Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Condo needed cleaning and general upkeep basics

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: It's too bad the condo was in such poor shape because the location is beautiful. The grounds and the pool are immaculate and maintained with precision
Cons: Whoever manages and cleans the condo should report things that are in need of repair. The cleaner also needs a checklist of required areas to clean.
Location: The island has many beautiful sites but the advertising lists many sites that have been closed. The native Hawaiians on Molokai resist development.
The condominium we stayed in required repairs that seemed to go unaddressed. Since there was no AC in the condo, the ability to catch the trade wind breeze was essential to comfort. Due to giant rips (up to 12") in the window screen, we had to keep the windows closed to keep flies, mosquitoes and roaches from entering. There were a variety of these critters under the dresser and night stand, along w/ excrement on the walls and roach traps in every room, indicating an infestation. We taped some of the screens and kept a bedroom window closed to reduce the critters from entering and it helped during our next 4 days there. The kitchen & bathroom also had small ants which were less bothersome. The patio screen door had holes in its screen and the handle was hanging by one screw when we arrived. The pots and pans left to cook with indicated they'd been damaged severely by the use of metal utensils that left pock marks deep within their teflon coatings, rendering them unusable. We relied heavily on the microwave for this reason. It was loud, old, and very slow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Nothing
Location: We stayed in A building in A310. Your view is awesome.
Great location on the ocean, very quite. The grounds are well kept. A very friendly place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Wavecrest

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The views, the ocean, the lanai, pool. Everything Wavecrest is so well kept. Could see whales from lawn.
Cons: The cleaning and mattress. Microwave was very old, but worked.
Location: The island is small. Halawa valley is gorgeous. Beautiful beaches not too far. Very peaceful, no night life. Friendly people. RENT A CAR!!
We just returned from a lovely vacation on Molakai. Wavecrest is a beautiful group of condiminiums on it's own patch of land. No beach, but a lovely oceanfront and you can get to the ocean easily. The water is shallow out front but fun to spash in and their is some black sand right next door. The grounds and the buildings are lovely and very well taken care of. Definitely an older crowd, but very friendly. The pool area is well kept and has a beautiful view of the ocean and Mauai. Very peaceful and quiet except for the rooster behind Building C. If you want to see the ocean, Building A has the very best, and Building C on 2 or 3 is best. Could see whales from shore. We were in C211. It is a cute little apartment with cute living room furniture and decorations and the kitchen was stocked nicely, the lanai had a partial ocean view (just a palm tree partially blocking our view, but we loved it). Our only complaint is that the bedroom was dirty. There was thick dust on the windows, rods, dresser, pictures and lampshades. The mattress was soft and lumpy and the quilt needed laundering. The bathroom rugs were clean, but old. The carpet in the living room and bedroom needs cleaning. The apartment has been very well used and needs painted and deep cleaned. We did complain to the company renting it out (it is not Wavecrest). They were very gracious and refunded our cleaning deposit and offered to come in and clean, but we were already settled in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Citrus Heights CA

The grounds are lovely and well kept as is pool

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The grounds and pool/ cabana area
Location: We enjoyed driving around this beautiful island.
Our condo unit was a disappointment. The living room area was nice. The kitchen utensils, dishes and glasses were dirty. Had to wash everything I used before using it. Refrigerator was really dirty as well with mold, etc. there were no supplies to attempt to clean it. The mattress needs replacement. There was thick dust on bedroom lamps, alarm clock and portable fan. The louvered bedroom windows haven't been washed in eons and the screens were very dirty as well. One screen wasn't fitting well so didn't open that one at all. Really poor insulation. Could bear neighbors talking, chickens, roosters and autos/trucks woke us before 5 am most mornings. in sum, except for living room furniture, everything else was old and worn. Would not recommend C211 to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unfortunate experience

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately this was not a good experience. First, the property management Rep was great. Her name was Dayna and she was extremely helpful. As for the unit, we'll, it did not live up to expectations. The unit was in the third floor and no elevators. We hauled our luggage up the stairs. Once inside the unit, we learned that there was no air conditioning. We found out later that almost no one has air conditioning. We left the front side windows open and lanai door open to supposedly enjoy the trade winds that we absent that night. We were told by the cab driver (which cost $80 from the airport) that there weren't any restaurants or grocery stores near our location so he stopped off at a grocery store so we could buy some food...which eventually attracted the ants in the unit. The furniture was dated and uncomfortable. The ceiling fan in the bedroom had one option which was low. The fridge had mold at the vent screen at the bottom. We spent one night and moved out the next day. Dayna was able to find a room with air conditioning and two single beds at Hotel Molokai (the only hotel in the island) which was much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Excellent location with a view on Maui, Kahoolawe and Lanai and beautiful Molokai mountains on the other side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

10 Days in Molokai

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: Location, amenities, comfort, pool, cabana, bbq by pool, fans
Cons: more help with check-in....a backup for getting in just in case.
Location: The location was on the East side which was supposedly a bit wetter but not really much by what we saw. close beaches and town.
This place was great! Not crowded, usually we had the pool to ourselves and we went during Christmas break too! The room was clean and comfortable with the best stocked kitchen I have EVER seen for a rental. Also, in our room we had our own washer/dryer so bonus! The location was fabulous, right near the water. The only thing was no good beach in walking distance but a 5 min drive to get to one so no biggie. I would say the only thing to be sure of is to get your room number and lock box key info BEFORE you leave...I was supposed to get an email with said info but never did so thankfully there was a night guard there who was nice enough to help us. There was an after-hours number to call for "emergency" but even that did not work...However, I would LOVE to stay there again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O`ahu

Can't read the qustion.

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: Was away most of the time. However, short time there encounterd disgruntled resident who was upset about car alarm going off. "Daytime"
Cons: Residents could be more pleasant. Expecially if you live "Molokai".
Location: I used tol live on Molokai. Much of what we dd was with O'hana.
I did not receive instructions regarding "Check in". Therefore, had difficult figurng out and confsed as to what to do. Telpephone numbers 1-voice mailoox not set up; 2-no longer in service. Lukily a resident assisted in contacting live-in person who placed a call to verify reservation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Condominiums by beach

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, swimming pool, and the staff.
Cons: Certain rooms/condos need to be renovated.
Room B104 needs an overhaul(update). Room A311 was a decent room to which we were upgraded.
3 out of 5
by Lynn C from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Wavecrest, worth looking at.

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on Hotels
Condo C107 The condo was not what we were expecting for the price we paid. Although in overall clean condition there were many items lacking. There were no working lights on the lanai. The dishes and pots and pans are in need of an overhaul. Cutlery was sparse. The entrance to the condo was so poorly lit we could barely make out the combination numbers. It is definitely time for an upgrade in the lighting. The complex itself, was very nice, well kept and well situated. We would rate the complex highly even though it is a 40 minute drive to town. If I were to stay again I would make sure I was in the A building and on the top floor. Molokai itself has much to offer.