Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Country delights...

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Pretty much everything was excellent, including the customer service. Friendly and helpful hosts who were there if you needed them.
Cons: The smallest thing, really. Driving down the lane from the main road, I managed to miss the sign for Nafferton Farm (twice). Maybe resite it?
This is a jewel of a B&B. A working farm, approached by a long lane through fields, but with all the comforts of home. The room was spotless, the bed was comfortable, the views were relaxing, and the breakfast was among the best I've had. Excellent quality bacon, sausage and eggs, beautifully cooked, with a choice of fruit or cereals, as well as plenty of toast and tea or coffee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fareham Hampshire

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly, helpful hosts. Lovely room, fabulous views. Excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Fabulous B&B

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Light, airy, well furnished with quality oak and lovely high ceilings. Great views and superb landlady.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Durham park and ride was 5 minutes away.
First impressions were very good: a lovely spacious hallway and staircase. Great dining room and bedroom too, both of which were well furnished. Personal touches in the bedroom with wine glasses, robe and lovely fluffy white towels too. The landlady, Sandra, was very efficient and friendly and gave us excellent advice on how to park and ride for Durham and could not have been more helpful. Sandra also cooked a mean full English breakfast too! Gorgeous views from the large bedroom window and lovely comfortable beds ensured a good night's sleep. This place is superb and we will definitely return next year. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by James from Glasgow

Brill

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a week Sandra was so helpful nothing was any problem. The room I had was big with a big bathroom would go back and stay when I am back down here.
4 out of 5
by p from Burton upon trent

fair

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
disappointed that room was two single beds rather than one double.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good BnB if you own car

Posted Sep 26, 2015
First of all this BnB is very far from Durham central, on a average taxi will charge minimum £15 one way to reach hotel from Durham city centre. BnB is good w.r.t. cleanliness and breakfast but other facilities not that great. e.g. It says free Wi-Fi but that doesn't work even if you seat next to hotspot forget about it in rooms. Also tabs are old styles thus you can't mix hot n cold water, thus either you will too hot water or too cold. Also heater starts evening till 9pm and then morning 7am thus in night however cold it is you will have to sleep in cold, owners doesn't bother about it. Thus overall if you don't find any BnB at all and if you have car then you can choose this one otherwise I would say there are many more options for lesser price.
5 out of 5
by david from near Philadelphia PA

Sheep and Pheasant!

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotels.com provided GPS coordinates may be the best way to get to the hotel, they got me to the driveway. The driveway was several city blocks long. The weather had turned cool and they had the heat turned on in the room for me (a very nice touch). The bathroom was tiny but usable. Looking out my window, I had a view of the sheep grazing. In the morning I could hear pheasant calling! I had a nice breakfast there; I did have to be a bit firm that I really only wanted a little to eat – didn't want to waste food or have it go to my waist. My only real complaint about this place is that the Wifi was not really usable and cell data was weak too (not surprising). I even went downstairs to the lobby/foyer in attempts to get better signal without real luck. To be honest, that is almost the definition of being spoiled not having fast enough data connectivity. I had a comfortable room with tea and cookies, a nice bed, incredible views, and working bathroom (and friendly staff).
5 out of 5
by Julie from Nuneaton

Great B & B

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
This was a fabulous place to stay. Very friendly people very welcoming. Food great, room lovely. We had a very relaxing stay would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

real farm

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: The farm B&B offered a wonderful bit of variety.
Location: Old Durham and Hadrians Wall.
This is a working farm. We were greeted by Brian and three ducks. The Ducks were a laugh and had a lot of opinions that they were willing to share. There are also sheep, horse and pigs. the farm offers a good option for both Durham and Hadrians Wall. Durham has an excellent parkade so there is no need to stay close to the old town. Sandra is an excellent hostess and the farm was a wonderful experience. For dinners there is a great pub just down the road. We were doing a B&B tour of GB and found Nafferton Farm offered a great experience.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Melbourne

Peaceful working farm loction

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Sandra is an excellent host. Loved everything about my visit except the wifi. It was weak at best in the bedroom and constantly dropped out.