Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Uncomfortable and Unfriendly

Posted Oct 7, 2014
I chose the Hotel Byron because of the location. On via della scala, close to the train station, santa maria novella, an easy trek to the town center. But there are many other choices in that neighborhood that would have been more suitable to a Florence stay. First, the bed was 2 saggy mattressed twin beds pushed together. They took up the entire room. I mean, there was about 6 inches of space between the bed and the wall all the way around. The night staff was okay. But the guy behind the desk in the morning and during the day was awful. I only spoke to him once to ask if he had any bus schedules amongst the tourist pamphlets behind the desk. He looked so annoyed that I had interrupted his soul wrenching state of boredom. "Where are you going?" he asked me. Well, first we were planning on going to the Bargello. But the plan was to meander as far as the Piti Palace or maybe beyond. "No buses allowed in the center. You walk to it." As we ate lunch that day on some steps next to the Bargello, watching buses go by, I decided that the answer to my question must have been no. They did not have bus schedules behind the counter.
2 out of 5
by Ace Ventura from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

Beware! Use cash, not a credit card

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Location, location and location, near good restaurants, museums, churches, etc.
Cons: really small elevator, poor housekeeping, needs refurbishing, shabby linens, towels, etc.
Location: Great location, everything is within walking distance
Difficulty in checking out, friends encountered the same problem. Be prepared to pay cash on checking out of this hotel. Location is great but this hotel is suited more to persons on a budget. Lobby looks great... but that's where greatness ends!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad place to stay.

Posted Jun 13, 2012
Pros: location and hotel staff
Cons: breakfast, room decor just ok
Location: close to the train station, not too far from the center attractions
I was looking for a hotel near the train station and found this one. Convenient location for me but nothing special. The price was much lower than the high end hotels closer to the center. The walk to the center was pretty short with penty of places to eat nearby. The breakfast buffet was marginal at best. All of the staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The doors to the rooms were thin/hollow but my floor was quiet so there wasn't an issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last resort only

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Pros: Location, but at a cost
Good for lads (students) weekend away. Although great location, the upkeep of the hotel is poor. Dirty and shabby rooms and old beds. Clean bathroom only.
2 out of 5
by Peter from Toronto Canada

Dirty and with bed smell

Posted Oct 18, 2011
Very disappointed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

A bit scary

Posted Sep 28, 2011
First room we were assigned reeked of cigarettes and was at least 85 degrees inside. We complained and were given a tolerable room. The front desk clerk on check in smelled of body odor and the night clerk had horrific breath. Really it's a run down dump and would try some place else. I would not stay again or recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

good location, bare bones comforts

Posted Sep 5, 2011
The hotel is located about 2 streets away from main train station in SMN neighborhood. The room is comfortable, and well sized. The neighborhood offers many great food options and is in a safe neighborhood. Everything is within walking distance. Breakfast was a disappointment (breads, cakes, coffee) but appreciated none the less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Got the most of our stay.

Posted Sep 23, 2009
If you are looking for a good place, good location at a very reasonable price, we recommend Hotel Byron. Everything is walking distance, main train station, restaurants, tourist and historic spots. We had a double room, small but comfortable enough to rest after a day of walking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Internet is good. Continental breakfast is satisfactory.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Best Basic

Posted Sep 15, 2009
This hotel is fine if you simply want a base for seeing Florence. Fairly average hotel but does not offer any extras as such. On one morning we went down to breakfast but most of it had been cleared away with twenty minutes still to go. Powdered milk in the rooms along with two 'old' mugs. The hotel is well placed for most areas of the City and is not far from a wide selection of good bars and trattorias. One trattoria in particular which is simply outstanding and is a 'must visit' is the Trattoria Zanobi on Via Zanobi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert from Glasgow UK

Does the job

Posted Sep 4, 2009
Single room- very small, but fine if you don't want a window to the outside world (skylight and full lightwell window). Very clean and neat, tiny shower room. LCD tv perched atop a wardrobe (the position meant that the screen just looked all washed out and unwatchable). Breakfast not worth going for, the worst coffee I've ever tasted- in Italy! Staff friendly and helpful.