Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Graham from Gainsborough, Lincoln


Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Did expect better from a hotel that has good ratings. Good hotel location adjacent to the marina and canal with a more than adequate and comfortable room, staff very welcoming and pleasant. The restaurant and food promised so much however need to point out that the food and service was very disappointing, uncooked steak sent back, very random service overall and the breakfast the following morning was cold and over cooked (might as well have had a hard boiled egg rather than a hard fried egg), expected much better.
4 out of 5
by Danielle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John

Second stay in as many weeks - says it all!

Posted Jul 7, 2016 on Hotels
Second stay in as many weeks - says it all!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

On the John Muir Way

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More flexible checking in times
Location: By canal marina
Good stopping point for walkers or cyclists, although you're a captive audience so have to eat here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel we've stayed in that area.

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Everything from start to finish.
Cons: Not what we could think of.
Location: Loads of outdoor pursuits from walks to rock climbing, Antonine wall and forts, between Glasgow and Stirling and Edinburgh.
Need to visit this area 3 times of year for family and this hotel was so relaxing and staff so helpful and nothing was to much trouble, food was great so we decided to eat in the restaurant each evening and as the hotel is on the canal there's lovely walks to be had in the day or evening.
5 out of 5
by Philip from NYC

A must stop for walkers and a great meal (or 3)

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
This was a perfect stay for us while hiking the John Muir Way. The restaurant had fantastic food, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was the same. We forgot some things behind when we left the next morning and staff held them for our return. You can't beat the location, food, and people. A definite recommendation for anyone in the area and particularly anyone walking the JMW.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Great location but needs more care

Posted Apr 12, 2016
The hotel is beautifully located on the marina, very convenient for us as we were cycling along the Canal from Glasgow to Edinburgh. We were disappointed that there were no facilities for leaving our bikes (despite asking for this when I booked) and we eventually had to leave them chained to a railing in the pouring rain. And several other details weren't quite right. We had booked a double room and it was a twin, the room was clean enough but rather gloomy with poor lighting in the bathroom. The bathroom door didn't close properly. We were woken at 2.15 by an alarm call on the room phone which we had not requested, and to make matters worse we were then aware of TV noise from the next door room. Our evening meal was ok, but breakfast was poor with no fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit, toast on offer, just a brunch menu. We chose the eggs benedict and were served possibly the worst version of this dish I've ever tasted with bright orange (? Out of a packet) hollondaise sauce and thick salty Parma ham (which definitely wasn't Parma ham.) Overall, could do so much better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

last minute stopover

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Boathouse is a restaurant with rooms very comfortable good food and pleasant helpful staff You need to go outside to get from the reception and restaurant which could be a nuisance in bad weather but I would happily stay again if my I was in the area
5 out of 5
by michael

Business Trip

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Business trip x 3 good food nice beer great staff
4 out of 5
by Keith from Derby

Boathouse Kilsyth

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Use the Boathouse regularly on business and whilst its a little off the beaten track the location, friendliness of the staff, room quality and especially the superb food make it worth a few extra miles