Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metz

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Superbe vue sur le volcan et la vallee. Choix entre trois petits dejeuners : typique, tropical et pancakes. Nous avons testé les 2 premiers et avons été ravis. Restaurant avec prix corrects (voir moins chers que le petit soda del castillo) et bonne cuisine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice views and great staff

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The staff at the hotel were wonderful. The restaurant was great. The downs were that the website says there is hot water and wifi in rooms. If you can have your shower in under 60 seconds then I guess it is true. The wifi was available but only in common areas. The beds were horrible and very uncomfortable. The pillows were also very bad. Would never stay there again because when you are staying in the rainy part of Costa Rica in the mountains a cold shower is not the way I want to wake up. Suicide showers are best suited to beach areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Antonio Luis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place close to the park, hot springs.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Fantastic views. Really sweet staff. Great restaurant. Close to lake swimming spots.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Difícil acceso, poca información, publicidad engañosa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Fher, Hotel Management
Buenos días lamentamos que las carreteras en Costa Rica no sean de fácil acceso y que a usted no le halla gustado pero decir que es publicidad engañosa es mentira ya que en todas nuestras paginas esta claro que no estamos cerca del centro de la Fortuna y es por lo cual somos un destino muy querido por las personas que verdaderamente quieren salir de la ciudad y el bullicio.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gale from NC

Foreign Travelers...Beware..horrible road into the

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
It was good until check out. We had paid in advance but the hotel management tried to say 1st that we owed them the entire amount. Then I chatted with hotels.com and they realized what the hotel was attempting to do. That was resolved, then they tried to charge $24 for a phone call we never made. We had hotels.com call and speak with the receptionist who acted as though she (Melissa) had no idea what we were concerned about. Then they attempted to charge us for the first night, driving 5 km (20 min) on washed out, rutted, unlit roads that made us sick and upset. Poor directional signs, complete darkness and no phone. When we finally arrived at the hotel lobby 'chef benedicto' offered to give me a glass of wine after I had settled down (about 1/2 hr) then he asked if we would like some food. It had taken us 6 hours to get from San Jose Airport, I knew my husband was upset but needed to eat. I accepted his offer of a little food. At check out time Melissa tried to charge us $25 for that 'meal' We did NOT order the meal. Be very cautious as they will pretend to be friendly and concerned (my husband's Bp had been high for two days and I had gotten no sleep during our last two days) then I realized what they were trying to do during the two + hours it took us to try to check out and then became upset, but tried to keep it from my husband who had suffered a stroke four years ago due to stress. DO Not fall for their false concern nor their tactics!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by gale from NC

Wonderful place to visit, great staff!

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The staff is very kind and helpful. They try hard to help english speaking individuals to enjoy all that the area has to offer. The road coming into the special area of La Castille (Lake Arenal - near nature preserve, butterly conservatory, and protected areas) is a little difficult to travel at night, because it is a gravel road, but it was well worth the bumpy road to be able to see the beautiful views of the Volcano, the sounds of the waterfall, and the great, freshly prepared meals. Our thanks to all the staff that were so kind and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cómoda pero esta muy retirado, llevar carro

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Muy cómodo y rodeado de naturaleza, sin embargo muy retirado, recomiendo llevar vehículo. El chef es excelente y con un trato muy personalizado
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I expected and I expected a lot!

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We arrived a day late and they were so unbelievably accommodating. They even upgraded us for free! The view was unbelievable and the food was great at fusion the hotel restaurant. Yes there is a bit of a bumpy road you have to go on to get to the hotel, but it is TOTALLY WORTH IT! Can't believe how amazing our stay was and I can't wait to go back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan from Australia

low price low quality nice views

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
our overnight stay here was not great. no toilet paper, terrible room decor (green walls, white light) poor toilet, fan installed backwards blowing air upwards. It's a mission to get to, but the view in the morning is great, with the volcano and lake. Make sure to check room condition. however it is cheap.