Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view or arenal volcano but lots of ants

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel was beautiful overal. Super clean and staff was more than amazing!! The only downfall was that there was lots of ants and mosquitos that would get inside & I would always wake up with bug bites. Even though that's not their fault. After all, We were in the middle of the rainforest so I saw it coming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great view!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The food and staff were wonderful.
Cons: The rooms were cozy but dated. The shower left a lot to be desire.
Location: La Fortuna is close by with zip line, hot springs eat...
The view of the volcano was stunning! Best sleep I've had in a long time, listening to the birds and the rain. Peaceful. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario, canada

Hotel close to Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The scenery was fabulous and it was not far from Arenal National Park
Cons: The wifi was available for a few hrs. the first night and then lost completely. Wifi is essential for us to book ahead online.
Location: Nice to walk into the hamlet and to visit a town about 20 km. away that had restaurants, shopping etc. I think the name was Fortuna.
We had an excellent breakfast with coffee refills-a must for me. They gave us a good reduction for booking a second nigh.t
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great value, unbeatable view and lovely staff!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Not their fault, but my god, the road to get there...
Location: A ton of things nearby! Not many stores but close enough to la Fortuna, yet still quiet. Must visit the butterfly conservatory!
This is a quaint little, locally-owned hotel in a small town overlooking Lago Arenal. The rooms are very big and clean - nothing fancy but definitely above expectations for the price. Really nice restaurant with great Tico food, and some more western options (we didn't try but looked fine). Staff is the best part; really helpful and friendly. Most speak English, but a good opportunity to practice your Spanish. Really fun stay.
2 out of 5
by Clive from Costa Rica

Poor facilities, Poor service, good restuarant

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked to stay 2 nights but only stayed for one. It was not what we expected. For people coming for the walks and the canopy tours etc it is a reasonable hotel. However it is 35 minutes down a unpaved bad road and so is at least 50 minute from the La Fortuna restaurants and town. So you are stuck there. The swimming pool is more like a bath so hardly suitable for chilling beside. The air conditioning did not work well enough to cool the room so was full on the whole time. The television has no channels working. The outside light was not functioning so was difficult at night. However the restaurant was surprisingly good with well cooked fresh food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MISLEADING LOCATION

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: DO NOT LIKE THE ACCESS ROADS
Cons: Needs to give warnings on the location, and access roads
NEEDS TO CORRECT THE MAP, AND GIVE ACCURATE ACCESS We had booked this hotel on expedia prior to coming on our Costa Rica Trip. Since we were renting a car, we wanted to drive and staying in a few different areas. When we were searching on expedia for hotels in monteverde, it says this hotels only 9 miles from it. (only an hour from our previous hotel) But once we were down in Costa Rica- we found out there is no access there, in that direction. You have to drive 3 HOURS around the lake to get to that location. so NO, it is NOT 9 mile drive from monteverde. its several HOURS!!!! so not happy about that. we called expedia to cancel- stating it was very misleading- and we needed to stay IN/near Monteverde… It was very difficult- and they (expedia) kept saying we may still get charged (even though we were canceling 24 hours in advance) we explained the website is misleading- and untrue. she kept trying to call the hotel to confirm- but could not reach anybody on the phone.
5 out of 5
by Andrew from California

El Castillo Hermoso, Beautiful!!

Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at Hotel Castillo Del Arenal are absolutely wonderful, all of them were very kind and delivered excellent service. Me and my girlfriend felt very welcomed and truly enjoyed our stay. We arrived by shuttle and had no car and Fermín the owner of the hotel drove us to the different destinations such as zip lining, white water rafting, El Tabacón the beautiful hot springs, and so on. This was for a small fee but it was definitely worth it. The views are spectacular, and the town is very quaint and welcoming. A beautiful place to stay with so much nature and wildlife. 5 out of 5 stars from me!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Fher, Hotel Management
Muchas gracias Andrew, estamos para servirle y recuerde cunado regrese a Costa Rica Hotel Castillo del Arenal es su casa. Saludos y abrazo... Fermin Ramirez C
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice views and great staff

Posted Dec 5, 2015
The staff at the hotel were wonderful. The restaurant was great. The downs were that the website says there is hot water and wifi in rooms. If you can have your shower in under 60 seconds then I guess it is true. The wifi was available but only in common areas. The beds were horrible and very uncomfortable. The pillows were also very bad. Would never stay there again because when you are staying in the rainy part of Costa Rica in the mountains a cold shower is not the way I want to wake up. Suicide showers are best suited to beach areas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little place close to the park, hot springs.

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Fantastic views. Really sweet staff. Great restaurant. Close to lake swimming spots.
1 out of 5
by gale from NC

Foreign Travelers...Beware..horrible road into the

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
It was good until check out. We had paid in advance but the hotel management tried to say 1st that we owed them the entire amount. Then I chatted with hotels.com and they realized what the hotel was attempting to do. That was resolved, then they tried to charge $24 for a phone call we never made. We had hotels.com call and speak with the receptionist who acted as though she (Melissa) had no idea what we were concerned about. Then they attempted to charge us for the first night, driving 5 km (20 min) on washed out, rutted, unlit roads that made us sick and upset. Poor directional signs, complete darkness and no phone. When we finally arrived at the hotel lobby 'chef benedicto' offered to give me a glass of wine after I had settled down (about 1/2 hr) then he asked if we would like some food. It had taken us 6 hours to get from San Jose Airport, I knew my husband was upset but needed to eat. I accepted his offer of a little food. At check out time Melissa tried to charge us $25 for that 'meal' We did NOT order the meal. Be very cautious as they will pretend to be friendly and concerned (my husband's Bp had been high for two days and I had gotten no sleep during our last two days) then I realized what they were trying to do during the two + hours it took us to try to check out and then became upset, but tried to keep it from my husband who had suffered a stroke four years ago due to stress. DO Not fall for their false concern nor their tactics!