Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Location: most things in Mazatlan were within walking distance and the beach was just across the road.
meals, price location were all quite good and staff was very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in front of beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Excellent!!!!!! Room was great and service was superb.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room/shower

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Plumbing is a little outdated in shower and should replace pillows with softer ones...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Quaint & nice - except

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Location is wonderful, staff were very nice.
Cons: Softer mattresses!
Location: Right on the beach, with cliff divers and other attractions nearby. Also close to the center of old-town Mazatlan.
Very nice older hotel - pleasant room, nicely set up, and the location is wonderful - right on the beach! What wasn't wonderful was the king-size bed - I like a firm mattress, but this one was like a yoga mat on concrete - not a good night for me. They may have softer beds, if I was there more than one night I would have asked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Diego , ca

barefooted

Posted Apr 29, 2016
I stepped on a giant cacaroach barefooted in the middle of the night...besides that, nice view..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Old World Charm with Modern Convenience

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: The uniqueness of the property.
Location: Located in the historic section of the city and right on the beach make it convenient to the Plaza and the art galleries.
Enjoyed our 5 night stay at the Freeman. It was convenient to restaurants, beach, bars and the Plaza. Waking up to the waves crashing on the beach was a dream. Look forward to going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Much better than last time

Posted Apr 16, 2016
I stayed here three years ago, and it is much improved. Comfortable though small rooms, friendly staff, great ocean views possible. Breakfasts are plentiful and service very attentive. (Hot, buffet dishes don't age well.) One glitch: the safe mis-functioned and only two people could open it and neither was available for hours. The location away from the awful Zona Dorada can't be best.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston Texas

Buyer beware

Posted Mar 1, 2016
When we got there they didn't have the room we reserved. When they finally did move things around to get us in the room was so small as cramped and had a view of a parking lot. Next day we had to pay 300 pesos to upgrade to a decent sized room with ocean view and the TV did not work for the 1st 1/2 of our visit. Would not recommend this hotel and would not use expedia again nor recommend them to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Great Staff, Great Location, HORRIBLE BEDS!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: The staff are excellent! All areas...
Cons: THE BEDS! I think they bought box springs at a discount thinking they were mattresses!
Location: Great location for the restaurants and culture of the historic district. Our favorite part of Mazatlan. The best beaches though are north by Cerritos.
As a recognizable brand this hotel has a virtual monopoly in the Mazatlan central historic district. It is a very clean, nice facility with an excellent staff. The desk staff, the cleaning staff, the restaurant staff, especially Antonio, are all great at their job. We had to change rooms during our stay. In the rush I left a pair of $300 headphones in the room. The next day the cleaning lady brought these to me. I was very impressed and thankful. The only reason I give this hotel a rating of 3 is becasue the beds are horrible. You will not find a harder bed anywhere. All rooms are the same. I have stayed in several. After a day or two you literally are sore. In our case this is a sacrifice for the other amenities and the location. If you prefer the golden zone or better beaches north by Cerritos you will find much better beds! I believe the owners of this hotel understand they have a monopoly in this area and refuse to invest in new mattresses. I hope someday a Hilton or Marriott may invest in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
We loved the Best Western Posada Freeman. The hotel atmosphere was just what we expected. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. We love the historical area, it is less touristy and has the real flavor of Mexico . Only one recommendation is get to get more comfy beds, other than that it was perfect.l