Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Kurt

Location, location, location

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Layover in Seville in the rain, This place was perfect for the night and service friendly. Location seemed perfect had I been staying longer.
5 out of 5
by Violena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jesse from Vancouver

A great option if you are on budget

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Clean, quiet and in a nice neighbourhood. A great option if you are on budget in Seville.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Stairs are a burden. Unless Your Luggage Is light.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking

Posted May 17, 2015
Other plans fell through. Shared bathroom was clean. My room was not. Fan was missing for two nights. Sheets not nice. Floor in room dirty. My barefeet turned black after coming from shower. Receptionist was nice at check in at sister property pension lisdos. Nice to have front door keys so you can come and go as you please. No Need To Be Buzzed in.
1 out of 5
by Christian from Copenhagen

Not very recommendable

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Noisy, not very clean, cold water in the shower, uncomfortable bed, very small room, shared bathroom (not very clean), very bad internet connection. On the positive side the location is very central (hence the noise) so you wont need a taxi and it is a cheap place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Generalife

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The staff were very nice and helpful.
Cons: See above!
Very very disappointing, even though I didn't expect much given the price. You can't check in at Generalife but you have to walk to their other hostel. I checked in, went back to Generalife and found that they hadn't cleaned my room after the previous occupant!! So back to the other location to complain. The woman on duty was very nice and tried her best to find someone to clean the room (she had to call people on the phone). The room was the worst I've seen even when "clean". Room B on the ground floor. Dark, dirty, mouldy and very noisy from the street. The window didn't close properly and only half the window was covered by the curtain. The "bathroom" was Asian style - although much much worse than I ever saw in Asia (including Thailand and Bali) ... just the sink, the toilet and a hand held shower in between... so you shower in the middle of this room. When I did try to shower the showerhead was broken with water coming out in the wrong place. Then the entire bathroom flooded, then water moved to the bedroom and the hallway! This, after the fastest shower possible. Had to go back to the other location in the morning to request another room. Again, the person on duty was nice and tried her best to help. I got a room in the other location which was much better but had a shared bath. I will never stay at Generalife again, not will I recommend it to anyone! I might stay at the other location if I call on the phone and make sure I can choose the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't find the reception to check-in

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Perhaps a proper operation that's expected and experienced in hostel across the world from Alaska to Zanzibar.
Location: There's a great hostel over the road called Zahira, stay there instead.
The hostel is in a great central location, which was brilliant for leading me to the hostel that I ended up staying at because when I got to the hostel, it was all locked up and dark. After speaking to a couple of locals, it turns out there's another Generallife hostel in the area but they didn't know where. By this point I was ready to go nuclear so checked in the Zahira hostel opposite. The fact that there's no reception at the actual hostel is not a good travelling experience due to security and health & safety, what if there was an emergency. I'm more furious with Expedia for not communicating AT ALL that the reception is somewhere completely different. If I'd known, I would've been prepared or booked somewhere else. My complaints have so far been ignored by Expedia.
1 out of 5
by Evelyn M from ny

Dont waste your money

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels
Smells,bugs, and noise. Plain and simple awful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, but noisy

Posted May 20, 2014
The room was clean and roomy enough. The problem is that the street is very noisy, with a bar right next to the hotel closing at two or three in the morning. With no air conditioning, you have to keep the windows open, so sleeping gets hard.