Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

amazing boutique hotel!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the infinity pool at the top of zephyrs is out of this world.. since the hotel only has seven suites there rarely was anyone else at the pool
Cons: the dinner at villa caletas was always very good, the breakfast on the other hand is okay at best. maybe stick to fruit salad.
Location: the location is at the top of a mountain with beautiful views and an awesome spa with very reasonable prices
we stayed at zephyrs palace for 2 nights on our way back to San Jose from Santa Teresa. Perfect location for a quick 2 night get away. This place was absolutely magical.. we stayed in 2 rooms while we were there since we booked last minute and our favourite room was the "new world" suite. It has a hot tub on its own little terrace that has plenty of privacy from the rest of the rooms. great place for a romantic vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

Beautiful views, pool, and room

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Zephyr pool and the Oriental suite
Cons: Service at the restaurants was sometimes slow or not attentive. Bed was a bit hard.
Location: Mostly stayed at the hotel, but there is a national park and alligator tours nearby. Also near Jaco.
We spent two nights here and wished we had stayed another. Absolutely gorgeous pool with amazing views. The Zephyr is separate but connected to Villa Caletas Hotel. They send a golf cart to transport you back and forth as it is very hilly. However, the Zephyr does have it's own large pool for only 7 suites and it is wonderful. Only two suites were occupied during our stay so they didn't have the bar at the pool staffed but we could of called and they would have brought food and drinks over. The main hotel has several restaurants and a bar which were vey nice. They also have a shuttle that brings you down to their own private beach area where several monkeys kept causing issues in the kitchen. The beach had cabanas (no charge) and a good number of chairs along with bar service. The whole resort has beautiful grounds. It reminds me of Rhodes (it is built out of stone and looks medieval).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Close to heaven

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This hotel is beautiful. It was quiet great food and three great pools. Great spa and its own secluded beach. The staff was also very helpful and polite. A great place to propose or get married or simply have a romantic getaway. You get a lot for your buck. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Jody from Beach city texas

Amazing property great food

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place. The Zephyr Palace section is incredible. The road sign more clearly says Los Caletis and google wont find Zephyr Palace. Just fyi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Over the top

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We hopped down to Costa Rica for a quick Birthday getaway. We stayed in the Zephyr Palace, 20 years suite and it was fantastic!! Private balcony overlooking the ocean, outstanding room with a hot tub also overlooking the ocean. Guy's, if your looking to score BIG points on the romance side, this place is "Over the Top"
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bert from Atlanta

Botanical garden

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel... quiet and peaceful...
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kristoffer from Stockholm

A pearl

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing getaway! The hotel lies on top of a mountain ridge and spans multiple areas connected by a small road. The hotel provides connecting shuttle service at the blink of an eye, driving you to the main area where the restaurants are. The view is to die for. The hotel considers sustainable tourism to be critical, which leaves a hotel in the midst of nature in symbiosis with it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Best Boutique Hotel in Costa Rica!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Everything! The views were exceptional, the room was perfect, the jacuzzi was great and the infinity pool was fantastic. Service was pretty awesome!
Cons: N/A Only one restaurant was being operated at the time. The food is great, but not cheap, so come prepared!
Location: Jaco is the next nearest town about 15-20 minutes down the road. It is a great place to visit, and plenty of things to do. Jaco Beach is very popular
I just left Zephyr Palace for my honeymoon and it was AMAZING! I don't have one complaint. We stayed in the Egyptian and the room exceeded our expectations. There was a nice jacuzzi in our bathroom (preferred that over Jacuzzi on balcony), and the views from our balcony were so beautiful. I was a little concerned about insects after reading some reviews, but we had no issues...and we were in the middle of the rainforest for goodness sake. Be realistic. We took advantage of the excursions coordinated by Concierge; they made it very easy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would absolutely go back! Best. Honeymoon. Ever.