Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Esspanola, NM

Needs update

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Pros: Location, size of rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Needs updating.
The coffee maker didn't work, which for me is almost an unpardonable sin! The TVs were old and the picture wasn't the best. there were stains on the sheets even though they were clean. Overall, it was comfortable but had these glaring issues. Still for the money it was an OK place to stay. They are in the process of remodeling as this is being written and changing to another name from Red Lion. I suspect that by January 2016 all of these issues will be fixed!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hurricane,UT

old not nice

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: First thing rip out all the old carpets,second put on a coat of paint on the walls. The management needs to step it up. Rooms priced too high.
some hotels are old but well kept up. This place was old and not kept up. Upon checking in the desk clerk told us there were no more non smoking rooms. After waiting for twenty minutes she was able to give us our non smoking room. We made our reservation thirty days in advance,duh. The room smelled musty and old. The carpet was terrible looking and I'm sure that's what was making the room stink. We stayed though due to the fact it was late. All three of us were ready for a shower and guess what no towels. This place is a red lion motel. I have never seen a Red Lion motel look like this. What a joke. My brother and sister in law stayed there the next night. They too had reservations a month in advance. Same run around for them when checking in only the desk clerk gave them their room for $79.00 while we had to pay $100.00 per night for the same smelly room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2015 by Melissa Cooper, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bob, I want to apologize for any and all inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. Age has become a factor but I am happy to say that we have started updates on our 2nd floor. I will use your feedback and address the issues, which will help better our hotel. Thank you.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin TX

Good loc on Riverwalk, needs improved security

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Security and attention to detail in restocking toiletries and securing outside doors per stated policy
Location: Right on the riverwalk if you want to walk along he Animas river. Farmington Museum and most of the commercial district is near on East Main.
We traveled with our dog who needs to get walked late in the evening. We were approached by strangers when we first arrived and were unloading, and later at night in the parking lot across from the restaurant. I altered where we walked the dog to the berms between the parking rows and did not have further incidents, but the hotel property itself is insecure. This would not be an issue EXCEPT that the corridor doors besides the front desk had inoperative card key readers and were not locked at 10 PM as stated. Thus anybody could walk into the hotel at any time. They had a glass break on the back door during our first day in Farmington, with police call. That being said, during the day the riverwalk was a good place to walk with the dog and the hotel location was just fine for Farmington. I am glad that with the pet we were in a first floor room. Maid service did not have suffient towels and there were no toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc) when we checked in. Front desk brought more towels and we made do with what we had.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from FL

Awesome breakfast

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Easy to find. Not too far from Mesa Verde.
Excellent quality, especially for the price. The breakfast was excellent, included eggs and sausage. Room had coffee maker, microwave and fridge.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Good for the money

Posted Sep 13, 2015
The hotel was clean. The biggest issue I had was lack of convienient parking. Also the room was not cleaned and I did not have a do not disturb sign on; they simply skipped my room.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bullhead City, AZ


Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: They have a nice breakfast in the morning and it was quiet.
Cons: The key system. Everyday we had to go get new keys and it was always when we were coming back to the room with our hands full.
Location: Nice mall and Durango, CO is an hour away and it's a lovely town to visit.
The Red Lion was easy to find and if your going to make a trip to Durango, CO the hotel is on the road you need to go on.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Stay was alrite... Was expecting alittle more out of it... But it was stil aplace to stay...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2015
The hotel seems generally acceptable. My sole complaint concerns the bar/restaurant, which serves good drinks and food, but does not honor an advertisement about happy-hour drinks.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to convienant areas

Posted Aug 11, 2015
The rooms are clean, room close to pool, the staff were nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach

Needs a little TLC

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Room was spacious and the bed was comfy. Still had old tube tv and curtains were falling off the rod. The bathroom had several black hairs on the floor and in the tub, otherwise it was clean. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and offered a choice of several rooms when I checked in. The air conditioner worked well but made a loud thud when it cycled on. There are several good places to eat nearby. There is also a really nice indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast was great with plenty of eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, milk, juice, fruit, yogurt and oatmeal on the complimentary buffet.