Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Magic Spot

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The private location and comfortable cottage.
Cons: Nil
Location: Central location and close to all the Hunter has to offer
Very quiet and private, the perfect getaway. Hosts friendly and helpful however not intruding. There if you need them and there if you don`t. Beautiful scenery, sensets and kangaroos added another amazing feature. Great location and ammenties were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Coolah

Beautiful and relaxed for our whole family

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The outlook and quietness
Cons: All good
Everything was just beautiful, enough room for all our family to stay, a special weekend for a very special family wedding that was held next door, so very grateful to receive a phone call when some sentimtal jewellery was left behind, certainly would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful views, comfortable stay

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Wotif
Greeted by Trish when we arrived who showed us to our cabin. Great views of the ranges and so quiet you could hear the birds flapping their wings as they flew past. Kangaroos at your doorstep when you wake up and a fireplace to keep you warm and toasty at night. A great place to relax at the end of the day, just add wine and cheese :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxation with wonderful views

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Friendly on arrival and very helpful Cottage was ready and very well stocked with brekky goods even delicious muffins and fresh eggs. Lovely having a wood burning fire very cosy and warm. Lovely rooms with upstairs room a treat with a double shower and king bed. Complimentary wine was greatly appreciated. Love to stay again in such a serene and beautiful landscape!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Treat yourself :: Berenbell Retreat!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: I'd love to see it snow there!
Location: Close to all wineries, not too far to shops.
A quiet, private, stunning setting with an outlook of wild kangaroos grazing only metres away to the beautiful backdrop of the Brokenback Mountain Range. Location! Location! So many wineries that are so close! Toasting marshmallows over glowing coals of the warm fireplace, submerged in bubbles and sipping red wine in the claw foot bath and such friendly accommodating country mangers - beautiful memories. We thoroughly recommend this lovely retreat to those who need to take a few day off to unwind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful location to soak up the Hunter Valley

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location, hosts, comfort, privacy
Cons: Docking station to play music from phone or ipad etc.
Location: Wineries, walks, gardens, restaurants, country air and scenery
This is a superb location nestled in the vineyards and overlooking the mountains. Sunsets were gorgeous, as were the kangaroos hopping past the living room windows. We stayed in a one bed cottage which is so comfortable and well equipped. Only thing we would have liked is a docking station to play music from our phones and a few board games or cards. The slow burning fire was terrific and kept us well and truly cozy during the cold evenings and mornings. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is good, just what we needed after dinner out in the evenings. Fresh homemade muffins, toast, eggs, cereal, milk, juice - what more could you want from a continental breakfast. Kitchen was well equipped with what we needed to cook breakfast, enjoy cheese and wine etc. Bed very comfortable and freestanding bath - perfect. Location is close to a number of great wineries and places to eat and a short drive to Hunter Gardens and Lovedale wineries etc. Definitely we'd stay here again and recommend.
5 out of 5
by Jodie from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, privacy, view.
Cons: No swimming pool, luckily there was air conditioning
Great field for kite flying
5 out of 5
by Sam from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Location and the amazing, relaxing view
Cons: A little bit dated
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014
Somewhat bemused by the anonymous posting of a review that suggests we are "a little bit dated". Since we have owned the property since 2008, we have spent in excess of $400,000 in upgrading all aspects and facilities of the property. With regard to the review, it would have been helpful to have been advised where the property was "a little bit dated". Helpful suggestions in our business are welcome - criticism without warrant is not helpful.
5 out of 5
by Dimyana from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: The hospitable, welcoming nature of the hosts, and the handy tips for what to see and do in the area.
Location: Tranquil, Just right, Good views
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Inexpensive; Service: Remarkable, Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless, Beautiful;
5 out of 5
by Sue

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: The peace and beautiful views - also The owners went out of their way to make us feel at home!
Cons: Would have liked to stay longer!!
Location: Wonderful, Away from it all, Breathtaking views
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless, Beautiful; Complimentary wine, muffins, juice, etc. lots of information and guidance about what to do and see.