Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Amazing view! Great staff! Excellent food!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: We really liked the small, family feel. It is not a resort hotel just a comfortable place in a very rural community to relax.
Location: Too many things to even try to list.
The view from this small hotel is truly awe inspiring. The staff were very attentive and answered all questions we had about various things. On the way to our room my wife freaked out because there was a snake on the stairway. The staff quickly came and removed it (non-venomous). Finally, the restaurant is top-notch with delicious food as well as a good variety of menu options, very classy waitstaff and very reasonable prices. We WILL be going there again for a longer stay with more family members!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico, USA

exquisite view, helpful and friendly staff

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The view, the staff, the fact that there was a restaurant. Nice, small and quiet community.
Cons: Fans in rooms for the heat
Location: Butterfly house, frog pond and snake house within walking distance. Several restaurants. Can go down to the river and play in it.
Overall we were very pleased here. The cabin was spacious and had what we needed although we did have to ask once for the hot water heater to be checked, but they did it right away and everything was fine. The view was stellar, the balcony at the restaurant was comfortable. The staff went out of their way to provide what we needed and helped us with all of our transportation needs. There is a wonderful butterfly house, frog pond, etc walking distance from the hotel and also a snake house. Food at the restaurant was well done and attractively served. Although it is a small community, there are at least 3 or 4 other restaurants within walking distance for some variety. The only negative was that because it was so hot and humid, it would have been nice to have a ceiling fan or other fan in the room. Although we always had all the windows open, it often wasn't enough breeze in the room to keep cool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D.

nice hotel, quiet with nice views

Posted Apr 12, 2017
This hotel was very nice, about 45 minutes from la fortuna. staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous view or arenal volcano but lots of ants

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The hotel was beautiful overal. Super clean and staff was more than amazing!! The only downfall was that there was lots of ants and mosquitos that would get inside & I would always wake up with bug bites. Even though that's not their fault. After all, We were in the middle of the rainforest so I saw it coming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great view!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: The food and staff were wonderful.
Cons: The rooms were cozy but dated. The shower left a lot to be desire.
Location: La Fortuna is close by with zip line, hot springs eat...
The view of the volcano was stunning! Best sleep I've had in a long time, listening to the birds and the rain. Peaceful. I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by Alla

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
I was so-so, very simple. I would rate 2 of 5' Motel' rating. I would not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi didn't work in the room. There was a coffee pot, but no powder or filter. There was no safe box in the room for passports and cash. Staff were friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario, canada

Hotel close to Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The scenery was fabulous and it was not far from Arenal National Park
Cons: The wifi was available for a few hrs. the first night and then lost completely. Wifi is essential for us to book ahead online.
Location: Nice to walk into the hamlet and to visit a town about 20 km. away that had restaurants, shopping etc. I think the name was Fortuna.
We had an excellent breakfast with coffee refills-a must for me. They gave us a good reduction for booking a second nigh.t
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great value, unbeatable view and lovely staff!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Not their fault, but my god, the road to get there...
Location: A ton of things nearby! Not many stores but close enough to la Fortuna, yet still quiet. Must visit the butterfly conservatory!
This is a quaint little, locally-owned hotel in a small town overlooking Lago Arenal. The rooms are very big and clean - nothing fancy but definitely above expectations for the price. Really nice restaurant with great Tico food, and some more western options (we didn't try but looked fine). Staff is the best part; really helpful and friendly. Most speak English, but a good opportunity to practice your Spanish. Really fun stay.
2 out of 5
by Clive from Costa Rica

Poor facilities, Poor service, good restuarant

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked to stay 2 nights but only stayed for one. It was not what we expected. For people coming for the walks and the canopy tours etc it is a reasonable hotel. However it is 35 minutes down a unpaved bad road and so is at least 50 minute from the La Fortuna restaurants and town. So you are stuck there. The swimming pool is more like a bath so hardly suitable for chilling beside. The air conditioning did not work well enough to cool the room so was full on the whole time. The television has no channels working. The outside light was not functioning so was difficult at night. However the restaurant was surprisingly good with well cooked fresh food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.