Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Super bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Rooms, common room on first floor, location and innkeepers.
Cons: it might be helpful to offer some type of continental breakfast for those who need to leave before the 8:30 am breakfast time.
Location: It is close to good restaurants, a post office, and the DC metro.
I was staying at a hotel in Arlington the first two nights in the DC area but moved the last night to Mt. Vernon. The innkeepers were superb in their service and providing information, the room (I had the Terrace with the separate bathroom which was fine) was excellent and had its own outside porch, and the location was convenient to the mall, Union Station, the metro etc. I would definitely recommend and go back to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great solution to the hustle & bustle of DC

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We were only in DC for less than 24 hours while visiting friends, but it was lovely to stay at this little B&B tucked away in DC. The place was gorgeous and very clean; the only reason I rated the comfort level a little low (OK) was because my husband had a hard time sleeping on the super firm mattress, and the city sounds kept him awake. But obviously the sounds can't be helped. Breakfast was great and the owner was kind. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clearwater,Fl

Great BNB! Great staff, clean rooms, comfy beds!

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Keith and Glenda our hosts were accommodating, friendly and helpful in every way. We are planning on returning here again in the future and we plan to stay in the Cleopatra suite. The Copper suite we stayed in had everything we needed and a little balcony under a huge oak tree. Great for couples! You will certainly enjoy this beautiful historic home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice location, beautiful home, wonderful staff!

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, accommodations, location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Plenty of nightlife and restaurants within 6 blocks. DC sightseeing with 12 blocks.
We stayed at MVSBB over the fourth of July 2017. Located on the corner of M street NW and 4th, it is about a 12 block walk to both the National Mall and the White House. There is also a Metro station (subway) three block down at M Street and seventh. We chose to Uber most of the time. Getting an XL Uber for the whole family to the monuments cost us around $11 a trip. Let's start with Keith, the innkeeper. What a great guy. We were greeted with wine and beer, shown around the home, given a little history, shown to our rooms, and given detailed maps of the area along with recommendations for food and nightlife. We had the home all to ourselves. Keith gave us his personal cell number and was incredibly responsive whenever we needed him. We booked the Bombay Suite. This has two separate rooms adjoined by a door and a bathroom. The bathroom is quite nice, and both rooms had one king bed and lots and lots of space, as well as a refrigerator in the main room and a tv in each room. The beds were to our liking as well. The Bombay room is located right at the top of the first set of stairs. Breakfast is at 8:30 each morning in the formal dining room. Started with individual bowls of fruit, followed by eggs, grits, French toast, waffles, sausage, or whatever else may be on the menu that day. Fresh juice and coffee as well. On our last morning we were unable to make 8:30 breakfast. The staff arrived early and fed us at 7:30 to make sure we ate. We will return to MVSBB
3 out of 5
by Brenda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Craig

Great place!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
As a B&B in general, you have a "home" feel. At MVSBB, they truly value the opportunity to go above and beyond. The small details are obviously important and designed to enhance your stay. Great place!
5 out of 5
by patricia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

DC visit

Posted May 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Reasonable price and close to sites.
Location: It was an easy walk to the Metro, close to a major grocery store, restaurants, and other conveniences.
This was our first experience with a B&B and our stay was excellent. The owner met us upon our arrival, explained the setup and where to find things in the surrounding area. He was very helpful and answered any of our questions. Each morning's breakfast was outstanding and plentiful. It was a great way to start the day of touring the city's sites. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lin

Highly recommended!

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
I very much enjoyed the home feeling of this B&B. Large hotels have a busy 'energy' about them and this was a much more relaxing atmosphere.