Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nottingham

Dismal

Posted Aug 12, 2016
I arrived just after 8pm following a long drive, very tired and hungry. The bar looked quite welcoming but apparently food service stopped at 8pm. I've stayed in places where that is the case before and been offered a reduced menu but at the Boship Farm nothing doing. On with check-in staff very friendly and polite. Reached my room and immediately noticed an unmade bed, bin full of rubbish dirty crockery and towels thrown over the shower. The room had t been serviced. So changed rooms and was given a suite. Very drab old with uncomfortable furniture. Clean linen but I had to make my own bed. No shampoo in room so bad to ask for some Suffice to don't stay here. If you need to stay close by there is a Travelodge across the road
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lots of closed facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: just about everything
Stayed 3 days; no evening restaurant for 2, no swimming pool (despite website), very tired décor in rooms - missing light bulbs, rooms not properly replenished, unusable shelf in bathroom, no desk
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bumped to a 'sister' hotel.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Due to an 'unforeseen' circumstance we were moved to another hotel which was below expectation and in an inconvenient location. I can't actually comment on the Boship Lions, it may be lovely.
3 out of 5
by Zena from Tobnridge

Needs updating

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is set in some lovely grounds with a outside swimming pool, tennis courts, lakes and picnic areas. Unfortunately the Hotel is in need of a lot of repairs and the rooms brought up to date. The shower in our room was useless and tiles were hanging off the walls. The bed was uncomfortable as well. The only plus side was the breakfast and the view from our room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
This was definitely the dirtiest room I have ever stayed in the decor bed and bathroom were disgusting and this was an improvement on the first room offered to us !! First appearances and grounds were fabulous on walking through the restaurant next morning at breakfast we left and went to Hailsham to eat. Reception staff were lovely. Room decor, grubby paper peeling off walls and the mattresses were a disgrace
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice stay, but the place needs a spruce up

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Good location, friendly staff, but needs modernising.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The room was clean but very tired the bathroom cold with no access to heat as the radiator thermostat was not attached just balanced.Could not get BBC 1 or 2 on the TV. Staff helpful. Confusion over breakfast as I rang the hotel before booking to see if breakfast was included was told yes. I was then told on the last morning I had to pay but when I explained I had rung they said it was their mistake so I did not have to pay. When booking out was told nothing to pay. I received a phone call saying I had to pay which I did but she would check with her manager and ring me on Monday. As I expected no phone call!!. Extremely rude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Could do much, much better

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Dinner was ok. Parking is convenient and plentiful.
Cons: Just about everything; it looks and feels old and tired.
Location: We stayed for a wedding at Blackstock Barns, about 10 minutes away - very convenient but next time we'll stay at a Travelodge or Premier Inn.
Evening meal was nice and the service was fine, but the choice of only three items per course was very disappointing. The room however was not good - the double bed was 5' wide but the mattress was only 4'6" wide, leaving a gap of 6" of hard bed to get over. The duvet was barely wide enough to cover the mattress and with two (normal sized) people under it it was nowhere near big enough. Very uncomfortable. Shower water on day 1 was lukewarm. Awful noise from upstairs, creaking and banging whenever anyone moved around. The gap at the side of the venetian blind at the window overlooking the car park meant anyone could easily see into the room - as there was no curtain I had to hang a T shirt there to block the gap. Full breakfast on day one was to order (none of us received the correct order first time) and on day 2 was buffet, both were ok but quite greasy. The hotel is generally in a good location but is in really desparate need of investment and staff could do with a bit of customer service training too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings

Good value but could be so much better

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: The hotel grounds we excellent
Cons: The evening menu was very limited we chose to dine out
Location: Very good location right on the A22
2 night stay bed and breakfast. Thehotel building and the grounds were great but gave the impression they were not reaching their full potential. We we going to dine in the restaraunt the first night bought drinks asked for the menu. It was so limited but were advised the chief may be able to cook othe dishes to order. We choose to give it a miss so dinned out instead.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels