Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South West

Cosy, clean and friendly

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, friendliness of staff, dog friendly
Cons: Nothing really as the rooms are the size they are
Location: We were there to walk with friends in Ashdown Forest but there are plenty of other attractions close by
Overall we were very pleased with this pub. The room was small, especially with two dogs, one very large, but we managed quite well. The room was cosy, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Some people may not like the open plan style of the shower room but it did not bother us. A door would have made the room feel more cramped. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very good. The bar area was pleasant and had character. Although next to a roundabout and in a pub, we were not disturbed by noise. There are lovely woods opposite making it easy to walk the dogs first thing. We would be happy to stay there again if we are in the area in future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Truro

wouldn't go again

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: breakfast was ok
Cons: rooms need to be decluttered, we had loads of cushions on bed in tiny room and had to try to stuff them somewhere so we could move.Attitude of woman.
Location: nice walk across road with dog through woods but wouldn't have known about it if I hadn't asked another member of the public.
the gentleman owner was lovely and accommodating. we had an extremely uncomfortable first night in a tiny room with our dog and open plan bathroom, went down for a drink to be told at 10.00 they were closed by a woman in her nightie who was blunt and rude and shouted something at me. Breakfast good. Asked to be moved and the gentleman owner moved us to a better room, still a bit crowded with our dog but much better. Bit of a strange visit. Rooms clean, but there was an ironing board propped up by fire escape which I caught my foot in moving luggage. A lot of noise from traffic outside.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice place for the weekend...

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Good parking and easy to find. Good breakfast and drinks selection at the bar. All amenities you'd need for a weekend stay.
Cons: Hot water in shower took a long time to come through but apart from that, nothing!
Location: Only about 15 miles from Eastbourne and Brighton, and even less away from Glyndbourne.
Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding in the local area. Was on the main road between Halland and Eastbourne so really easy to find. The room was a little bit on the small side for two people but perfectly adequate for someone on their own (like me!) My room was above the kitchen, which meant that the smells from the kitchen wafted upwards, but these dissipated quickly afterwards. Cooked Breakfast was good with ingredients from the local area and a good size that set me up for the day's festivities ahead. The owners were really nice and welcoming and although I wasn't there for a lot of the time, nothing was too much for them. Overall, for the price I paid it was exactly what you'd want from a good ol' B&B.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Small, a little old-fashioned, but overall a lovely country pub, very friendly and comfortable. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heysham

Nice pub/hotel.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Basic but clean, comfortable and ample for my needs. The pub served excellent range of evening meals. Beer was good. So were the breakfasts. Staff were lovely, polite, chatty, helpful. Located at a busy junction, road noise was not a problem. Parking and out of hours access were well organised. Really central for all of Sussex this was an excellent choice to base my holiday.
5 out of 5
by lindsay

value for money

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
We were very happy with the location and room...clean and quite nice...changed bedding after the first night ( we were staying for two nigjts) .Great value ...lovely breakfast ....decor in pub tired needs alittle tlc... couple very nice and welcoming .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Ok accommodation.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Room was clean and tidy.
Cons: Needs updating inside and out.
Location: Located on a busy round about so a bit noisy. Visiting friends nearby so didn't find out about things to do.
Friendly staff but Blacksmiths Arms was a rather tired Inn in need of some tlc. Room clean and tidy but light over sink in bathroom broken and plug in sink leaked. Reported but not rectified!
4 out of 5
by Lewis

Great

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great for the price. Was at a local wedding so wasn't in the hotel much. Bed was comfortable and the lady owner was extremely helpful and friendly. I would stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels