Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by TAK KEUNG

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Romantic and historic hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The ambiance is romantic and historic.
Cons: Handrails should be added to the staircase. Better still, an elevator should be added for easier access to the rooms.
The hotel has been nicely renovated. Unfortunately there is a huge construction site by the shore in front of the hotel. The maintenance of the rooms needs to be improved. The jacuzzi in our bathroom didn't work. One of the night bulbs was out and wasn't replaced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Quiet. Spacious room. Service was good.
Cons: better bed linens and better bath supplies - soaps and shampoo.
Location: location was just ok - it is a short cab ride from casinos.
Service was very nice but this is NOT a 5 star. Possibly a 3 star. Not a great value. The hotel smelled of mildew. Obvious signs of water problems. Furnishings and bed linens are dated/not fresh. Room service was prompt but food wasn't great. Bath supplies were all strong masculine scents
5 out of 5
by Jonathan from Hong Kong

Getaway

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed a relaxing getaway in an historic setting. Far enough away from the exicement of Maccau but close enough for a 10 min bus ride or 45min walk
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Most romantic hotel in Macau

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels
We had one night in the most romantic hotel in Macau, and we enjoyed every minute of it. First of all the welcoming is very personal, you are greeted like a person not as a room number. And that personal touch continues throughout your stay. After a very nice sleep, the breakfast was a feast. Fresh breads, cheese, meats, fresh orange juice, Spanish omelette and a good hot strong espresso. The whole staff was very friendly and would do everything to make your stay as pleasant as can be. We were there for only 24 hours, but left completely relaxed and smiling. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by Peter from Hong Kong

Classiest Hotel in Macau

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
Great, all suite, luxury hotel in an historic fortress... this is the classiest hotel in Macau. No casino or crowds! 10 minute walk to the Ah Ma temple, 30 minute walk to the Leal Senado. The only drawback is that it is a bit difficult getting taxis, and for short journeys taxis on call will require an extra "tip". This is a bit annoying but not the hotel's fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful stay in the friendliest hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The Pousada is a small haven of peace in the corner of the Macao peninsula, close to the beautiful old town. The rooms are pure understated luxury (a treat after the opulence of the large casino hotels) with stunning views, and the staff are the friendliest and most helpful I have come across in my travels. The charming Portuguese manager welcomes you as if to his own home and the staff take their cue from him. And their attitude to service continues after you leave - when I realised I had left my camera behind in the lobby they arranged to have it couriered to me in HK. If I can find an excuse to return to Macao, I will certainly return to the Pousada.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place with reasonable price

Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent service with luxurious style room and amenities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by APMorriss

A nice quiet place away from the bustle

Posted May 24, 2014 on Orbitz
The hotel is a renovated fortress, with a spectacular (but definitely not disability friendly) entrance carved thru rock. Public spaces are very Portuguese, rooms are decorated in a very Mainland Chinese style (lots of gold coloring). Fabulous food in restaurant, but pricey. Staff is attentive and non-intrusive. Pool was a bit chilly when we were there (definitely not heated) but would be nice in warmer weather. Located near Ah Ma Temple but off the beaten track - getting cabs is an issue (not hotel's fault but due to Macau's idiotic restrictions on # of taxis in territory). Combine with dinner at Fernando's in Coloane and it is a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tony from Auckland

Fantastic place

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere the locations the history
Cons: Tried getting the complimentary mini bus on a couple of times but all an all it was just to hard - breakfast could be improved. But these are minor
Location: Close to the Macau tower and some historical highlights - the ma temple and maritime museum - 10 minute taxi ride gets you anywhere
Great stay in a property that is a little away from most of Macau's trappings but hey Macau is quite compact so a $10 US taxi fare can get you just about anywhere you want to go. Love the atmosphere of this place, have stayed at the Wynn, MGM and Banyan Tree in Macau/Taipa within the last 18 months and this place is way up on the list.