Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful location-food-people

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Had the best time at Fafa Island. Not far from the mainland but yet you feel totally removed from the world. Food was amazing and so were the staff! Loved every minute of our relaxing holiday. Will be back for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful!

Posted May 12, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Felt really luxurious and private, the door to door airport transfers were very handy (if a little expensive), and the cocktails were delicious.
Cons: The cocktails and food were fairly expensive, but we brought some food, snacks and alcohol of our own which offset that cost nicely.
Location: The location is wonderful, with a very deserted and romantic feeling. The snorkelling was great.
We stayed on Fafa Island for 4 nights, and it was just blissful. The staff were lovely - Laura and David were wonderful hosts. The beachside fales are gorgeous, the private outdoor bathrooms were amazing, and it was full of really nice little touches. The beach is beautiful, and the whole thing felt very private - even though most of the other fales were occupied, it was rare to see someone on the beach. There's great snorkelling - we didn't manage to take a kayak out (far too lazy!) but we'd love to come back and fit in a kayak next time. It was perfect for a couple looking for a romantic and relaxing island getaway. Loved it!
5 out of 5
by Robert

Paradise

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
WOW Private secluded paradise. Fantastic food and great friendly service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chch nz

Island close to mainland

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Fafa island is a beaut spot for a short break the fales are gorgeous love the natural outdoor bathroom there is a but though this place only has one restaurant so it's very pricey especially with a family, most of the staff are lovely, and I really don't like the hidden costs like the boat transfers you have to pay for I found astounding when you book at an island you would presume they would be happy to get you there!! do not pay for the airport transfer as you can get a taxi to airport from the wharf for 40 Tongan dollar, also they tried to charge for my children to stay when I had already paid for four in our originally booking with expedia
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Over priced

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet, spacious rooms in a superior fale.
Cons: In the short term, flasks of hot water, define fales for easier identification, nos, colours are easier. Night lights along the paths,
Location: Not for those who get sea sick, but I liked the boat transfer. However, suit cases were piled up in front of life jackets!!
Having stayed in a good many places all over the Pacific Islands, I believe Fafa Island is not the best value for your holiday dollar. For the price we paid, one would expect to be able to get hot water for drinks 24 hours a day, we travelled with a flask, but not being big alcohol drinkers , it was annoying to traipse around to the restaurant every time we wanted coffee. Along with other visitors, we often found it hard to identify our fale. No path lighting, we used the beach to find our way in the dark. Took up several torches and a modern lamp. The old kero lamps were smelly, the bird life is prolific, but don't attempt to leave much unattended, the pukekos were into every thing. Meals were okay, we went a la carte, just eating when we were hungry, not enough vegetables for us, if we had been more active,I think it would cost a fair bit to satisfy a healthy appetite. Staff are friendly, but overall this place is more comfortable with European guests and priced accordingly .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

FAFA Island...hummmm:))))))

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The location...near to the main Island, but also far from it :)
Cons: They could have more chocolate mouse for desert :) I had twice and wasn't enough :)
Location: Location is great, and the only things you can do in the island is sunbath, snorkeling, rest, fishing and walk around the island in 20 minutes.
We stay there for 12 nights during Christmas and New Years Eve. We had great time, the staff was excellent and overall was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Paradise

Posted Jan 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Presentation, private fales, food and bbq with culture show.
Cons: All good
Location: 30 mins back to mainland. Plenty to do on Fafa, relaxing in the hammock, walking, swimming, snorkelling and kayaking.
A 30 minute boat trip from mainland and a very warm welcome on arrival., beautiful clean fale with private access to beach, the outdoor bathroom and shower was a beautiful relaxing environment, plenty to do and see, walking, swimming, snorkelling and kayaking. The meals were delicious, a great variety and well presented. The boat goes back to the mainland twice a day which is good for stocking up on supplies. Don't forget to bring your own nibbles/refreshments to relax around your fale🌸
5 out of 5
by M from Auckland

Fafa - Relaxing getaway

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service, great snorkelling, good food (although the vegetarian food was not quite as good as the main menu). A nice place to get away from it all (including the internet) for couples and friends travelling. Not suitable for kids, this does make it a more romantic island as it was very quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Tranquility it's self

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Fafa island resort is a secluded tropical paradise,giving you the opportunity to totally relax and forget the stresses of the outside world. The staff are welcoming and friendly and do everything they can to make your stay pleasent and memorable. The rooms are traditional Tongan fale and are very open, which could be quite disconcerting if your from a large city but you get over it very quickly. It was delightful I would highly recommend this place to anybody looking for peace and tranquility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: the lovely setting on the beach
Cons: make sure there are coconuts available
Location: this is a desert island setting so snorkling kayaking swimming sun bathing or whale watching trip
Only hotel in FAFA but very nice - food excellent and staff very nice and very accommodating.