Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Nice hotel a bit tricky to find out to come out from shopping mall parking to go to hotel ( when you have your own car and is a must if you want to visit around Malta ) Are signs level -2 for hotel parking but doesn't belong to hotel ??? Apart of this and long wait at reception everything was perfect food at hotel restaurants very good and plenty choices ( I felt sorry for staff at Terrace Restaurant working very hard and hotel duty manager instead of helping he was chatting with friends ????) ; rooms nice and lovely view
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the old side

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The amenities - needs some serious refreshing.
Location: Close to the ferry to Valletta.
The hotel looks like it has not been renovated in at least 10 years. It's on the old side, I would not give it 5 stars, but 4 at best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointing accommodation

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The garden was nice
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Handy shopping and good restaurants within walking distance.
Reception at check in most unhelpful and disinterested. We had requested a quest room for our two week stay but were initially offered a room right above the bar, restaurants and communal area. After complaining we were given a higher room, but immediately had to request maintenance as the tap on the hand basin was loose, the tap fitting on the bath was broken exposing very sharp edges and the fuse box in the room was making a very loud buzzing noise. They managed to fix the hand basin tap, but the bath tap remained broken and the fuse box kept buzzing frequently for the duration of our stay. Also found the electrical socket above the bed was loose. The hotel is quite dated and certainly not 5 star standard. We were not able to sleep beyond 7am as the housekeeping staff started to trundle their noisy trolley's around at this time and we also found we could hear other guests moving around, talking, flushing toilets, running baths and showers in adjacent rooms. The outside garden was nice but enjoyment was spoiled by maintainance personnel sanding the garden furniture from 8am most mornings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Fortina Spa resort

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Closeness to ferry to Valetta. Size and comofrt of room. Limes bar and staff. Choice of retaurants if didn't want to eat out.
Cons: Breakfast is advertised as from 7.00 a.m and wasn't always ready at 7 a.m. More channels on TV not just news channels. Spa and pool open longer hours
Location: Ferry to Valetta.St Elmo's fort an war museum Valetta. Harbour Boat trips (Nera ferry). Day trips to: ancient sites, Gozo, Etna. Restaurants by ferr.y
Hotel is quiet and friendly. There are several restaurants on site and a pleasant bar. Most guests were English and over 40. Not a lively place for evenings but friendly and quiet. The Spa opening times clash with day trips and activities. TV has several news channels in english and films are quite old. Room large and comfy. Close to ferry to Valetta. Room had a power plate exercise machine in it and a balcony with loungers. Day trips really good: Ancient Malta greta. Gozo a beautiful island and the boat trip by the inland sea where the azure eye used to be is a must. The dy trip up Etna in Sicily worth the 5 a.m. start but there is extra cost to go from where coach stops to get to the top. Highlights of Malta trip not as good as the others. Medina/Rabat lovely to visit. Surprised to see several marks and Spencer shops around although M and S best place to buy bottled drinks to carry for the day. White wine generally it dodgy so drinkred, cocktails or beer. There is a cocktail van near the ferry. Information given is often the minimum. So You will have a pick up ime for a tour and that is that it works to wait outside hotel and check each minibus /coach / taxi that arrives. You will be fine if guide is on pick up bus as they get out and call for named people. Not full of lots of tacky tourist shops. Food fine but nothing special across the island. Opt for fish of the day / seafood / pasta. Lots of sweet breds /pastries available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK, East Midlands

Restaurant facilities very disappointing

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: The spa facilities were excellent and staff helpful
Cons: Dining details on web site should be corrected.e.g. Japanese restaurant now closed.
Location: Silema has a busy waterfront offering good restaurants; various boat trips + tour bus stop. Public transport good - easy to get to Valetta
Our stay was out of main season: breakfast - limited choice; lunch - chinese: sunday only; med. style monday only; indian, every day; dinner - chinese, poor quality & service, pizza & burger bar; med. style closed Wed & Thurs; indian , excellent. Best restaurant was across the road 'The Terrace' serving Italian style, open daily for lunch & dinner, food & service outstanding. The half board or all inclusive packge definitely not worth cost
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB

Excellent hotel great facilities

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Ideally situated to visit Valletta and also next door to big indoor shopping centre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Ebookers
Every things were good I like to say again in this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Location: Right on the harbour, perfect location for transport- buses and boats and on the doorstep of the biggest shopping centre on the island.
Lovely hotel, staff nice and friendly. The room was nice and clean, spacious enough for the two of us- upon losing the electricity in the room a member of staff was up immediately and fixed the problem straight away. Nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent with a brilliant selection- which was made clear what we could pick from as we were staying half board- only improvement here would be to offer complimentary bottled water for dinner as drinks were not included (apart from at breakfast). Only other point would be to have stronger wifi as the signal kept dropping when in the bedroom however, nothing to ruin a lovely stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel experience

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
we booked two standard double rooms but were given spa rooms upon check in. The rooms were amazing and the overall hotel experience was exceptional. Breakfast was high quality with many options. The service and overall attitude of the staff was excellent. Facilities were fantastic . I genuinely cannot find anything negative to say about this hotel. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels