Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Quirky & great location

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Location Quirky nature Clean & tidy
Cons: Communication to access wifi / code Water pressure in shower Clearer communication for welcome / access hotel
Location: Perfect location Beautiful city
A very enjoyable week in Bordeaux ... Which I would strongly recommend The hotel was quirky & one I would recommend, however upon arrival no information was received on how to access / enter the hotel ... No staff greeting what so ever ... Also gaining access to wifi was challenging as the written communication was not correct .... The bedrooms were comfortable & clean & the breakfast was a typical continental breakfast ...
4 out of 5
by westwood from Arlington Virginia

Nice place to stay but not a hotel

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Bordeaux is beautiful along the river but the hotel is really almost just a private room/bath (nice w unique decorations) in a house. La Tupina is where it is run from and probably the best rustic type restaurant in walking distance. Get a car and go to St Emilion!! Amazing little town! Freedom does have parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not a Hotel they are apartments.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
If you a re looking for room service and a 24 hour staff this is not the place for you. The rooms are nice and big there is no elevator, and the internet works from time to time. The staff is very happy to help they are very nice and most speak English. They work at the restaurant across the street "La Tupina" its very French but very good its expensive but worth it.They also offer a valet service for your car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

La Maison- Bordeaux

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Room and location.
Cons: Extra light in the hall way (room) & full length mirror in wardrobe. Internet connection & ph. did not work. Hotel instruction in English.
Location: Close River, 10 minute walk or tram ride into main centre. % min taxi drive to Rail station. Fun market near Church on Sat. Mornings.
Reception a little hard to find. Call ahead. Internet did not work. Excellent hotel and has air conditioned rooms .Staff friendly and helpful once identified.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room but overpriced.

Posted Jun 9, 2015 on Hotels
A large spacious quirky room with huge bathroom was spotlessly clean. Did feel a little strange that there was no reception and we have to check in at the restaurant across the road. When we discovered on our first evening that the air-conditioning is not working we had to call across to a waiter who wasn't really able to help. He told of somebody would be there to fix it the next day but when we returned after a long day out the following day to find it still was not working. This would not normally bother me too much but our stay in Bordeaux coincided with a heatwave and it was very uncomfortable and we both had difficulty sleeping in the heat. We tried leaving the windows open but it was generally too noisy to sleep. Breakfast was taken and Cafe tupina to just across the road. The lady in the cafe was very friendly and could not enough but I did think the breakfast was quite basic for the price we paid. We had moved from a more central cheaper hotel so it was nice to move to a quieter part of the city and it is easy to walk or take the tram back to the centre. Overall the room was good but very overpriced for what you get in my opinion. We paid €250 per night which I think is too much for this hotel for this reason I wouldn't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Mario from Miami, FL

Horrible Location / No Wifi / Problems with Charge

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is located nowhere near where any of the activities are in Bordeaux. The only good thing about the hotel was the restaurant food which was exceptional. There was No Wifi as indicated on the reservation. Additionally after our return we have now been trying to get the charges corrected on our credit card as they double charged us for the stay. I would not recommend this location as a hotel. Go and eat at the restaurant but that it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
lovely french guest house…we had the superior room at the top…many stairs to climb..it was just great..large comfy bed with quirky interior exactly as the photos had shown.…fantastic la tupina restaurant across the road…. food fab….not cheap but worth every "euro"...the staff so helpful…particularly the two young ladies who served in la tupina coffee bar…20 minute walk or so to the town centre/information centre… would we stay there again….you bet we would
4 out of 5
by Carol from Fremantle

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
The room was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. Our room was the Green Room which was located at the too if the building. The sloping roof made it low in parts so if you are very tall ask for an alternate room.
5 out of 5
by ianmcl from london

Charming B and B in great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Not a hotel but lovely rooms opposite a restaurant,cafe and bar in a very old street.Easy to walk to the old centre and the railway station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything: Amazing.

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely large room with very nice design, restaurant with absolutely amazing food just across the street (we had dinner there) and super service. We were able to walk everywhere easily. Absolutely perfect.