Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Loved hotel disappointed in room

Posted Sep 10, 2015
Pros: Everything, the staff, location, cleanliness.
Cons: Have your private owners update their rooms so people will want to come back.
I stay here for alot of "staycations" and usually book through the hotel. The hotel was full so I decided to book a room through a private owner. My room smelt very old and musty. The air condition broke during the night which made our night very uncomfortable. The carpet is very very old and smells very musty which we had to keep the door open to air out for periods of time. The hotel itself is great and will continue to staycation there. I will just be sure not to book this room again. I have booked through private owners before and had great rooms. This room needs an upgrade.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale / Washington

Great hotel, don't use owner room 1010

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel is great, I lived across the street and nothing bad about the Pelican itself. But Expedia mixes the regular hotel with shady owners
Cons: Don't list people's own homes as hotel
Location: Fort Lauderdale is an awesome town
While booking the owner rental on Expedia it was made to appear as part of the hotel. The reviews are from the main hotel and nothing but the title of the booking page (under hotels) shows otherwise. When you book you see you need to pay extra for cleaning, linnens, you're in somebody's personal home... everything I don't want. I called Expedia within 20 seconds of the booking to say that was an erroneous booking, which Expedia said could not be cancelled unless the owner agreed. When calling the number (which is not the hotel but some manager), he yelled at me, was extremely rude and refused any cooperation. The end result was booking a 5 day stay, where due to the aggressive approach of the owner of room 1010 I would never stay in with my 5 year old. No refund, no service and when I showed up at the hotel (I stayed at friends) I was refused access to the pool (even though I paid for 5 days of the room) Its the definition of false advertising.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Staff (lady ) at the,front should be nicer when greeting guests at their so called fancy hotel resto , before we could say anything she just blurted out $55.00 for brunch , i guess we look like we couldnt afford it compared to the other guests there , i couldve said something but just turned around and had lunch at las,olas, spent more but atleast staff there was a,lot nicer.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm City, FL

45th Anniversary Surprise

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: It's warm atmosphere and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing. This was our second trip to the hotel and we were delighted both times.
Location: Excellent! Right on the beach!
Great atmosphere! We were celebrating our 45th Wedding Anniversary and when we returned to the hotel from dinner we were surprised with an unexpected gift, a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries! A beautiful recognition of our Anniversary by the Hotel.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Nice hotel but stay away from Rentals!!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Staff was excellent! Hotel on beach was fantastic. The rental part sucks!!! If you need to change anything you have to contact the owner of the room. You have to pay extra for room service. If anything doesn't work or if anything is broken you have to try to contact the owner which is almost impossible. Room said sleeps 4 and it only slept 3. It's a big problem when you have a family of 4. Room not well maintained due to the owner not keeping up with it.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY/FLA

Fantastic Hotel!

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: fix blinds in 1018
Location: Stay at resort - had everything!
From the moment we checked in, we were treated like royalty! The hotel staff is wonderful. My grown daughter and I went there for a "girls weekend" and enjoyed the new spa which is top notch! The beach and pool were wonderful with everyone catering to us from minute one. Highly recommend!!!!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Very nice resort next to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff, proximity to the beach, and the amenities.
Cons: Parking and parking prices.
Location: The beach, fort Laurderdale Art museum, calle ocho, great restaurants and shops, las olas blvd.
My wife and I had a great time thanks to the staff and the comfort of the Pelican Beach Resort. Everything from the pool to the restaurant was perfect for couples and families to enjoy.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel Directly on the Beach

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Location, rooms, ocean view, restaurant.
This is a first class hotel. What more could you ask for? Directly on the beach, big, beautiful rooms with private balconies, restaurant, lounge, outdoor porches w/ rockers overlooking the ocean, room service, pool with ocean views, lazy river, servers that come to you on the beach, free lounge and umbrella set ups, work out facility and an unbelievable sunday brunch. The brunch had one of the best seafood offerings we've ever had- stone crab claws, oysters, mussels, jumbo shrimp! All the staff was happy and helpful. Don't think twice about staying here!
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Hotel on the beach

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: it is an older hotel, but are keeping up with renovations and comfortable beds and chairs etc. in your room.
Cons: no charge for wifi would be nice and no charge for having bedding changed.
Location: located on the beach, the alantic ocean was really warm. a couple malls near by. The main strip just a mile away has lots of shops, resteraunts.
Very nice place. Lobby is big, nice large deck for guests, ocean view room that we stayed in did not disappoint. nice pool with a lazy river. staffed at poolside for towels or anything else you may need. Staff on the back deck for all your needs, staff on beach to set up your lounge chairs and umbrella. very courteous staff everyone say's hello and asks if you need anything. had a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Pretentious and Overpriced

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: On the beach - not much else.
Cons: Clarity on room condition. Ongoing maintenance. Valet parking is the only option, be prepared to wait for your car. Why an added fee for housekeeping?
Our room was an owner rental. We haven't booked this kind of accommodation before and, based on this experience, would not do so again. The room was dated, well used and less than sparkling clean. There is construction at the hotel so our balcony overlooked the worksite and associated activities. A letter informing you of this at check-in is less than satisfactory notice, ie: well after you have any option to cancel. The hotel common areas are not well laid out. Access to the pool requires walking through a restaurant or bar. Pricing is on disproportionate compared to other beach properties. Overall disappointing.