Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Teilweise toller Meerblick

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Cons: Der Preis ist für den Zustand ein Witz.
Location: Der Vorort von Edinburgh ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt. Das Stadtzentrum ist leicht und schnell mit dem Bus erreichbar.
Teilweise toller Meerblick, Zustand für mitteleuropäische Verhältnisse eher abenteuerlich. Preise entsprechen in keiner Weise den Leistungen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South London.

Great Location - pity about the accommodation!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location. View over the beach. Great for getting city centre buses. Cleanliness of the room.
Cons: Breakfast is frugal - so, as suggested in other reviews go out to one of the many cafes in the area.
Location: Perfect for the beach. Good restaurants/pub (Espys). Nice coffee houses on the High Road. Playgrounds and amusement arcade for the kids
This B&B really isn't very comfortable and is more suited to travellers passing through who want a bed for the night. Top floor rooms are not suitable for buggies, bad legs or heart problems - no lift. We found the "en-suite" bathroom, inside a cupboard (1m by 3m). Let's just say, a sense of humour helped!
4 out of 5
by Ernesto from Cabo Rojo, Puerto Rico

Portobello B&B

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice B&B at a reasonable price. We stayed in one endsuite with 4 beds that was very confortable for the three of us. A full continental Breakfast was great for just 3 pounds per person (compare to 12 pounds for a bad one in our previous hotel). The beach is right there if you wNt to go for a walk. A close bus stop is very convenient to go into Town. The drive to Edinburgh castle takes about 20 min. The only potential problem is parking since there are only 4 parking spaces. Parking on the street is fine if you find a place.
5 out of 5
by Deidre B. from New York, USA

Lovely stay.

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
This is a hidden gem and worth a visit. Incredible location with access right out the back to the sea. Waking up to the sounds and smells of the sea is wonderful. One reviewer mentioned it's "tired". I would say that's part of the charm and to be expected with the price and location. Hospitality was exceptional and would highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by Peter from Houston

Very enjoyable

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Last minute decision to spend few days at Portobello Beach, this B&B was perfectly situated and adequate facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

B @ B by the sea

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Friendly staff and clean, comfortable beds made our stay at Portobello a good experience. Would use this guest house again.
4 out of 5
by Geo from Apeldoorn

Vond het een prettig verblijf. Perfect ontbijt.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Heel vriendelijk personeel.
Location: Leuke ligging. Niet te ver van het centrum en een goede busverbinding.
Leuke ligging buiten het centrum en dicht bij zee.
4 out of 5
by Pascal from France

Hôtel très simple, calme, face à la mer.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Le calme : pas de bruit de circulation ou autres. On entend que la mer.
Cons: La décoration (voir photo) et le store.
Location: Un pub en bord de mer et un autre (the Forester) sur la rue principale. Promenade en bord de mer devant l’hôtel.
Hôtel très simple mais très calme, idéal pour dormir après une journée chargée en visites. Chambre très simple, équipement réduit au minimum, pas de douche ni WC dans la chambre, mais literie propre et plutôt confortable. Petit déjeuner correct. Bref une prestation correcte au regard du prix demandé. Deux pubs accueillants dans le voisinage et le bus 26 (à 5 mn de marche) vous conduit au centre d’Édimbourg en 30 mn (pour 1£50).
4 out of 5
by Martine from Hengelo

Prima guest house

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Leuk en knus verblijf, aan het strand. Vooral met mooi weer een aanrader! Bus 26 (3 min lopen vanaf guest house) gaat richting het centrum van Edinburgh en heeft stops aan de grote straat die door portobello loopt. Het is wel een drukke buslijn, dus je bent zo een half uur onderweg naar het centrum. Annie, die het ontbijt voor ons verzorgde, is een schat en je kunt haar alles vragen! De kamer (8) was niet groot, maar wel schoon en er was zelfs een waterkoker met koffie en thee. Als je niet al teveel luxe eist, dan is dit een prima verblijf voor een bezoek aan Edinburgh!
4 out of 5
by Anna from Berlin

Direkt am Strand.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Lage und Leute.
Cons: Kein täglicher Zimmerservice, was uns aber nicht weiter gestört hat.
Location: Nette Pubs und Strandcafés! In Portobello findet sich alles, was man zum Leben braucht. Ins Zentrum kann man theoretisch laufen, ca. 3 Meilen.
Uns hat es gut gefallen, selbst wenn das Guest House keine Luxusunterkunft war/ist. Dafür ist die Atmosphäre sehr familiär und die Besitzer sind um einen angenehmen Aufenthalt bemüht. Am Morgen wurde jedem Gast ein landestypisches Frühstück frisch zubereitet. Für Leute, die ein Zimmer zum Übernachten benötigen und keinen Hotelaufenthalt mit Spa-Angebot erwarten, ist das niedliche B&B genau das Richtige. Die direkte Strandlage ist ein weiterer Pluspunkt und war für unsere Buchung ausschlaggebend. Wir würden wiederkommen!