Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blairsville, PA

Always a pleasant stay.

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Third year in a row staying at the After Eight B&B. Always a very enjoyable trip. The owner, Robert, is always very warm and informative, and makes you feel welcome. Breakfasts are awesome, and the house is always nicely decorated. One feels at home at this B&B.
5 out of 5
by Ronald from Delaware

October 12-15 visit.

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was great and Robert an excellent and friendly host. He was able to recommend restaurants, sights and shops. The breakfasts were delicious with lovely presentation. The only drawback of our trip was the horrendous traffic! Definitely recommend this B & B!
5 out of 5
by Michael from London

You will be warmly welcomed and impressed!

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
Robert welcomed us warmly when we arrived - it was absolutely pouring down with rain and he provided a huge umbrella for us to get our bags out of the car and into the house. His tour of the property was fantastic; he didn't just show us where everything was, and leave us to it, but took the time to find out why we were there, suggesting attractions we should see in the area and giving tips on the best buggy rides to take, the microbrewery bars around Lancaster, where to eat, and so on. The room itself was amazing. Large, airy and bright in the morning, with plenty of space for our clothes and bits and bobs. The bathroom was lovely and the shower had enough pressure. Everything was very clean but not that sterile-clean that makes you feel like you were in a generic chain hotel. The breakfasts - home cooked to his own recipes - were very tasty and original, as well as the breakfast conversations, where he'd recount really interesting stories and get everyone involved. The location was nice, too. While being close to a busy road you didn't hear too much of the passing traffic, and the opposite side backed out onto open fields and farms, which was lovely to see in the morning (I woke up early one morning and went down for a coffee on the front porch and saw the sun rise, as well as smoking on the back porch in the evening and listening to the cows and crickets). All in all we both had a wonderful time here and we would definitely go back when we come back to the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great getaway!

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay with the exception of road noise. Should we stay again I would request a room in the rear of the B&B. Other than that everything was exceptional, room very clean and comfy.. The room as well as the home itself was just beautiful. Robert, the host was awesome. He was the perfect gentlemen, wonderful host and cook. His meals were delicious. We especially enjoyed his comedy/story time after breakfast.... Very funny!! Thank you Robert for everything!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and inviting.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness and the proprietor.
Location: The location is in Amish country and there are many things to do including the Strasburg railroad, Pennsylvania Rail Road museum, outlets etc.
The After Eight is a very nice place and I would definitely return. The place is immaculate and the proprietor is an engaging individual who is knowledgeable about the area and helpful. It is conveniently located to all attractions. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
by Rita from Roskilde, Denmark

Remarkable stay

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Roberts place After Eight very much. Robert served a very delicius and well prepared breakfast every Day and he entertained with jokes and stories during the meal. Cleanand Nice Roms and many good advices about sightseeing and restaurant etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nettes kleines B&B mit gemütlicher Atmosphere

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Frühstück und die Atmosphäre
Etwas außerhalb von Lancaster aber mitten im Amish Country. Super Frühstück! Wir hatten das kleinste Zimmer gebucht. Es war auch etwas eng. Wenn man mit viel Gepäck anreist, dann vielleicht etwas mehr Geld investieren.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Rest and relaxation

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: The condition was clean and friendly
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amish history, local food
Very nice location with a lot of history scenery and the food was great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat, Alberta

A Simply Wonderful Experience

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: The house was so beautifully restored and well kept up! I have never felt so at home. The beds and bedding were so comfortable!!
Cons: The only thing that was a bit annoying was the road noise from our room. My cousin slept in a room at the back of the house and had no issue.
Location: Located in Gordonville, it's in the heart of Amish Country. There is an unlimited number of things to see and do!! I want to go back in the summer!
We arrived at this B and B and were instantly greeted by the smiling host who went on to be a wealth of information about the area and all the things to see and do. The home itself was just beautiful and it was the cleanest facility I have ever had the privilege to stay in. Due to the weather, we just kicked back for the night and it was like being at home. There was an abundance of books, tea, coffee and snacks and a puzzle table that challenged us for hours.