Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario, canada

Hotel close to Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The scenery was fabulous and it was not far from Arenal National Park
Cons: The wifi was available for a few hrs. the first night and then lost completely. Wifi is essential for us to book ahead online.
Location: Nice to walk into the hamlet and to visit a town about 20 km. away that had restaurants, shopping etc. I think the name was Fortuna.
We had an excellent breakfast with coffee refills-a must for me. They gave us a good reduction for booking a second nigh.t
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great value, unbeatable view and lovely staff!

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: Not their fault, but my god, the road to get there...
Location: A ton of things nearby! Not many stores but close enough to la Fortuna, yet still quiet. Must visit the butterfly conservatory!
This is a quaint little, locally-owned hotel in a small town overlooking Lago Arenal. The rooms are very big and clean - nothing fancy but definitely above expectations for the price. Really nice restaurant with great Tico food, and some more western options (we didn't try but looked fine). Staff is the best part; really helpful and friendly. Most speak English, but a good opportunity to practice your Spanish. Really fun stay.
2 out of 5
by Clive from Costa Rica

Poor facilities, Poor service, good restuarant

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked to stay 2 nights but only stayed for one. It was not what we expected. For people coming for the walks and the canopy tours etc it is a reasonable hotel. However it is 35 minutes down a unpaved bad road and so is at least 50 minute from the La Fortuna restaurants and town. So you are stuck there. The swimming pool is more like a bath so hardly suitable for chilling beside. The air conditioning did not work well enough to cool the room so was full on the whole time. The television has no channels working. The outside light was not functioning so was difficult at night. However the restaurant was surprisingly good with well cooked fresh food. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Jaap from Haarlem

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Het hotel ligt prachtig en we werden heel vriendelijk ontvangen. Nette kamer en goed restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Heredia, Costa Rica

Bello y retirado, perfecto para relajación!

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Como está explicado, el hotel está situado en un pueblito que se llama "El Castillo" y de noche no hay mucho que hacer más que quedarse en el restaurante del hotel. La atención es buena y se pasa muy bien. Todo estaba preparado nuestra llegada, incluyendo el detalle que levábamos a nuestra Basset por lo que no hubo problema alguno. Un detalle: La piscina es pequeña, es más para relajarse que para hacer natación.
4 out of 5
by Yanick from Québec

Pour le prix très bien

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel bien situé en campagne. Loin des immenses groupes touristique. Personnel de l'hôtel charmant et conviviale. Vaut la peine d'y aller
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable, atención personalizada

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Todos son muy amables, la vista hermosa, comida deliciosa, súper recomendable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MISLEADING LOCATION

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: DO NOT LIKE THE ACCESS ROADS
Cons: Needs to give warnings on the location, and access roads
NEEDS TO CORRECT THE MAP, AND GIVE ACCURATE ACCESS We had booked this hotel on expedia prior to coming on our Costa Rica Trip. Since we were renting a car, we wanted to drive and staying in a few different areas. When we were searching on expedia for hotels in monteverde, it says this hotels only 9 miles from it. (only an hour from our previous hotel) But once we were down in Costa Rica- we found out there is no access there, in that direction. You have to drive 3 HOURS around the lake to get to that location. so NO, it is NOT 9 mile drive from monteverde. its several HOURS!!!! so not happy about that. we called expedia to cancel- stating it was very misleading- and we needed to stay IN/near Monteverde… It was very difficult- and they (expedia) kept saying we may still get charged (even though we were canceling 24 hours in advance) we explained the website is misleading- and untrue. she kept trying to call the hotel to confirm- but could not reach anybody on the phone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Metz

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Superbe vue sur le volcan et la vallee. Choix entre trois petits dejeuners : typique, tropical et pancakes. Nous avons testé les 2 premiers et avons été ravis. Restaurant avec prix corrects (voir moins chers que le petit soda del castillo) et bonne cuisine.
5 out of 5
by Francois from Antibes

Coup de coeur

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Très belle hôtel un panorama exeptionel un très bon restaurant qualité prix personnels excellent