Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south east of England

The hotel was dated in decor and furniture.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: friendly staff
Cons: parking and mattresses on the bed
Location: ideal location for Driffield and surrounding areas.
The hotel decor and furniture was a bit dated and could do with a refresh. The windows in the bedroom were old style sash windows with add on interior double glazing. the sash windows did not open and therefore could not get fresh air in the room which even with the radiator off was stuffy. The mattress on the bed was too soft and uncomfortable to the point of sinking in the middle which made it difficult to sleep.The car park to the rear was totally inadequate for guests in size and number of parking bays and room to manoeuvre. On a positive note the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and provided excellent service during our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South West (UK)

Nice Hotel but needs work on the interior.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The food and the convenience of the location.
Cons: The room décor which is 'dated' and in need of a facelift with attention to Wi-Fi availability and maintenance of electrical facilities.
Location: The location is good for exploring the Dales.
On upside the food in the restaurant was excellent. The staff friendly. On the downside the room was disappointing - wallpaper starting to peel off, bathroom extractor fan not working, lack of shelf by the washbasin, and Wi-Fi unobtainable anywhere in hotel. The car park is small and cramped. The receptionist was unable to help with regard to Wi-Fi problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton

A memorable and pleasant stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Warm, friendly staff. Very helpful. Comfy beds, lots of nice hot water. Old fashion and a little dated but in a nice way.
Cons: The car park was annoying due to its size, shape and being on an incline. Ok for small cars. There is a free all night car park nearby though.
Location: It's in a pleasant Yorkshire town. We went to TribFest and had a marvellous time. Stuarts of Driffield fish and chips were the best I have ever had.
We will be coming back next year for TribFest as we had a very nice stay at the Bell. We found the staff very warm and friendly and eager to help. I phoned ahead to see if they could get our rooms ready as we wanted to check in early if it was possible. Well, they were more than happy to assist. The hotel was quite old-fashion with incredibly creaky floor-boards, nice old pictures and fittings - I liked that as it gave it quite a charm and so much nicer than a modern motel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport

Very Pleasent

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff,old beams accross ceiling it was like living in anothor era
Cons: Nothing everything was 5 star
Location: The location was perfect as we had arrived by train from Manchester Airport,the Hotel was a 10 minute walk from the Station
Stayed at the Bell Hotel in Drifield on Tuesday 9/08/16 on arrival the staff were very helpfull and friendly,the bedroom was very clean,the breakfast was enough to last me untill lunch and all in all it was a very nice Hotel,would definatly recommend this Hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

4th Anniversary party in Driffield.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The room was clean but the bed was just a standard double. The tea and coffee making facilities were hidden in the wardrobe & both light's in the bathroom were quite dull.Breakfast was lovely but expensive at £10 each.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old and bordering on run down. Very quirky.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Cons: Updating which l am sure could be done without loosing the character.
Location: Centrally placed in small town. Didn't explore locality as we were traveling through.
Expected the age of hotel but not the run down feel. Our room(16) had an overpowering musty smell. The bathroom/wetroom had a shower which was so antiquated it had to be seen to be believed with a floor of dirty looking quarry tiles. The problem being, once the floor got wet you had to paddle through the water to use the loo ! Breakfast was good with a fair choice of Continental and freshly cooked English. We were glad we had only booked for one night as a stop over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

very central quirky hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: the feeling of going back in time to a much more gently era
Location: n/a
noise can be an issue if allocated a room at front of hotel and there is a party in progress - noisy party goers stand outside the main hotel entrance smoking, laughing and shouting loudly - perhaps management could monitor this a bit ore carefully
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hull

Hotel was close to a party place

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Bit hacked off not with the hotel but with the booking,i didnt realised that the breakfast was not included in the price but then £10 for a breakfast on top of £69 for the stay was a bit to expensive for what i would class as an "old fashioned third rate doss house trying to be a bit above its self,this hotel has been left in the 19th century in what used to be a bustling market town,when i was last in Driffield it was the early 70s and the Bell hotel was the "Posh" place where millionaire farmers stayed but times change but the hotel to me has stayed in the past it certainly does not warrant the price of a nightly stop over but what got me upset was the price of a breakfast £10 for one egg,one sausage,2rashers of bacon "cheap bacon at that! " half a tomato, slice of black pudding,piece of fried bread spoon ful of mushrooms coffee & toast cafe down the road for the same breakfast £3:75,even without the breakfast its not worth the price sorry Great Western but i wont be staying at your places again i was going to stay at Llangelli but not now NO CHANCE !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK .

Four Nights .

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Plenty of lde worlde charm ..... the staff were happy , pleasant local , real peaple , who understood english .!... unlike many places , these days
Cons: I wold'nt change things , A pleasant surprise .
Location: Good for busses , rail station for Scarborough , Bridlington , Filey and Hull is a few hundred yards walk . Lovely village , street market thursday
Went to the hotel for a party on Friday evening , decided to arrive on tuesday , and take a look at Yorkshire .... had an appointment down home on sunday , or would have stayed over more nights . Do'nt stay in many hotels , but this was one of the best . In a very impressive village , with good access to the coastal towns , has a big leisure centre , and plenty of real yorkshire folk .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and had lots of character
Cons: The service at breakfast could be improved, we had to wait too long for our food. There was only 3 other people being served when we were there.
Location: Location was very good.
Room was very cold, could not get the radiator to heat up and the room had a very musty smell.