Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Upgrade appreciated

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: It was right across the boulevard from the ocean about halfway between the old part of town and the Zona Dorada so it was pretty conveniently located.
Cons: The pool was nice but workers were repairing the water slide during our stay and they didn't clean up sharp bits of cement from the underwater steps.
Location: There is a restaurant right next door and convenience stores nearby both north and south of the hotel, as well as a Mega supermarket around the corner
As the hotel prepared for their annual employee Posada party on the back patio, we were unexpectedly transferred to a room in a newer building. It had a refrgerator, a better shower, and an ocean view, all of which we really appreciated. The only inconvenience was not being able to make even local calls from the hotel room. Apparently there is a pay phone in front of the hotel which requires a special phone card but the lobby staff didn't know where to buy one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Bad experience, my reservation for this hotel was supposed to be with balcony with beach view, but instead they gave me a room in the back with lake wiew. I brought this to their attention at the front desk, but they said that they couldn't compensate me for the price difference since I made my reservation and paid online. Very poor service overall, I will NOT return to this hotel!
1 out of 5
by Mike from Los Angeles

Disaster

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
To whom this may concern: My stay at the hotel was miserable, I found insects in my room dead an alive. The water pressure was bad inside the room and the toilet wasn’t bolted down to the floor so every time anyone sat on it, It would move away from the floor. The TV, only had one English speaking channel. The so called hospitality was weak and barely there they hotel staff seemed to be only concentrated on the possible tip by lingering around the room checking lights turning on the TV for us and checking beds. We were too tired when we arrived and just wanted to go to our room but he insisted on telling us about the area. Later we All decided to eat at the restaurant located inside the hotels lobby where one of my family members was served food with a dead insect inside of it and then the restaurant manager would turn around and accuse us of placing the insect in the food in order to get a discount or to possibly not pay for the food. I thought I was being punked!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Reviews were correct.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
You get what you pay for. Terrible hotel service, mediocre rooms, non working ac, broken doors etc. Only plus is its right on the beach and the pool was fun. No matter how cheap this place is, do yourself a favor and stay away. Check in took over 2 hours (wish I was exaggerating). Maintenance came up in the middle of the night, floors were wet at all hours of the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a room at Don Pelayo very last minute and didn't read the reviews beforehand. When I did read them I expected the worst and almost cancelled. Overall this was a great experience. The only downsides to the hotel experience was, first, the very slow check in process. I feel this could easily be avoided if someone from the staff walked down the line of costumers and double checked they have all their required information ready to speed up the process once it's their turn. Also, the staff could use classes on manners and how to make people feel more welcome. Last complaint is for a double bed room with a sofabed (obviously more than 3 people in it) there was one regularly sized towel and a small mat size towel which was definitely needed because our bathroom floor was still wet when my family and I walked in. Aside from those 3 things, I loved the location, the view from the balcony, the pool area which was definitely bigger than most hotels I saw during my trip. I also loved the size of the room and how accessible all the restaurants, shopping centers and attractions were from our hotel. Some reviews said there wasn't access to the beach but in reality you just have to walk a little further down where it's safer due to waves or jellyfish warning flags. It was honestly no big deal. Definitely would stay again for the price I paid and experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay overall was alright. The customer service upon arrival could have been better. I don't believe eating in front of customers that are waiting without being acknowledged is just plain rude and horrible customer service. We had to wait for our second room and when it was given to us it was lacking towels and blankets. The service seemed rushed. Also I did not like that they have a sign that says they do not take responsibility for personal items Missing from the rooms. It is not reassuring to know that your maid service could take personal items during your stay. The point of having a hotel room is to have a feeling of security when you are away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Great ocean view, but not worth going back.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
When we arrived we were not accommodated, luckily 1 of our travelers was delayed. Room cleaned very late in the afternoon and never had enough towels. I found a dead roachieve next to night stand. Some staff were very nice, but not enough to get me and my entire family to go back. Pictures are deceiving.
1 out of 5
by Francisco from Arizona

Family tour 4

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
This was the most unplasant visit to a Hotel. They don't take in consideration the families that stop after a long drive. Their service is the worst and have no respect toward the client. It's all about favoritism and buisness there. Out of all the Hotels we've stayed at, from the many times we've been at Mazatlan, this has been the worst one. I don't recomend it at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably won't come back

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
If you are looking for just somewhere to sleep this is great. Rooms are large and very clean, very large balconies with views of the ocean. Pool is very large. Service is horrible. Our AC made a lot of noise, they never fixed it even though we asked about 3 or 4 times. Phones never worked either so we had to keep walking down to the desk to ask them to fix our AC. TV Channels looked horrible. They never fixed these two things either. The TV and phone thing was a hotel-wide problem. We had two rooms and the second room had these issues also. Location is great. If you are planning to reserve make sure you list exactly how many people will be staying in the room. If not they will charge you extra per person at check in. Everyone needs a wrist band for the pool area so they do keep track of this. We asked for extra blankets and towels they only gave us two of each for both rooms. I understand there are only two beds but I get cold very easily and usually sleep with multiple blankets. We also had an incident where a man in the lobby, he worked for a different company of boat tours but has a kiosk in the lobby, was incredibly rude and yelling at guests in the lobby because a child was misbehaving and the mom grabbed him and pulled him aside and the man went crazy literally yelling across the lobby at her, it was completely unprofessional, ridiculous and disruptive. It wasn't the worst place in the world but I would definitely consider other options before staying here again.
3 out of 5
by Jordon from BC

Basic Accommodations But Worth The Price

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Basic hotel, no-frills. For fifty bucks Canadian (stayed in May) it was well worth it. Great balcony over-looking the ocean, speedy WiFi, the shower head was upgraded with great pressure. The rooms do need a renovation but again, for the price it exceeded my expectations.