
Cons: Uninspired and apparently disinterested mgmt.
Location: Not much. I think there was one bar in town to find dinner and a ice cream place for burgers across the street. At night the place is a ghost town.
Got to the front desk at 4:30pm and nobody was there. Hit bell a few times and no one. Finally wandered to the bar and the bartender checked me in. I guess no 2nd or 3rd shift. Got into the room, and it was just OK. Don't look under beds or behind dressers, or you'll get the creeps. 2 remotes for TV only changed the channel. Had to get up to adjust the volume or turn off. No internet access. Calls the the front desk just rang off the hook. The Continental breakfast was embarrassing. It's really a shame because I love staying in these old kinds of places and some really do a nice job. Not so much here. Needs a new staff and a make over bad. Sad.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
The first night we were there the staff was great. The beds were really hard. The second night we changed rooms and the beds were much better. The view was great and had a wonderful feel. The only thing that I didn't like was we were told we could pay when we got there. So, we gave them a different credit card to charge it to and they acted like they rang it through. Then when we got home we saw they charged the hold credit card we used to book it. Why go through all of that if you didn't want us to use the other credit card?