Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Revolting

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location is convenient for Duomo.There is wifi but I didn't stay long enough to verify that it worked.
Cons: Dark. Smelly. Unpleasant. Unwelcoming. Not as described. I should've thought to take photos but I was too shocked and just wanted to get out.
Where to begin? 1. The information on the website is extremely misleading. The photographs are nothing like the actual place, they are of the neighbouring hotel Locanda dei Pazzi. The "hotel" details are inaccurate. There are only 3 rooms not 14. I wouldn't call it family friendly and I did not notice a tv in the room. This is not a hotel. It is a collection of rented rooms. I don't speak Italian so I did not realised from the title Affittacamere the mistake I had made. 2. After climbing up five floors of dark concrete stairs I couldn't find the hotel, then discovered you have to check in at the house next door (which is actually Locanda) up several flights of concrete stairs where I received an offhand welcome once the bloke could be bothered to get off the phone and look away from his computer screen. My booking was then questioned and he had to get on the phone again. 3. The "hotel" consists of a corridor which leads to a small dark dingy room with an ancient slab of formica forming a breakfast bar. A cloth was draped over the breakfast things which included an unwrapped half eaten cake. The whole place smelled terrible with more than a whiff of mouse. No way I'd eat anthing there. 4. The dark dingy room was furnished with jumble sale furniture which included a child's wardrobe with a locked door and broken bedside lamp. The towels and bedding stank although the bathroom looked clean. Fighting back nausea and tears I decided I couldn't stay there and left immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: The location is really good
Although we booked a room with Adfittacamere we were actually given a room in Locanda dei Pazzi... thats ok though. Room was clean, the bed was comfy and breakfast had good coffee!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Basic hotel in a decent location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
The room and bathroom were a good size but quite dated in terms of decor and basic. The breakfast is OK too. This hotel is in a good location, with decent transport links, close to lots of nice places to eat and the Duomo is very close by too. The hotel isn't easy to find as the signs have a different name for it from the one on Expedia and when we queried this with the man working there, his behaviour and response was quite rude. He was the only member of staff we saw there and he generally wasn't particularly friendly. To access this hotel you have to climb approximately 50 stairs and there is no elevator.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Unexpectedly there was no lift to the hotel on the second floor, which was difficult to negotiate with heavy luggage. The front of house was basically unfriendly, and any advice about local knowledge, eg. advice about restaurants, was given to us grudgingly. Breakfast was adequate, but there was no friendliness and the atmosphere was quite bleak. Probably the biggest issue for us was that the hotel had changed its name from the time we booked online. We did not receive any emails advising us of the is advance, so we were mystified at the situation. We were left standing on the street in the rain not knowing what to do, and as we do not speak any Italian, it was very concerning for us. The new name of the hotel was on the street signage, and when we initially tried to ring for assistance there was no answer. Fortunately my husband persisted and we were admitted to the outer ground-level. This was when we discovered that we had to climb all the stairs with our luggage. The front of house just dismissed the problem of signage without any apology etc. We also asked the front of house to call for a taxi on the morning of our departure, which was done, but with a very poor attitude and did not explain clearly where we were to meet the taxi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Close to the Duomo and restaurants

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The location gets five stars, it's in the middle of everything. The owner is really nice and takes care of his property. The room and facilities are very clean but in need of updating. Bed was not easy to sleep on and having a hot shower was unpredictable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old room, but comfortable and great location

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Very close to the sites we wanted to see ... and get to on foot. Proprietor was kind and open. check in staff was gruff ... room was more than fine!
Cons: Given the where & when of this location, not much ... we don't expect 5 star ... we wanted a clean comfortable place to rest our heads after a day out
Location: To walk to the end of the block, turn the corner and see the Duomo in its night time glory ... amazing. We walked to all the many sites on our list
Room and furnishings were old but comfortable. Sleeping area and bathroom kept clean and tidy. Breakfast offering was fine ... not stellar but more than adequate for our needs. The location was PERFECT! ... within walking distance of all of the major sites we came to see. Quiet enough location (great sound proofing from outside noise) so sleep was not a problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Adequate facilities, no issues and a pleasant stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Walking distance to the Duomo and the Academia. The hotel is on the 3rd floor of a building with NO ELEVATOR. If you have heavy luggage this is not a hotel for you. They don't help with your luggage either. The room is clean but they did not refresh our towels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pretoria, SA

Quiet little place

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Nice & quiet - you get what is advertised, no more, no less. You can leave your bags at the hotel after check-out.
Cons: Breakfast - continental is OK, but I typically like something salty (e.g. cheese) and not just sweet stuff.
Location: Within easy walking distance of the Duomo, Uffizi gallery etc. A really nice neighborhood to stay in -quiet street with a number of restaurants nearby
This is a quiet little (3/ 4 rooms only) hotel close to many of the tourist attractions. Not the easiest place to find though as you actually check in next-door. Friendly locals pointed us in the right direction. This is a no-frills place, with all the necessary amenities & good for a short stay. I would definitely consider using them again if I go back to Florence.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aus

Great and comfortable hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Really great little hotel, only 4 rooms but very comfortable and clean. Run by a lovely older couple who set up and clean up a yummy brekkie every day for you. Close to everything you want to see in Florence, only 5min walk to the Duomo and about 15min from either of the 2 main stations. Lots of eating options nearby.