Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s.korea

Nice. It is very near the beach.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
바다모래가 아주 작아서 마치 진흙처럼 느껴지고 바닷물도 다소 탁하지만 피지 남쪽해안 일부를 빼곤 은빛모래는 없어요. 피지의 물가는 생각보단 비쌉니다.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great staff, next to the beach

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Awesome couple of nights, it's definitely a place for backpackers and people just wanting to relax next to the beach. Great staff!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Tropic of Capricon

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: no
Location: nil
Really bad experience. I reached at 7.00 am in the resort and service was poor . not only me but the other quests were also complaining. I was checked in afer 9.00 am. the room was dirty the towels were dirty. I checked out by 11.00 and booked another hotel near by. also i felt really bad for the tourist, as they have asked the front desk about the taxi charge. the front desk gave the tourist higer rate so they get the kick back from the taxi company as i know thw language they were talking. I need by money back ----------- never go to tropic of capricon
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by tropic team, Hotel Management
Bula Shifty, Thanks for the feedback. As a result of your comments we have called an emergency meeting with Management and our Front Desk Team. We have spoken to each and every front desk staff and all duty managers, but there has been absolutely no recollection of an incident that you describe. It is unusual that you have not shared the details with a member of our front desk or duty manager, and we certainly are unable to give money back unless the complaint is addressed with our manager. Please note that our check-in time in 11AM, and thus we are confused by your comment that you checked in at 9AM. Are you sure you came to Tropic of Capricorn in Wailoaloa, rather than Capricorn International in Martintar? And please note we have a reputable and safe transfer company for our guest transfers. Our guests are often let down, charged way too much and sometimes scammed by local taxi drivers, so if a guest comes to us to book a transfer, we employ a reliable 24/7 transfer company with fair and reasonable transfer rates for our guests. Apologies that you 'felt really bad for the tourist', but you would feel much worse if you heard some stories of how local taxi drivers have ripped off our guests. Guests are welcome to take local taxicabs for a slightly cheaper rate, but our property cannot be responsible for these trips. Vinaka and wish you well, the tropic team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice beach front location but disappointing hotel

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Lovely beach front location, nice place to sit at the back of the hotel and watch the sunset. Free Wi-Fi, even if it was really slow.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms and maintenance, so many things need to be repaired. And HOT WATER!!! or advertise that the hotel doesn't have hot water.
Location: Beach front at Wailoaloa beach. Several of the backpacker resorts along the beach have good cheap restaurants. Short taxi ride into Nadi.
After travelling for nearly 14 hours I checked into the hotel and went up to the room and it had not even been cleaned after the last guests checked out. The bed was not made, rubbish everywhere, bathroom not cleaned. The cleaners came in and quickly cleaned the room, but in the time it took them it was not properly cleaned, only had the sheets changed, bathroom mopped and floors swept. There was no hot water, I had a luke warm shower in the middle of the day once. The sheets were only changed twice during a week long stay. The same sheet was used as a mattress protector the whole stay and it was the same bright red sheet that was on the bed when I checked in. No wonder I ended up with insect bites all over my arms and legs. The room is in a bad state of repair, the toilet seat was loose, the shower door did not slide properly, the chain latch on the door was broken so you cannot secure the door of a night time. Half of the power sockets did not work and the others were a bit hit and miss, sometimes they worked and at other times they did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by tropic team, Hotel Management
Bula bula, Thanks for the review and apologies for the issues. Yes we did have some very cheeky and frustrating guests on the morning of your arrival. They would not vacate the room until long after their checkout time, and thus the bad first impression you experienced. We tried to assist by inviting you to put your bags in the room before the housekeeping was finished, but considering the state that the previous guests left the room in, that was obviously a bad idea. Sorry about that. Thanks for the water and sheets feedback. As a result of your comments we have replaced the hot water heater in this room with a nice new one, blitzed the maintenance issues you mention, and we are now sending our linen to the best local laundry company in town. We embrace the opportunity to improve our room experience. Vinaka and best wishes, the tropic team
2 out of 5
by Roman

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Mar 29, 2016
We had a "superior oceanfront" double room...there was nothing superior about it! I'd call it an average double room with a nice view. The furniture was old and for the price of the room I expected a bit nicer. Good to have a fridge though and a nice view. Staff didn't offer any information on the area or things to do or where we could get food etc. Not particularly friendly or helpful...just there. There was no atmosphere at the hostel and hardly anyone around this is probably because they don't serve food after breakfast so everyone's goes elsewhere, we went to bamboo up the road which had nice food and a much better vibe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from czech republic

Value for money

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Wotif
We stayed in deluxe room with beach view. It was ok, close to the beach. It is good value for money, dont expect anything more.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Seattle

Great deal on the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Free wifi, tho a bit slow... on Fiji-time. Great location right on the beach. Free airport transfer to hotel. Back to airport just FJ$13. Free pickup for SouthSea boat tours next door. Friendly lizard in room for part of stay. A/C in room was pretty weak during the heat of the day, but since we weren't around much it didn't matter, plus there's an internet room on the first floor that was practically a fridge. Biggest plus was the price. Loved the place! Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by VIKTOR from Россия Сочи

Фиджи отдых

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Хорошее место , очень красивое , вид из окна просто чудесный (вид на океан).Расположение отеля очень удачное - до центра Нади на такси 7 минут ,до аэропорта 10 минут ,что очень удобно .Отель простенький , но достаточно удобный .Номер требует косметического ремонта , но терпимо .Персонал доброжелательный и приветливый .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great view on beachfront but rooms were very small and bed was very uncomfortable