Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canberra australia

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Very good location and easy to navigate public transport from this area. Not close to any bars or restaurants but supermarket is over the road. Noise level ok at night if windows are closed. Comfortable beds and clean bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Yummy delicious breakfast, and great value overall

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: It's excellent value, and the breakfast is "to die for"! Very convenient for public transport into the city centre, but location is quiet.
Cons: I was pretty happy with it all round.
Location: Location is good - convenient for public transport, in a fairly quiet major street that is easy to find and navigate.
The real feature of this hotel is the delicious breakfast - a wide range of hot and cold foods are available, both conventional western breakfasts and interesting traditional Icelandic foods for you to try. Hotel is convenient to public transport: Finnair bus stops at the end of the road. Frequent trams stop within 50 metres of the hotel, can take you into the centre of Helsinki. There is a small supermarket across the road from the hotel if you need to buy anything. I found the room quiet, comfortable and was spotless. Lobby staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local features to see, how to get there on public transport and approximately how long it would take.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, USA

Basic and Friendly Comfort

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Extremely friendly staff, closeness to public transportation, located in a regular, clean, historic neighborhood
Cons: Could use some updating. Everything was clean, but some furnishing could be refreshed.
Location: In a historic wooden house district, with colorfully painted wooden houses and beautiful yards. in walking distance from Arabianranta design outlets.
The hotel is quite basic and a bit dated, but it's very clean and the staff makes a great effort to be friendly and accommodating. I had planned to drop off my bags early but was able to check in hours before the check-in time. Breakfast buffet was satisfying and filling, including warm Karelian pastries with egg butter, a Finnish delicacy. One of the nights, there was some friendly noise from a nearby park, but once I closed the window, the sound was nearly completely muffled. The court yard in the back is a great place to enjoy a cool beverage in the sun with hotel guests and locals. The hotel has great access to public transportation (tram, several busses, and a local train line), and it took us only about 15 minutes on a Sunday afternoon to reach the airport. My room was not very large, but large enough, and the bathroom had heated tile floors. Everything was functional, just not fancy. Basically, my stay was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco,CA

Bad experience

Posted Mar 21, 2015
WiFi is not available in the room, just wired. Windows was dirty. Everything appears to be old. Almost no dining options nearby. Breakfast was good. Stuff was doing they best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Slough

Hotel with good connections

Posted Jan 27, 2015
The hotel is very near bus stop and tram stop, train station is also near but I preferred bus. The guy receptionist was very friendly and gave me great advise in regards to how to get to Helsinki. Good hotel for short weekend break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accomodations

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Good staff, easy location for us between center and airport.
Cons: Wi-fi didn't work reliably from our room - fine from the lobby.
Location: Few nearby restaurants - train station not too far.
The desk clerk was very accommodating, our room was large and clean. The location is not in the center of things, but is a nice spot. Parking on the street was just fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grass from Atlanta, ga

Very Convenient to Transportation

Posted Jul 12, 2013
Pros: Quietness and outdoor landscaping was beautiful.
Cons: not really
Location: Location was excellent and not a lot of activity or noise.
Hotel staff was very helpful and made me comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA, USA

End of tram line

Posted Sep 30, 2011
The hotel is some 15 minutes from the city center either by a very convenient bus or tram service. It looks old and worn out from outside, but it has been renovated inside and is easily of 4-star quality in that respect. The restaurant is good and food excellent. Service very friendly both at the reception and the restaurant. Good value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JKK from Geneva

Pleasant hotel on the outskirts of Helsinki

Posted Sep 11, 2011
Nice hotel in a cute suburb of Helsinki, clean and efficient, but not 4 star level, more like 3. Small rooms. A bit far from the centre though a tram an buses stop right in front of the hotel (last tram stop). Easy travel during the day but once tram stops more difficult.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ken from Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

"Met my needs"

Posted Jun 17, 2011
Finland is quite expensive and the Park Hotel Kapyla was quite reasonable. It is located half way between the airport and city center and an airport bus service drops you off/picks you up a block away from the hotel at a very cheap price.The #1 tram goes right in front of the hotel and offers a convient and cheap ride to the Central Railway Station downtown and return.The room was very clean and the front desk people were very friendly. The only negative things that I incurred were that on the day I wanted to use the sauna it was reserved for people from the outside. Also there were very few choices to dine out within walking distance of the hotel. I did, however, find the food and service including the buffet breakfast excellent at the hotel. I would stay there again on a subsequent trip to Helsinki