Primary image

Reviews of Carousel Inn on the Beach

4 out of 5
Carousel Inn on the Beach
6230 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL

Overall score and ratings

4.3

Excellent

Rating 5 - Excellent. 507 out of 979 reviews
5 - Excellent 52%
Rating 4 - Good. 314 out of 979 reviews
4 - Good 32%
Rating 3 - Okay. 103 out of 979 reviews
3 - Okay 11%
Rating 2 - Poor. 32 out of 979 reviews
2 - Poor 3%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 23 out of 979 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.3/5

Cleanliness

4.4/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.2/5

Eco-friendliness

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everyone was very friendly. Alex was very nice and our check in was smooth. Would definitely recommend the Inn and return when we are in the area.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on May 13, 2022
Hey Karen, Thanks so much for the great review! It was very nice to meet you and have you as our guest and I do hope you tell your friends and family about us and come back to visit again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Wonderful on all counts. Location phenomenal!
Stayed 1 night in May 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on May 12, 2022
Dear Daniel, Thanks so much for reaching out with a great 5 star review! So happy that you loved the location and the beach. Come back and see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on May 12, 2022
Dear Claudia, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! If there is ever anything we can do to make your visit more enjoyable, please let us know! Best, Carousel Beach Inn

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Like the access to beach did not like antiquated kitchen
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on May 9, 2022
Hey Robert, Thanks for the great review. Glad you loved the beach! Our hotel has been here since the 1950s and we are known for 70 years as a retro style beach inn with a lot of original elements. Best, Carousel Beach Inn

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
View of the beach was beautiful. The pool and surrounding area was clean and the staff is super friendly. Offered to help bring bags up to my room and offered beach towels upon checking in.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on May 7, 2022
Hey Jacqueline, Thanks for the great review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are so happy to hear back from you that you loved your visit! Please tell your friends and family about us and come back to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Once again an amazing stay! The staff is so polite and accommodating. Really makes for one of the more relaxed vacations I've ever been on. Been two years now, hope to see you all again!
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on May 6, 2022
Dear Brian, Thanks so much for the kind words and great 5 star review! It was great to have you back again and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Wonderful property
Stayed 9 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Apr 28, 2022
Dear Collen, Thanks for the 5 star review. It was a pleasure having you guys and I hope you come back soon. Best, Carousel Beach Inn

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great place to stay to be right on the beach! The staff was friendly and super helpful.
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 26, 2022
Dear Melissa, Thanks for the great review! Glad you enjoyed meeting us and hanging out on our beautiful beach. Come see us again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Very little amenities. Zero housekeeping done during my stay Pool was disappointing Only good thing was proximity to the beach. Would not stay again
Stayed 4 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Apr 25, 2022
Dear Sabrina, Thanks for the review. As we explained during your check in, daily housekeeping is done upon request per COVID regulations. If you dont request service, they will not enter your room. Please never hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to improve your visit, but we are a retro beach inn, not a resort.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
It was rated a four star, but even though it was on the beach, I thought it would have been more updated
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Amanda Norris on Apr 29, 2022
Hi Beth, thank you for writing us and the review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed the beautiful beach here with us. We are a 2 star hotel and given a four star rating because of our reviews. I see how that can be misleading if you are thinking that it is supposed to be the rating for the hotel and amenities itself and am sorry that our hotel was not what you had expected. We are a 1954 old style boutique hotel so there is a lot of continuing improvements to be made and we appreciate your feedback. I hope you still were able to enjoy your visit and safe travels back. :)

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Was a nice little place would definitely go back
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 26, 2022
Dear Ricky J, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review! Come see us again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
We have a great time every year there!
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 16, 2022
Dear Monique, Thanks so much for the 5 star review! So happy you came back to see us again for another great beach getaway. Please tell your friends and family about us and come back again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Overall a good stay - late check in was super easy, but did not have sheets in the room for pull out sofa. No hair dryer in room and office did not open until nine am. Unable to accommodate a later check out, a little disappointing.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Apr 18, 2022
Dear Libby, Thanks for the feedback. We only bring sheets for pullout sofa upon request, to ensure that linens are always fresh and clean. The hair dryers are here in the office, so they can be disinfected between each use. These are both the new norms for all hotels on the island, per new COVID regulations. Our office hours are 9-5pm, every day of the week, and the hotel manager is on property 24 hours a day for any emergency. We did offer you a later check out, and let you enjoy the pool and beach all day after you departed. Keep in mind, when you check out too late during peak season, then hotels are unable to get the room ready for the arriving guests.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very friendly staff. Clean older property. Very nice.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 16, 2022
Dear Kevin, Thanks for the great 5 star review! Please tell your friends and family about us and come see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Small and quaint older property, nice staff and clean. Nice beach and pool. Bar, restaurants and 7 Eleven within walking distance.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Dear Liane, Thanks so much for the 5 star review! So happy to hear that you loved our retro little beach inn and the great location. Please tell your friends and family about us and come back soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property has a great location near the south end of the beach! Less crowded and near restaurants many with live music. You can ride the trolley to town square for 75 cents and be in the midst of everything downtown has to offer. Carousel Inn on the Beach has a beautiful spot, as it's name indicates, right on the beach. We'll definitely be back!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Amanda on Apr 11, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! We appreciate it so much and look forward to having you come back and visit us again.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Hotel, motel, carousel INN!!! AC was very loud but overall the interior of the room was very clean and it’s old school but directly in front of the beach.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Apr 11, 2022
Dear Olvin, Thanks so much for taking the time to write to us. If there is ever something that is not right in the room, please let us know. Sometimes the AC just may need to be shimmed or adjusted. Sounds like you enjoyed your visit nonetheless. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Best, Carousel Beach Inn

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great place to stay. Nearby restaurant is awesome and right next door is a great tiki bar. Rooms very clean and spacious. Nice old style beach front hotel, sure hope they keep this gem around, beats the newer high rise units.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 11, 2022
Dear Stacy, Thanks so much for the 5 star review! So happy to hear that you loved our retro little beach inn and the great location. We have been here since the early 1950s! Please tell your friends and family about us and come back soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location of the property was great. Not to far from the public beach but far enough that you didn't have the crowd. Owners, managers, and maintenance were awesome. Lost power in our room and got us another room real quick.
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Amanda on Apr 11, 2022
I am so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able to get you moved and comfortable for the rest of your stay. Thank you for your kind words and great review! We appreciate it so much. We hope you can make it back for another visit with us soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
You are definitely paying for the location here. Needs many updates.
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 8, 2022
Hey Beth! Thanks so much for the great review! Glad you loved the beach. Our hotel is a historical landmark and has been one of the original old-Florida style beach inns since 1951. While our rooms are immaculately clean and our property is very well maintained, we like to keep a lot of the original, older elements that make us unique. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

4/5 Good

Nope
Good time, nice place
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Better than any hotel. Down home feel and many amenities. I will be back again.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 4, 2022
Dear Neil, I am so happy to hear that you loved our hotel and that you plan to return. That is so great! Please tell your friends and family about us and come back soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to where we needed to be!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Apr 3, 2022
Dear Jodi, Thanks so much for the awesome review! We are so grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. Tell your friends and family about us and come see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Beautiful spot directly on the beach. Property is older but clean and maintained. We enjoyed our stay here
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 29, 2022
Dear Cathy, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Glad you loved the beach and we hope to have you back soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
They had boogie boards for the kids to borrow and a kitchenette to make plenty of snacks. Spacious, clean rooms. Cute older motel.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 27, 2022
Dear Shanno, We are so happy to hear back from you that you loved our hotel and enjoyed your visit! I will be sure to pass on to housekeeping that you appreciated their hard work to get your room clean for your arrival. Come back and visit us again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

4/5 Good

Carousel
Our stay was a good experience. People that worked there were very accommodating!
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2022

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I went to the hotel it was so bad I never checked in the doors were not secure blocks did not work it was bugs in the bathroom and when I was looking at the pictures on Expedia website is not what the property looks like at all I left and I would like a refund
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Mar 23, 2022
Hey Nancy, Thanks for reaching out to us. I would like to get a bit more information from you. I am not sure what you mean by "doors not secure" or "blocks did not work." All of the photos on the website were taken by us personally. There must be some confusion as this is the first I have heard of this. Please reach out to us as soon as you get a moment.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We LOVED our stay at Carousel!! The location is amazing, with a wide, beautiful beach! Nothing like walking right out your door to enjoy a Florida sunset steps away. The rooms had everything we could possibly need & if there’s something you DO need you can just ask! We even borrowed an air mattress for a few nights as well as beach towels. Staff here is SUPER friendly & Alex was great! He gave us some tips on things to do and see in the area, good spots to park and even chatted with us about the shells we found that I ended up bringing back to the ocean ;-) We hope our travels bring us back next year to this location for spring break so we can enjoy our time there again!
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 20, 2022
Hey Melodee, It was so nice to meet you here last week! Glad you were able to find some sand dollars and conchs and sea urchins! Fort Myers Beach is great for shelling! It sounds like you guys had a great getaway and we hope you come to see us again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I was happy with everything.
Stayed 5 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 23, 2022
Dear Jane, Thanks for the great review! So happy that you enjoyed yourself during your visit! Please tell your friends and family about us and come to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Our host was amazing! Cute family place.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 23, 2022
Dear Kimberly, Thanks for the great review! So happy that you enjoyed yourself during your visit! Please tell your friends and family about us and come to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We loved the Carousel Inn. Awesome staff, super clean, great location. No spring break crowds which is what we were looking for. Cant wait to go back.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 12, 2022
Dear Darci and John, Thanks so much for staying with us this week. It was a pleasure meeting you and getting to know you both. I always love having fellow Bostonians here with us. Please tell your friends and family about us and come back to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property was directly on the beach. Fantastic customer service, clean, quiet, relaxed. Such a wonderful stay. Can't wait to go back!!!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 10, 2022
Dear Jessica, Thanks so much for the awesome report card! So happy that you loved the beach, the clean rooms and meeting us as well. I will be sure to let the housekeepers know that you appreciated their hard work to get your room ready. Come back and see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
We had the best stay! Super quiet rooms. Wonderful location!
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 8, 2022
Dear Tenya, Thanks so much for taking the time to write to us with such a nice review! Please tell your friends and come back and see us on the beach again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Amanda is awesome! She goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant experience. We had an issue with plumbing after hours in the evening and they sent someone to take care of problem while we were at dinner. We will definitely stay there when we visit the area again.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2022
Response from Amanda Norris on Mar 11, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! I appreciate it so much and am happy we were able to resolve the plumbing issue for you so you could enjoy your visit with us :). I am happy you will come back and visit with us again.

4/5 Good

Great little quaint place!
Very clean and cute place with beautiful veiw! A little outdated on appliances but everything was clean, mattress was comfy and it is quiet and quaint.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Older but clean and quaint great staff real accommodating
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Mar 3, 2022
Dear Robert, Thanks so much for the perfect 5 star review! So happy that you loved meeting us, and enjoyed our quaint, retro-style beach inn. Please come back and see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This hotel is next to a construction site and the King Suite is right on the Main St. Very loud all the time. We had ants in the kitchen and the door didn’t feel secure when we left for the day. The pool was dirty. We ended up leaving a day early because we didn’t feel safe or clean staying. The only great thing was the walk to the beach which was beautiful!
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Carousel Beach Inn on Feb 27, 2022
Dear Carolyn, Thanks for your feedback! So glad that you loved the beach! I am so sorry that you found some ants in your kitchen. In South Florida, pets and reptiles can be common, especially if there are open sweets like cookies, candy, or soda left out in a kitchen, but we did have our pest control team come out the next day to treat the kitchen area in that room. We didnt find any evidence of ants. All of the locks on all room doors are new in the past year, and all rooms are hard keyed to the original door keys. Let us know any concerns you have during your stay next time, as we would have been more than happy to assess and address any concern of yours. Thanks again for reaching out. Best, Carousel Beach Inn

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Amanda Norris on Feb 23, 2022
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate it so much.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 20, 2022
Dear Cory, Thanks for the great perfect 10 review! We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I'll preface this review by saying I'm strictly utilitarian when it comes to hotels. I don't care about how dated curtains are or if the towels match the tile. I like rooms to be clean and the promised amenities to be there and working. That said this place was a 10 out of 10 for me. Contated them and let them know I was checking in late, they got back with me with detailed directions right away. It's an old school beach motel. Room was clean, had a nice kitchenette. Hotel was located directly on the beach as stated. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. My wife and I loved the place and we'll be back next year!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Amanda on Feb 18, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! I am so happy you had a good memorable experience with us and enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your thoughtful words and look forward to having you back! :)

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 16, 2022
Dear Wesley, Thanks so much for the awesome perfect 10 review! Please tell your friends and family about us and come back and see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Cute place to stay
Great hosts. Accommodations were comfy and clean. It’s in a great area with the beach just outside. A couple of good places to eat just next door. The room was a little outdated and you won’t like it if you’re picky. I loved it. Thank you Amanda & Alex!
View from our room
SWFL sunset
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 12, 2022
Dear Sondra, Thank you so much for the awesome perfect 10 review! I am so happy that you loved the hotel. We are indeed a 1950s, retro style beach inn and are a historical landmark on this island. As you mentioned, the rooms are immaculately clean and cozy with the kitchen accommodations. I will be sure to let housekeeping know that you appreciated their hard work. Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great beachfront hotel! Highly recommend!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 12, 2022
Dear Katherine, Thanks so much for the great feedback! Please tell your friends and family about us and come back to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We stayed one night in A beachfront room. The location was beyond belief, service was superb and we will certainly return
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 13, 2022
Dear Thomas, Thanks so much for the great review! It makes us so happy and grateful when we hear back from our guests that they loved their stay and enjoyed the beach. Please tell your friends and family about us and come back soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2022

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Comfortable and clean. Friendly staff. On a beautiful part of Fort Myers Beach. Nice pool. Comfortable bed.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022
Response from Amanda on Feb 6, 2022
Thank you so much for the great review! I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and visit us here again soon :)

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Jan 2022
Response from Alex Cass-General Manager on Feb 8, 2022
Dear Patricia, Thanks so much for the perfect 10 review! We are so thrilled that you loved your visit. Please tell your friends and family about us and come back to see us soon! Best, Alex Cass-General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Excellent location. Right on the beach.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2022
Response from Amanda on Feb 6, 2022
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate it so much :) Come back and visit us again soon!