Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A calm oasis amongst the hustle bustle of Florence

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The views from this hotel are stunning and having gardens and a pool area to relax and cool offf after wandering around Florence was well worth the challenging walk back to the hotel from the city centre The staff were very polite and helpful and service at meal times was just about right - not too fast and not too slow Whilst I would 100% recommend this hotel -3 things to bear in mind to make it even better Take plenty of insect repellant for Florence and the hotel - so many people sporting multiple bites Make sure you ask for tea and cofffe facilities in your room - we were not made aware you could have this available Be aware that due to the breathtaking views of Florence from the terrace it is a popular venue for weddings - 3 in 6 days we were there. These can make you feel like you are intruding and restrictive as to where you can be in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Tuscany trip

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Location, parking, breakfast, employee
Location: Walking to the city, nice public parks nearby
Nice little elegant hotel with great view to the Florence. Great location if you need to park your car and find a place in 20 minutes walking distance to the city. Hotel is located in the very nice area and right next to the popular Michelangelo square. Loved the breakfast and enjoyed the view very much. I forgot my camera in the safe after checking out and the hotel employee handed to me four hours when we used the restroom. I also enjoyed the little public park down the Michelangelo square to avoid the crowd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Far From The Madding Crowd

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Spectacular views Personable and helpful staff Excellent Breakfast
Cons: Quality of the dinner menu
Located in the hills above Firenze, this hotel provides quiet evenings that allow one to recover from the downtown noise and congestion. The basic room is small, but well-equipped and includes a Jacuzzi-style bathtub. Furnishings are somewhat dated for a 5-star hotel. Grounds are spacious and provide a spectacular view of the city. The breakfast is excellent, and includes an ample buffet along with complementary menu items. However, the on-site restaurant was a disappointment, and better meals may be had at the downtown bistros. The walk to the city center takes about 25 minutes, and the return trip up a steep hill requires some stamina. However, a shuttle bus is available to avoid this task.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel! Unbelievable views!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Better than expected! Photos do not do it justice. Only downside, small walk into town. Although after being in Rome we wanted to be outside of the city. We enjoyed the walk. Views were gorgeous! Breakfast fabulous! Staff attentive. They even had a special heart mat, colored pencils, coloring books, bedtime story, and teddy bears soaps for my daughter. They went above and beyond. Cannot sing high enough praise. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room with a view with great service and relaxation

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Overall is five stars except the bathroom could get cooler at night because the cold breeze from outside gets in the bathroom window even when locked. View, space and room comfort and service is excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Relaxing luxury space

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Go see San Miniato church and listen to the Gregorian chant in the evenings. Incredibly relaxing.
First off, the amazing views of Florence cannot be underestimated. The Grand Deluxe room had a very comfortable king bed and was beautifully decorated. Room service was prompt and tasty. Front desk staff were very responsive and friendlyas were the cleaning staff. The only downside could be the noise sometimes created by wedding parties or traffic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful and the views from the hotel are amazing. Many of the service people were very nice. This 5-start hotel could use a little sprucing up (e.g., the wood floors in our room were quite worn and the canopy over the beautiful bed was frayed). The food at the restaurant was nothing special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with amazing views over city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wedding Crashers

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Spectacular views.
Cons: The villa should close the hotel to uninvited guests when hosting an event.
Location: Near Piazza Michelangelo and the Pitti Palace. Dine at La Loggia where you can enjoy the beautiful vista and very good food.
We felt like wedding crashers at this hotel. The party was in full swing on the grand terrace when we arrived that Friday evening. The only problem was that we were not invited guests, and, therefore not welcome on the terrace with the spectacular views. The other problem was that loud dance music thumped away while we tried vainly to sleep--think Gangam Style. The following day they had another event. We only stayed one night, so it did not ruin our vacation. Check with the villa before booking a stay. The villa has beautiful grounds and gorgeous views of Florence. The rooms are will appointed and maintained. The breakfast buffet is very good. It is located just outside the central part of Florence across the river, so slightly out of the way, but well worth the effort. My suggestion is that you stay a couple of nights at the villa mid-week to enjoy the splendor of the villa in peace, and to visit the Pitti Palace. Spend the remainder of your Florence stay in the city center.
5 out of 5
by susan from Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan

Beautiful hotel with spectacular view

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, impeccably maintained with a great staff dedicated to making your stay as wonderful as possible. The rooms are great sized, well decorated, clean and have great views of the city of Florence. Breakfast every morning is served overlooking the city and is varied and delicious. The grounds are spectacular and the outside porch is truly the perfect place to watch the sunset. The pool area is spacious and beautiful and a welcome retreat after walking the city. It is about a 20 minute walk into town and our family braved it many times during our stay. The uphill climb is a challenge but the hotel offers a free shuttle for those who would rather ride. we loved our stay and were sad to say goodbye.