Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by James from London

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was OK apart from the bed bugs which we saw and killed. One of us had to sleep on a narrow settee whilst the other slept on the floor. I was badly bitten and was affected with itchy lumps.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2015 by Balint, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, I am terribly sorry for your bad experience and certainly we carry out the actions needed to solve the problem. We are hosting guests from all over the world, and even though we maintain a good cleaning in our place, it is very hard to prevent cases like yours happening sometimes. Please accept my apologies and we do our best to avoid the same case happening in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
by Diana from USA

Lovely

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really lovely. A great way to meet a local and also a great value.
4 out of 5
by Micheal from Fermoy, Ireland.

Wonderful few days in Budapest.

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
My friend and myself were warmly welcomed by the hotel manager who gave us a lot of information about Budapest. He also contacted the Budapest parliament on our behalf when we expressed an interest in visiting same. He was also very understanding when I was short of cash to pay him on our arrival and gave me time to pay him later as he could not accept credit cards. Tea and coffee making facilities were very good.
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from NZ

Would stay again

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Very low key place, interesting experience. All positive. Good location, pretty much left with the place to yourself! Owner very helpful with tips, answering questions etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location and cheap

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Margit is a lovely old lady who runs and cleans the guesthouse, which is basically in her apartment. She speak minimal English but puts a lot of effort into making it as comfortable a stay as possible for you. It's not the most comfortable bed and pillows, and there's a feeling of little privacy as you stay right next to where she lives and share a bathroom with anyone else that may be staying there (only two rooms). It's a fairly old place so quite back dated. The location is great, on one of the main roads in Budapest so right next to a tram stop and metro station. Although, the trams are very loud and may wake you up if you're not a heavy sleeper.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

overall the guesthouse is ok

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
Overall is ok only the cups not enough if more than 3 people.
4 out of 5
by ernie from Saint Louis

Clean and homy.

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Old but quaint. Mother and son operation with only 2 rooms. One room very small, I had the large room with street view. Coffee pot,micro,fridge and toaster available in entry area.Not for someone wanting modern but very satisfactory to my needs.A great value and mother and son were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Cheap and cheerful, good location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Sound proofed windows!
Location: Close to shops, bars. 20 minute walk to the river Danube and main centre where all the shops are. Hero square, city park, the castle easiy reached
This accommodation is part of a Mother and Son's home. They rent out 2 rooms. Myself and 2 friend stayed in a very large bedroom meant for 2 guests but they accommodated 3 of us and it was big enough. The only thing annoying was the trams travel past every few miutes 24 hours a day (bit less on Sundays)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

okay for some but not me

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: location - that's it.
Cons: everything but the location
Location: location was great
I have no issues with the owners - they are nice. But the room is tiny, shared facilities and it is outdated and the light went on and off the entire time. We could hear people coming and going all night. you have to fool around with the locks far too much. Overall would not recommend as there are so many other places in Budapest to stay for the same value. To be far the location is great in that it's close to the metro and you could walk to where all the action is in 30-40 min.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC

Affordable accomodation with character

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros:
Cons:
Location: Located 50 meters from a tram stop and 1 block from Rakocsi station on the M4 it was very easy to get there and anywhere .
Margit was an enthusiastic and sincere host who tried hard to be helpful. Our room was large and clean , the furnishings comfy if a little worn. Mid century working elevator stopped up or down a few inches but never level with the first floor . It was never light enough nor dark in the room as the lovely big casement window was protected with wood slats on the outside and had a white lace curtain on the inside .One working bulb in the three bulb chandelier was not enough and wasn't fixed during our 3 day stay. Bring earplugs for the tram which runs all night or try the other room facing onto the inner courtyard with single beds on 2 levels connected by small spiral staircase .