Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Alone

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We were the only guests in the entire hotel. Bar and restaurant has been closed for some time. One person staff. Continental breakfast was bagels on a tray in the down stairs lobby next to coffee pot. No coffee in our room. We were on the third floor. No out going mail service. No umbrellas to borrow to load up our car in the rain. Expedia really screwed us this time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from big flats ny

Quaint

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Exceptionally quaint, not filled with modern convience but very classic mansion . It’s a slice out of time and very fun to be immersed in historical setting. Staff is very friendly and more than helpful and willing to add to the old world flavor. Quite relaxing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Tired Hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Was our second stay at the White Inn. The first stay was fine with a clean room, dinner in the restaurant, and a suitable continental breakfast in the morning. This stay was not fine with a tired room that felt dirty (carpeting was stained, pillows were clearly well-used, and the bedspread was just grimy) and closed restaurant. Would have left if we were staying for more than a night. Restaurant is closed for good and the hotel is for sale which explains the current state of the place. Room was grossly overpriced for what we experienced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and right down town

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Staff was great. Very quaint hotel with lots of character . Room on line said there was sleeper sofa but there was not one. We got cots so it was fine although they were a bit aged
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Oct 9, 2017
No restaurant facility so had to go elsewhere for a substantial breakfast before continuing our journey. Poor lighting in the room. Clock radio did not work. Room was spacious and comfortable. Close to NYS Thruway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and Underwhelming

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Booked a night here. It was labor day weekend so ate the super high price assuming rooms were limited. Arrived to a pretty much empty parking lot. I booked a 2 queen bed room. Checking in, one of the questions on the sheet I signed said there was a charge for over two guests. This seemed weird for a two queen room so I paused when reading. Person at the desk said they don't really care about that and not to worry. 3 people stayed in the room. I received no bill or notification upon checkout but got charged another 27 dollars to my card a couple days later. Called to ask why and was told it was an extra person charge. For 3 people. In a two queen room. Total cost was 230 bucks to stay in a far from fancy, empty hotel in a small upstate new york town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo

Down town fredonia

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Historic hotel walking distance to all down town activities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice inn and convient location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and staff.
Cons: Restaurant and bar will hopefully reopen soon.
Location: Convient to Buffalo, wineries , restaurants, etc
Disappointed the restaurant and bar were closed. We have stayed here 3-4 times over the last 5 years and it is always pleasant and relaxing. Just want to stay that Kaylin and Kamaal were both very helpful and provide exceptional service to my wife and me over the Labor Day weekend. We will stay here again. Bruce and Lori
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GLENDALE,NY

dissapointed

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: THE BED ,RUG THE SMELLS FROM OLD FURNITURE
Location: THE OCATION WAS OK
The room was big and clean BUT THE BED WAS HORRIBLE WASN'T SAFE FOR ME AND MY HUSBAND TO SLEEP. HORRIBLE SQUEZZING SOUND, FALLING APART .WE DIDN'T SLEEP COMFORTABLE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mass

Nicely redone classic

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This classic hotel has been nicely modernized and renovated. Our room was extremely comfortable, roomy and had its own bath. As we were eating elsewhere with relatives, it did not bother us that the dining room and bar are not currently in service. We would definitely stay here again.