Ratings based on 998 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shrewsbury

Nice hotel in great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Great location on the fringe of Chinatown. Three pods for the Nespresso machine was a bit stingy in an executive king room and the road noise was loud so the windows could do with an upgrade. Otherwise a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with big rooms and centrally located.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Big room with space to open your suitcase!
Cons: A little more compassion and more staff to help with luggage perhaps?
After walking to the hotel from the Picadilly train station and wheeling our awkward luggage we arrived at the hotel only to find a dozen or so steps to reach the reception desk. The lift wasn't working so I had to lug my luggage and that of my 67-year-old travel companion up to reception. The staff person at reception wasn't very apologetic about the lift not working and there was no one else around to help. Then there were more stairs to negotiate to get to the lift to access the rooms. It wasn't a great way to start our three-day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent location, very good hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location and large room.
Cons: One breakfast waitress twice put someone's used plate on our table as she was started to clear our used dishes -- extremely not appealing.
Location: Besides main description, we did Hop On-Off Bus, quick good way to get to see the outer reaches of Manchester.
Spacious executive room with high ceilings and big windows on 4th floor looking north on Portland Street, corner of Portland and Princess Streets. It was a cotton textile warehouse and has an impressive be-columned exterior. Those Victorians knew how to do warehouse! Great location. Just 12 mins walk from main rail station, 5 mins walk to the super-grand Manchester City Hall and its Albert Square. Stroll on in that same direction (you are on Princess Street, same as the hotel) and you get to trendy, buzzy Spinningfields area and a canal. Other side of canal Salford begins. Right near City Hall is the grand Library and just beyond are concert halls. But then if you stroll right along Portland Street to Piccadilly Gardens (2 blocks) you are at the entrance to edgy Northern Quarter. The lobby and entry-floor restaurant and bar however are routine businesslike style. Clean but no inspiration at all, disappointing after the exterior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very nice hotel. Staff helpful and friendly. Expensive to eat and drink there, but plenty of other place local to the hotel to eat and drink. Arrived 3 hours before check in, so asked if we could leave our bags. To our surprise room was already ready, so checked in straight away. Room spacious and very clean and comfortable. No hidden costs as we already knew had to leave a £50 deposit, which was returned on check out. Our only unexpected cost was the taxi fair from the hotel to Etihad stadium cost £18. Very enjoyable stay, would definitely recommend and use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely hotel in the heart of the city

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Location and tidyness
Cons: Shower temp was a bit variable while you used it (I was on the 5th floor)
Location: China town, train station
This was better than expected, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed and not a bad size for the UK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Well priced, clean, tidy and in a great location
Cons: The shower pressure was a bit variable, air con didn't seem to have a heat option (it could have been a user error)
Location: Right near china town, city centre and main train station.
Friendly staff, room size was good (for the UK) and the place was clean and tidy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location and friendly staff!

Posted May 14, 2017
When checking in bumped into a man who had his trousers undone and was walking around holding his private parts. He walked around looking for toilets. It was disturbing. A double bed is like two twin beds pushed together, absolutely rubbish! Not comfortable at all. Lighting in the room is so poor so you cannot use the mirror to do your makeup. Bathroom lighting also poor. Shower is so small, lifting your hands to wash your hair and you knock your elbows against the walls. You have to stand at a particular angle. Noisy at night, other guests started noise at 2am until 6am. The following day really noisy outside. Got no sleep for 2 days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place.

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Bed, room, staff.
Location: Everything close by, nice quiet rooms.
Clean, comfortable and the staff we're all great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel located right downtown

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: The location and the huge bathrooms.
Cons: a self service laundry service somewhere in the hotel or nearby would be great.
Location: Many shops, museums, and transportation nearby
Perfect place to stay when enjoying the sights and activities downtown. Easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do. The rooms were very nice and the bathrooms are immaculate with a separate shower and a tub/shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from middlesbrough

Centrally located

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Lovely hotel with friendly staff, couldn't fault our stay. Breakfast was lush and room was large, spacious and comfortable. Would definitely stay again