Ratings based on 852 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Nice hotel in the Sacramento Center

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, location
Cons: Up to date furniture, better mattress, better pillow
Location: Old Sacramento, California Museum, State Capitol
My stay at the Best Western Plus Sutter House was pleasing. It's in walking distance of the Capitol and Old Sacramento, a good starting point to visit the city. It's more of an outdated hotel, but the room was really clean, the WiFi was fast, the heating worked perfectly and the shower was hot. The hotel provided tons of towels, basic toiletries, coffee and tea, and there was a mini-fridge and a microwave in the room. The bed and pillow weren't the most comfortable. The rooms are not properly soundproof, so once it's morning and people start moving around there is a ton of noise. The free breakfast has decent options (fruits, oatmeal, eggs, muffins) for continental breakfast. The staff was very nice, I even got many nice suggestions from one of the receptionist to visit in the city. The gym was very basic, but I could squeeze a good workout in there. There is only one snack vending machine with low options, so it They provide a covered parking lot for free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Very clean rooms

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Everything was great except for the women working the desk when we checked in she was very rude and unprofessional. She didn't smile and when we asked a question she acted like she was disgusted that we were bothering her. Other then that the rest of the staff was friendly and the hotel was nice and clean if they were to get rid of that women I would give this hotel 5 stars, oh and the parking isn't all that great other then that had a decent nights sleep and a good breakfast better them most hotels offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay area

Convenient location for Aftershock Festivall

Posted Oct 25, 2017
We chose to stay here for the weekend during the festival. It was a nice stay. The price I believe was a little high. Was it because of festival???? Very comfortable bed & nice bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Nice hotel, great room and facilities

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Location: The location is at the end of the city, driving distance from the center and where all the action is, but we liked it its only a few minutes drive
Hotel is very nice - room is large and well equipped, full kitchen with equipment to cook, nice balcony with view to the city and mountains, spacial room and bedroom. The spa - pool + hot tub + fitness room are AWSOME!! The 2 reasons for the low rating are 1. we had a problem with the hitted in the room and were very cold, it took 3 phone calls and more than 2 hours to get someone to come over and check it, and then let us know that it is broken but the maintenance guy is out for the day! luckily for us it was ~40deg outside and not worse.. 2. There is absolutely no food on the premise, there is a coffee place which is opened at very limitted hours and sells coffee, a few pastries and some soft drinks. you cant even get any coffee after hours, and need to basically either go out or buy groceries to make your own food in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Downtown Sacramento hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking, wonderful free breakfast
Cons: My only complaint is that the elevator was a bit slow, but the stairs are carpeted and very accessible.
Location: State capitol and Old Sacramento within walking distance. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby.
We enjoyed this hotel, the location is not far from the state capitol and Old Sacramento. The rooms are spacious and clean. We appreciated the free parking and continental breakfast (awesome food!). My friend and I walked around the area quite a bit, there are some characters about (homeless), but nobody bothered us and we felt quite safe. I thoroughly enjoyed their "sun" heated pool-- I was able to swim some laps and that was wonderful! The staff here are very friendly and helpful, and made us feel at home. I would most definitely stay here again when in Sacramento!
5 out of 5
by Cristine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Front desk lady was a gem!! Mega watt smile, friendly, helpful, exceptional.
Great hotel. Clean comfortable. Good breakfast. Nice amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Livermore, CA

POOL area is a slippery accident waiting to happen

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Cons: The pool decking!!!
Location: Sac Anime Convention twice a year. We rented twice. Jan no one swam but this was the summer show so we used the pool.
Well actually not waiting it DID happen. A young lady (age 18) slipped and fell as she was standing from exiting the side of the pool. Trying to stand up was enough to slip right back down on these horrid tiles chosen for pool decking. They are like slime when wet. I went and told the front desk about it. They called 911. She was taken off by ambulance. Then within 20 mins a grown man stepping forward swiftly to retrieve his 3 yr old son who needed assistance in the water slipped on the wet tile and I heard and saw the back of his head hit the tile pool decking. He went to tell the front desk about it. Soon after the lady at the front desk was back to "close the pool". This surely made sense to us. But, there were guests swimming that night and the next morning. There were NEVER any CLOSED for use signs put up. Business is back to usual at this hotel. Clearly hotel safety is NOT #1 as it should be we won't be going back for any future Anime Conventions. They are twice a year. We will be finding other accommodations.
4 out of 5
by Teresa

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
We had an awesome stay. Hotel and staff were wonderful. The only things that were not great is the limited parking and we were on the side of the hotel that had the 'light-rail' station/cars driving loudly past the hotel, honking and making loud noises.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

Terrible staff & stay

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Definitely would not recommend this hotel. Apart from the manager, the rest of the staff was rude and very unprofessional lol