Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Charming Countryside B&B Retreat

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Great value for the money. Very accommodating staff.
Very comfortable B&B with welcoming staff. Great selection at outdoor/indoor breakfast/dinners. Meat cooked in open fire oven. Homemade jams, antipasto, wine, desserts and vegetables from their garden. Very popular restaurant for dinner. Cool mountain breeze at night. Woods at back of B&B allowed for stroll and great views. Above city so quiet at night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended BnB

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
We realy enjoyed our night in this BnB. The room was great and the breakfast was delicious. We only spent a night there as we were visiting Lugano at the weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Stay

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Lugano, Paradiso and the lakes. Great location for relaxing and enjoying hiking, cruises in the lake and walking.
Excellent, hotel, location and staff. My family and I enjoyed every moment of it.
5 out of 5
by Marla from Lugano, Switzerland

Great place.

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Flora is wonderfully nice and the rooms were nicely appointed, clean, and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and we would gladly stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Not Provided from Dijon

Good price/quality

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice hotel, great price quality. People very nice and kind, also had a good dinner.
5 out of 5
by Carol from Orchard Lake

Cute and cozy B&B in the hills of Lugano

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived around 6:30 pm, and the manager met us in the parking lot to help direct us how to get in. I would recommend getting there a little earlier, because it's located up in the mountain, and it takes awhile as well as it would be easier to see around the many curves and narrow roads. Once we arrived, it was well worth the drive. It's family owned for 4 generations, and the owner and manager seem to take care of it all, including making fabulous food for dinner if you want to stay on-site, and a good spread in the morning for breakfast. Our stay was short, but the place was so cute and the area so interesting, we would have liked to stay longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Wonderful homely and safe place to stay.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
The staff/owners were so welcoming, however please know that when you go for dinner in their restaurant, that you also get a big bowl of cabbage salad and warm mixed vegetables and bread and pickled goodies with anything you order. Also the servings are designed for sharing! So we spent way to much money and food was wasted. There was too much. If you stay make sure you go for a walk (with your camera) up the hill towards the church.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grotto Flora B&B

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
A decent family owned establishment about 10mins drive to the lake and free parking. Very welcoming although had to wait for 15mins to get our room key as the receptionist was cooking for the resto guests. :). Charming ladies In all fairness good value for money considering this is Switzerland Do note, this is a 300 years old plus building and the walls are 1mtr thick, so you can't expect wifi connection, non-existent inside the room. The bad thing the mattress are foam type.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
An extremely friendly and welcoming host who could not do enough for me or my family. Beautiful rooms and location. Would recommend to anyone.
3 out of 5
by Denise M. from Los Angeles

Far from the Crowds

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
The Grotto Flora provided a large, sumptuous room. We were delighted with both the room and the hotel's surroundings. It's difficult to reach from the train station however, costing us nearly 100 swiss francs for taxis there and back. If you want to relax in the countryside, this is the place. It's situated in an upscale residential neighborhood which means you won't be walking to the corner bistro for any meals or cappucini, so be prepared. Internet service was very spotty, requiring us to leave our room to check our emails. Once again, that's to be expected in out-of-the-way locations. We dined at the hotel where our dinner was tasty and somewhat novel compared to "eats" in the city. Dinner was a bit expensive as a result, but the owner rises early every morning to begin the evening's preparations. Breakfast was an ample buffet. We only stayed one night as we were due to catch the Bernina Express the next day.