Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

READ** Not so much a relaxing holiday!

Posted May 5, 2017
Before arriving into Fiji I had emailed through to the staff at Tropic just to confirm everything. They said yes all booked and paid and that my room would include a balcony with partial beach views. When my husband arrived to check in 1stly they said there's no booking, thankfully he took the confirmation so they found it. Next morning as soon as it hit 8am they start bagging right under our room (construction) 1st day we put up with it. When it happend the 2nd morning I went and complained. They moved us to a bottom floor room with no beach view and no fridge. I went to complain again and the supervisor said the room I paid for isn't a beach view room (then why was I told something else in the email) so then she told me she would move me to the room I had booked and asked for until the renovations were complete. About 5 days later they came to move us again saying it's all complete no more noise. 1st morning back in this room was fine. 2nd morning back to the loud bagging. By this time I just had enough. I'm on holiday we wanna sleep in relax but it wasn't gonna happen!!! STAFF: Also what some of the Fijian men didn't realise there is my husband could speak Fijian too. The few times we would go ask them to open our coconut or if we could get a glass they would bad mouth us in their language and my husband would tell me. It was really upsetting. ROOM SERVICE: Pathetic. The floors are so dusty because they are never mopped. It's yuck.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by tropic team, Hotel Management
Bula bula, Thank you for the details and apologies for a less-than-wonderful stay with us. You have booked a 'Budget Private' room, and this room type does not include a balcony or an ocean view. For guests seeking a balcony and oceanfront, we are unable to recommend choosing the 'Budget' room option. Your special email request for these preferences was a surprise, and we tried our best to accommodate the request out of good will. Sincere apologies for that. Considering the situation, our team worked hard to create positive solutions. Based on the information we have, the situation was amicably resolved onsite, and we wish we could have helped to make your stay more wonderful at the time. Upon arrival, it was confusing when you tried to check-in under a different name. We tried to find the reservation, but you had provided an incorrect name, so our front desk team requested your reservation confirmation email to figure it out. It is also mysterious that the room was dusty as our housekeep team confirm the room was serviced daily.. In any case, we appreciate the feedback and will target improvements in all these key areas mentioned. We look forward to improving our room experience for our future guests. Vinaka vaka levu, the tropic team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great place for someone who wants to chill

Posted May 1, 2017
Cheap, lots of space. Great staff, next to the beach, been here twice, got better each time. Highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G'burg, MD

TOC - South Pacific Oasis in Fiji

Posted Apr 30, 2017
I’ve found an oasis on the main island of Fiji near NADI International Airport. It’s called the Tropic of Capricorn (TOC) where I was greeted with the most warm Fijian smiles and their promising ‘can do’ spirit. The first warm hospitality individual I met was Akeneta Masiyasa. I was nearly a week later than scheduled and there were several other transients simultaneously coordinating their stay or departures at the reception area. The tone was progressively peaceful and respectful. I felt that I reached a safe place whilst giving processing the time. Having received reassurances and encouraged to relax, Akeneta and team provided a secure place for my luggage whilst Serena coordinated with Expedia to confirm that I was still booked. It was nearing midafternoon and time for a meal. In a short moment’s handoff, I had a menu. Shortly after ordering a selection, I had a meal. During my wait for a fresh bed, I naturally gravitated towards the beach area. Within a short spell, both Akeneta and Serena walked to the beach and called me from my experience group. They specifically came to inform me of my revised situation. This is a miracle I might have been waiting for. I completed a visit to the most pristine village island of Moturiki, a village being revised on the Eastern Side of Fiji. However, it was as if Akeneta and Serena were as excited to officially open up their shared complex, a platform from which i would operate, train & study, swim and socialize until my de
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Cool hostel right on the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Lovely place, and the dorms were nice. Spent all day switching between the ocean, laying in the sun, and jumping in the pool. There's no kitchen so I had to buy food, but I knew that before booking and the restaurant is right by the sand and had good options. $1 for the bus to town. Have actually gone back to stay there again, and would recommend!
5 out of 5
by Rod

Good decision to stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Good decision to stay here. Room was large, fridge, pool was good. Two good eating places here and close to a lot more. Very friendly staff. Awesome sunsets.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place for a layover

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Lastminute
Will definitely recommend for layover to and from the airport. Good price for what you get. Personnel are so friendly and helpful. The food is decent and quick The half day tour was a bid expensive organised from the front desk, rather try ather tour or transport. Busses are extremely cheap and they do go to all the hotspots. The Mud and Spring baths are a must to do also they sell really afordebill curio nick nacks that are made by the village women. The pearl jewelry are of exalent craftsmanship. I will stay there again if I ever go to Nadi again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
All terrible! bad service and very unfriendly, noisy, unclean the bathroom and bed with hair, make you pay a deposit for key, a.c. doesn't work properly, unflexible with check out time, Worst WiFi. It was even hard to find because nowere says Tropic of Capricorn, Instead it says Bamboo tropic :(. Worst experience in Fiji. I WOULD RECOMMEND "NADI BAY HOTEL" instead. Much better option at a good price
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by reservations team, Hotel Management
Bula bula, Thanks for the feedback and apologies that expectation and reality mismatched in this case. Your comments have been shared with our team and we'll all target improvements accordingly! For tourists with higher expectations for amenities and services, we agree to spend some extra $$ and stay elsewhere. For travellers seeking a simple, low cost room by the beach and a burst of island style hospitality, we can recommend to choose us! Vinaka and best wishes, the tropic team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff. Basic room.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
The staff were lovely. Very helpful and kind enough to remember our names throughout the stay. Unfortunately the room wasn't great. Both the fan and the fridge leaked water so there was a big puddle next to the bed the whole time. Also the shower had been fitted wrong so when turned on the water sprayed to the right hand side which was the door; meaning the water would flood out. It was also very hard to shower with sideways flowing water. The room wasn't very clean. The bathroom sink area was covered in little hairs from where someone has shaved their beard (or worse, who knows). The negative review has no reflection on the staff who were lovely x
4 out of 5
by Ruediger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by coby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels