Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freehold, NJ

Bed uncomfortable and worn out, fireplace broken .

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Minimal cleaning done each day with trash left on the floor.
Cons: Clean daily, coffee pot in room, soft towels, replace light bulbs or fixtures, soft towels, breakfast.......customer service.
Location: Right on the main drag, close to shops and restaurants. Delightful little town with interesting stores and nearby trails for hiking and biking.
Bed uncomfortable and worn out, fireplace broken, no continental breakfast supplied as advertised, AC filter had never been cleaned or changed making use both sick and rendering the unit unusable, only one robe with two people checked in, towels felt like cardboard and numerous light bulbs burnt out. When ask front desk about light bulbs, I was told they are no longer made. I stated that the fixture should then be changed with no response. When I asked about towels, I was just told that they use softener in every load. We stayed for 10 days for the excellent proximity to town and family, but next time I will stay in another town and drive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 23, 2016
They rack you in to a two night minimum in this very rustic hotel with virtually no amenities. It's close to town but too expensive for what you get
3 out of 5
by Lillian from Setauket

OK spot with good restaurants nearby.

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Overall an ok room for visiting nearby relations. The parking was ok for our minivan, the light breakfast was ok. There was this one peculiar thing: the bottom sheet was never tucked (no fitted sheets I guess.) Didn't have a problem with music from nearby restaurant since it was a mid-week visit. Oh, and you couldn't open the windows but it did have an air-conditioner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Location: Right in downtown Fairfax, walking distance to everything.
A little tired, but great location, very clean and very friendly staff. Had a few unexpected amenities like a whirlpool tub and a fireplace. Didn't use either as we were in town for a wedding, but would have on another occasion. Nice to have parking as it can get a little crowded. There is a nightclub right in front of the Inn, and you can hear the music when you are outside, but the room was quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hit or Miss... mostly miss

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
there are good and bad things about this place ---great bathroom and air conditioning.... however, no DO NOT DISTURB signs available, if you are not up early enough, they will knock then enter shortly thereafter... so no real privacy in a sense. Parking is horrible, they technically have parking, but only really for narrow vehicles. The owner seems nice, but she can be really pushy about parking in the right spaces (which are tiny and impossible) and just generally got a weird sense from her. Unfortunate experience overall, the small good things like the bathroom hardly made up for it. Wish there was another place in fairfax to stay.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Property is located behind a bar

Posted May 17, 2015
Property is behind a bar which is open till early morning. At first it seems nice but as you settle in you see the wear and tear. If you need a hairdryer being your own. The one they have is a joke. Priced a little high for what you get, but in a pinch it will work.
3 out of 5
by Elaine from North Andover, MA

Great location, low frills.

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
The room was beautiful, with high ceilings and lots of light. The location was very convenient because the whole town is within a few minutes walk, but there is a nightclub right next door, so it can be loud at night. Some of my room lights were out, and were not fixed during my stay, which was a bit frustrating.
3 out of 5
by Judy from Redding,CA

Honeymoon bungalow

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Disappointed there was no coffee maker in the room since we wake up very early. No ice maker in the building either. Parking is a little awkward due to narrow driveway. Within walking distance to several restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Secluded in the center of great town

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Potted plants everywhere. Courtyard around redwood tree. High ceilings, fireplace, large windows, Jacuzzi tub, heat lamp. Several patios to enjoy.
Location: Center of Fairfax - just walk and enjoy.
Booked for a wedding reception nearby. Did not expect to have such fun exploring the town and many cultural restaurants. Nearby health food store was a plus. Stayed 3 days and wished for more.
3 out of 5
by ava from California

Odd spot in Marin

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms were clean but strangely designed. Most back onto an alley that seems a popular hangout for people drinking at the grunge bar next door, so it was noisy up to about 11:00. The rest of the neighborhood is great however; lots of restaurants and the good movie theater complex right next door. When we arrived the manager insisted we show our reservation confirmation, and when we didn't have it was hard to persuade, even with credit card and I.D. that we were really the guests of that name. Very strange. Finally she let us in to the room with a jumble of old furniture, a hard bed, BUT, a lovely jacuzzi bath. Go figure.