Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location in center of town

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: beautiful hotel
Cons: no availability of newspapers
outstanding price, it is a very old hotel which has been renovated in appropriate original style
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016
I had a great stay at the property all of the employees were great.the room is very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small room in elegant surroundings.

Posted Jan 25, 2016
The Columbia Club's history and the elegant old building and the excellent service make it an interesting place to stay even though the room itself was not as nice as most of the nice hotels in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

On the Circle, cost OK.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Certainly know The Columbia Club is an "older" hospitality property, our only concern was the heating of the rooms since the outside temperatures were in the single digits. Thank you for time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great location, great view

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Location, character, price
Cons: Bathrooms, room decor/furnishings, staff can be cold to those who aren't members of the Columbia Club
Location: Central downtown, walk to Circle Center Mall, hip restaurants on Massachusetts Ave, IRT, Circle Theater, almost any attraction in downtown
We got a room on a high floor with windows overlooking Monument Circle--probably the best view to be had in downtown Indianapolis, especially during Christmas time. The room was surprisingly spacious for an old hotel. The decor of the room was dated and the bathroom was in need of an update, but the bed was comfortable. All the dated-ness aside, the architectural character and grandness of the common areas--lobby, bar--is to be admired. The ambience reminds me of the Boulderado...And the location can't be beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford City In.

Lovely historic hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Lovely old hotel. Great room and location. Staff didn't seem to know a lot about hotel though, had to ask several staff members where breakfast location was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to the center of Indianapolis

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: convenient location, old-fashioned appearance
Cons: see remarks above
Location: lots to do in downtown Indianapolis
I had jury duty at the U.S. District Court in Indianapolis starting at 8am so I booked this hotel so that I could avoid driving the 50 miles from Bloomington early in the morning. The price is reasonable, the room was ok, and the breakfast was inexpensive and delicious. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I did not sleep well, but not because of the room. There was a large exhaust fan outside my room (619) that finally shut off around midnight. The TV remote was nowhere to be found. One of the lightbulbs was not working. I was there too late to ask them to fix things. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are a bit shabby but ok, so I might stay there again if I need to be downtown for something, but there is nothing particularly exciting about this hotel. If your expectations are low, you will enjoy your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Not a great experience

Posted Dec 8, 2015
The room was very small and very expensive. The shower didn't drain properly so you were always standing in ankle deep water. Also the room was not available at check in time, overall it was a bad experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A stay at the club.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was built in late 1800's. There just aren't many places like this. Dress code. Conduct code. Library. This was for club members, but a room was available at a great price for my overnight trip. My wife would have liked this place
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Great old building. Lots of history. Great insite and reminder of times gone by.