Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room and hotel facilities were excellent, with a cocktail bar and a cosy bar with open fires.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upminster, Essex

17th century country hotel with modern facilities

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Lovely old building with many historic features, recently refurbished, set in wonderful grounds. Unfortunately our room was right at the top with a low sloping ceiling and low beams, which we nicknamed 'the Hobbit room' Apart from this we had good food in an atmospheric restaurant and all of the staff were attentive and professional. Would recommend but avoid the top room unless you are vertically challenged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

EYE HOTEL

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: perhaps a lift shaft?
Location: we didn't have enough time to explore the surrounding location
The Oaksmere Hotel experience exceeded expectations. We were there for one night only and wished we could have stayed another couple.... our room was really well appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed our meals - great breakfast offering! We enjoyed our walk around the grounds of the hotel. The service was excellent as well from arrival to departure.
5 out of 5
by LINDA

Top marks to the Oaksmere

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
We were impressed with the refurbishment and so glad Oaksmere has reopened. Comfy room , lovely clean bathroom. We had enough cupboard space for our 2 day stay but any longer you might need to request a room with more drawers/ bigger wardrobe. Public areas are light and airy , gardens well cared for and I love the topiary of the yew trees. Breakfast well organised with choice of cooked items to order. Dinner was a treat, not cheap but worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Lovely hotel and grounds

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: The decor of the rooms and the grounds
Cons: More storage in room 4
Location: We visited family in Eye, so didn't sight see on this occasion, but Eye and Diss are very nice areas.
This hotel has lovely grounds and rooms. We stayed whilst renovations were being carried out, which was not expected, so we didn't have use of a lounge area or conservatory, as it was being use for storage temporarily. We could see that such areas were being built and they looked very promising. I'd like to stay again when building work is finished. The only real negative was that in room 4, which is one of the smaller rooms, the very narrow cupboard, used as a wardrobe was very small and only had two hangers, so we kept our clothes in our bags, such a shame to spoil the room due to no storage. More hangers and a couple of shelves would have been useful. The shower room was lovely, very big and the shower had an ordinary power shower and a rain fall type shower in a huge cubicle. The cooked breakfasts were lovely, but the fruit and yoghurt needed food covers over them as there was a fly around the fruit.
4 out of 5
by Simon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Just stayed a night for business but the staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, both in the evening and the morning. The room was small but luxurious, the shower really really good and the bed equally great. The only slight issue was in the heating not working as stated in the manual so for a long time it was pretty cold before waking up to it being boiling hot The hotel grounds and the bar area were beautiful and the dinner i had i couldn't fault
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

charming

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Have stayed many times and always been pleased. Stayed in the attic room for the first time so not as pleased as usual but as always the beds are excellent and the room generally was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Terry from Kent

Birthday Break Not up to expectations

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Oaksmere is a lovely building set in a lovely location with an excellent patio area and good rooms, but it is not a 5 star rated experience, as the web site and its marketing lead you to expect. I chose the boutique hotel for a break for my wife's birthday, the hotel has all the makings of being excellent, but it should meet the standards of service it infers on the web site. There were a number of examples of poor customer service (see review on Trip Advisor)which detract from the experience.
5 out of 5
by Michael from London

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were all very welcoming and keen to provide a first class service. Inga, on reception, and Millie being worthy of special mention. The bedroom (room 8) was well appointed and the hotel grounds are very attractive and peaceful. Very strongly recommended for a weekend break.