Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

charming

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Have stayed many times and always been pleased. Stayed in the attic room for the first time so not as pleased as usual but as always the beds are excellent and the room generally was comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Terry from Kent

Birthday Break Not up to expectations

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Oaksmere is a lovely building set in a lovely location with an excellent patio area and good rooms, but it is not a 5 star rated experience, as the web site and its marketing lead you to expect. I chose the boutique hotel for a break for my wife's birthday, the hotel has all the makings of being excellent, but it should meet the standards of service it infers on the web site. There were a number of examples of poor customer service (see review on Trip Advisor)which detract from the experience.
5 out of 5
by Michael from London

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were all very welcoming and keen to provide a first class service. Inga, on reception, and Millie being worthy of special mention. The bedroom (room 8) was well appointed and the hotel grounds are very attractive and peaceful. Very strongly recommended for a weekend break.
2 out of 5
by Anand from London

valentines stay ruined

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Check in staff were friendly and were shown up to the room (3) The room was directly above the lounge and due to ceiling mounted speakers the bass reverberated i to the room. This was mentioned to the check in staff who turned the music off in that area which I thought was good. Unfortunately later in the evening the music was back on and disturbing us so had to ask for it to be turned off again. This was just the start though. The fire alarm was set off three times between midnight and 1am. The noise from the party was next with no one apparently caring that others might be sleeping. In the morning the music in the lounge was on again at 7.45am kindly waking me up. Breakfast was in the bar and the tables were so close together that you couldn't have conversation without others being included. There was no vegetarian replacement for meat option which I believe should be standard now given the abundance of meat free products. The result was a very small portion of food. No one approached us to ask if we had everything we needed or if everything was ok which I thought was very poor. When mentioning all of the above on check out the lady processing us seemed very dismissive of the complaints I had but said they would be taken on board. Personally although the grounds were well kept an the room was nice the noise issues and lack of food options would prevent me from recommending this hotel to anyone. All in all a not very restful stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2015
A hotel with old charm, but modern ample facilities. Good parking. Room was of a high standard and very comfortable. Food was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Well worth a stay over
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stay was restful&pleasant just a couple of observations made to management check obscure places for dust and cobwebs husbands main meal vegetables cold
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find somewhere else

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
This is an awful place. Yes its old but it has no air conditioning. The initial room I was given had flies circling the light bulbs. The door was cut diagonally across its upper quarter the roof was similarly shaped to you entered bending at 45 degrees. The shower drains were blocked to the floor flooded when opening the shower door, then the manager knocks on your door at 10 .30 wanting to use a mop and bucket in the bathroom as the water was dripping through the ceiling in the room below. If you want a source with your steak at dinner , then choose between tomato and brown. My advice is to find somewhere else
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Return to Cornwallis

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
We had been to this hotel before it was refurbished and are really pleased that someone has been prepared to spend the money to bring the hotel and grounds into a more desirable state. The rooms were fabulous,we stayed in 2, the food was excellent.