Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Great location. That’s it.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Great location right in the heart of Lahaina. However, the room itself was poorly kept. Very dusty and we were unable to use the drawers or wardrobe due to uncleanliness. Housekeeping neglected to give us fresh towels daily, change the sheets when requested, and seldom took out the garbage. The bed was extremely old, uncomfortable, and creaked at the slightest of movement. The staff were friendly enough, however upon check in, we were not given a safe key and were given incorrect values of what the damage deposit would be (our credit card was charged four times the amount we were told). Our first day we came back from the beach to find several items and 1/3 of the cash we brought on the trip missing. Only when we made the incident report to head of security were we told there was a safe located behind the door and when we were checked in the staff forgot to give us a key to the safe. Later in the week the locks on all the doors were being changed as it seems security and theft are common issues. Will not be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Hawaiian History

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Started off by checking in 2 hours early! Staff had great tips for dinner and sightseeing as well as trivial knowledge of the hotel's history and that of Lahaina as well. Building and room were beautiful (my gf and I love old antique stuff). Air conditioning was the best we felt on Maui.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Cheap and good location

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Great location. Cheap. Not well cared for. Very old. But if you just want to be up in the mix and just need a place to sleep and shower and don’t want to spend a lot it’s cool. The bathroom had a lot of rust and broken tiles. And no closets and very old drawers but cute old haaaiian style. The patios didn’t open because they are a safety hazard unfortunately they should advertise that
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice room, dangerously slippery bathtub.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Nice room rates OK, walking distance to front street and banyan court
Cons: Put a rubber mat or texture stickies in the tub before someone hurts themselves.
Location: Walking distance to banyan court, lots of shops, galleries, and restaurants. Very nice.
Check-in was easy, no problems. The room was a typical hotel room, nice but not exceptional. Our little balcony overlooked the parking lot- we really didn't use it. The only real negative is that the bathtub has zero texturing and no rubber mat or anything, so when we took a shower it was ridiculously slick and slippery. Both me and my husband felt downright unsafe in there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kauai

Great location, disappointing amenities

Posted Oct 30, 2017
The rooms are lovely and the location in the middle of town can't be beaten. The reception staffer was brusque, nearly rude, and there is no one on duty from 7 p.m. to 11 a.m. We were given no verbal or written information about the hotel at the reception desk or in our room. I searched fruitlessly for an ice machine, assuming there must be one since we were given an ice bucket. But there was no machine to be found. The balconies, a major selling point of the hotel, were all off-limits with no notice. We climbed through a window and sat on a towel to enjoy ours, anyway. The showers only reached a lukewarm temperature.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Very old, needs some major reinvestment.

Posted Oct 24, 2017
This place has so much potential. However, the owner has decided not to reinvest in his/her business. Our balcony (to view and enjoy water, people, shops) closed due to needed repairs! So to make up for that I got free parking ($5, yea!!!!). What a disappointment. The bed was so bad I can't even explain. The mattress had to be 50 years old. It had no support anymore. I couldn't move because it sounded like the bed was going to fall apart. My wife was embarrassed to sleep in this bed due to the noises. I can go on but I don't like to give bad reviews. However, I don't want others to have this experience. The sad part is they have such a Great location!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from honolulu, Hi

Check in was a little rough, but I arrived late

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. It's close to all the night life, secured, and the hotel staff are pretty cool. I came for a weekend stay for a wedding. I checked in late, so I had to call. The Royal Lahaina resort for them to send someone to check me in. It took an hour! But it was 10:30pm on a Friday night. But they sent a security guy that really wasn't sure how to go about checking someone in. It's really my fault for having to schedule a late flight. But over all if you're patient with a late check in, it a great place to stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Old Old hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Location
The hotel has a great location just off Front St. in Lahaina. It is extremely outdated. It has about a 30-40's décor. The rooms have ugly wallpaper, small bathrooms with no storage or shelves. The bed sloops to the middle and squeeks at every move and so do the floors. We paid extra for a room with a balconey, but it had been condeemmed and we weren't able to use it (our parking was compted). There wasn't an elevator, ice machine or a coffee maker. It's a small hotel and smells like pine cleaner and disinfectant. My husband left a pair of jeans there, but when we both called and returned to inquire about them, they were nowhere to be found. We were told we'd receive a follow-up call the next day, but were not. Would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

Nice hotel in the heart of Lahaina.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Close to shops and restaurants. Old historic has a lot to offer like beaches and sights. The hotel has thin walls and you could all the noise. From the closing doors to the garbage getting pick up in the morning. It does need upgrades and the staffs are wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver, Colorado

Always a first choice

Posted Sep 17, 2017
This is my second time staying in this hotel. Staff is friendly, room is clean, noise is minimal from other guests, etc. Will definitely be staying there a third time!