Ratings based on 575 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Malia

Worst Hotel Ever!!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Indianapolis for a motorcycle race at Lucas Oil Stadium. Stayed at The Columbia Club since the price was under the other hotels - $190.00. The lobby of this hotel was nice with old woodwork and a lot of history. The room had cracks in the walls, stains on the floor, and when we turned on the shower brown water came out!!!!! I feel like we should be refunded for this stay!!! DO SOME UPDATES TO THE ROOMS PLEASE. And FYI -I never give a bad review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Close to field house

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Old, but adequate for the one night we were there, need to except cash for meals and parking
1 out of 5
by Melvin

Bad stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
When you walk into the lobby this place was absolutely amazing but when we got on the guest floors it was very old and not appealing. The room was very old and everything was loud. If someone got up to use the bathroom you woke anyone else in the room. The shower was very small. I had to stand outside the shower to actually wash. The water was very touchy it went from very hot to very cold with just a touch. When you finally got it decent to shower to water kept going from very hot to very cold. We actually skipped showers one day just to stay away from dealing with the water. Only view we had was of the parking garage. At least I could check to make sure my car was ok. After taxes I spent about $150 a night too much for this room. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. If I had a choice of staying here for $50 a night or at a super 8 for $100 a night I would pay the extra. I am not one to complain much and I usually never write a negative review but this was my worse hotel stay ever. My wife was even surprised that I was saying anything about this stay because she knows I adapt and go with the flow so when I say something negative you know it was bad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful historic hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: I love historic hotels and this was beautiful
We stayed for an event at the convention center. Easy walk. The only thing I didn't know in advance was the policy about no outside food or drink.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Use any other hotel option in downtown Indy

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: I learned that you can use a hair dryer as a space heater.
Cons: The heat, the hot water, the staff's indifference to guests, the worn out furnishings.
Location: The location is great for anything in downtown Indianapolis, but literally any other hotel choice is better.
Despite paying for this hotel a full year in advance and arriving early on my check in day, I was still given a tiny, oddly shaped room at the end of a long hallway in the corner of the building. The room was small and the shower was a weird triangle shape. After hearing "oh, you booked this room through Expedia", I wondered if my choice of booking online had some influence on the quality of room I was given. When I first entered the room, it was cold and I turned the heat up - the thermostat simply has "warmer or cooler", no actual temperature numbers. I went out to dinner and returned later to find that the temperature was not coming up so I pushed the heat lever to the maximum and went to bed. The next morning the room was colder then before and I also had only a few minutes of hot water before it turned cold. On my way out for the day, I stopped by the front desk to complain, but found nobody to complain to. The second night I returned quite late and found the room extremely cold, but due to the late time I just bundled up and went to bed. If I had not paid for the room in advance I would have found another hotel the next morning. In the morning, the room was uncomfortably cold and the hot water lasted only a couple of minutes - this time I was ready though and didn't get caught off guard. On my way out that day, there was someone at the front desk to complain to and they were finally fixed. There was reported to be free breakfast, but I never found it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very old and very well done it is truly a historical classic
Location: It is downtown on the circle close to every thing
Bad experience with Expedia not completing our reservation with the club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Historic building

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: No public parking, only valet which was $30 a night. Could only get hot water for shower one night. Other nights water temperature was just warm.
Location: Wonderful location in Monument Circle. Were attending Bands of America and was less than a mile walk straight down the street.
Great location, in Monument Circle, room was very small but adequate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was fine overall. No reason to not choose Columbia Club. Staff was helpful. Since most people look for "what's wrong with it" comments, the water was cold in the shower, and it took a while to fix it (the next day), and by "fix it," I mean that it was lukewarm for the next couple of days. Staff member tried to explain it away as if it's normal and that "no one wants it too hot." But it literally was never near hot. Only lukewarm at best. I got the feeling from a couple of people that it is pretty stressful, and I can imagine. I'm just a regular guy, but I witnessed a lot of elites in and out, so perhaps a lot of other people are expecting more out of the staff than I would be. I thought it was a great location at a reasonable rate, and I will go back as long as the rates are comparable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Old small unkept room, nice staff, cool building

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Cool old building, good location, that's all the positives
Cons: Old dirty room, hair dryer holder fell off the wall
Location: On monument circle, walking distance to capitol, Lucas Oil Stadium, circle center mall