Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sue

We highly recommend El Sol La Vida!

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
We highly recommend El Sol La Vida! Ray & Linda are such wonderful hosts! They make you feel like you've been friends forever as soon as you arrive. The property is well taken care, and stunning to look at, with amazing views and proximity to the ocean. The beach is wonderful and mostly empty, which is a bonus. The breakfasts were wonderful with more food than we could eat. They started with a wonderful bread of some kind (Linda's Banana Nut Bread is the best!) and a bowl of fresh fruit and some yogurt. Then Ray would make a wonderful hot breakfast with eggs, toast and sometimes potatoes of some variety. One outstanding one was his version of Huevos Rancheros, the best we've had! Of course this is all accompanied by juice and coffee/tea. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault. ;-) The property is a ways from civilization, if you will, as it's in a new area of Mazatlan and down a dirt road. You can get taxis to places, but it was too cold at night for me to use the open air ones. So after our first night there, we decided to rent a car. If you just want to sit by the pool or lay on the awesome beach, it's perfect. We enjoyed having a car for a little more freedom. We loved using Uber for Centro, when it was a bit far to walk, but they're not available in this area. Ray and Linda's daughter runs Surf's Up Beach Cafe next door, which we were able to enjoy once, as well. All in all a wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area, california

great stay..

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Orbitz
great stay,very peacful,very clean, right on beach, owners of hotel very nice couple...overall would recommend and going to book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Fabulous hotel… even better hosts!!

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel was so clean and absolutely beautiful. Located in a secluded area, it is very quiet and you have the beach to yourself.
Location: The location is perfect if you want privacy. A car is helpful as you are off the beaten path and a bit north of the tourist area.
Could not have asked for a better experience! From the day we arrived until the day we left, Ray and Linda were the consummate hosts. Upon arrival, we were greeted with drinks, had a relaxing visit with our host and were given a tour of the property. Each morning we would wake early and take a stroll on the beach. By our return, coffee would be waiting for us along with fresh fruit, pastries and juice. A short time later we would be served a hot breakfast, typically consisting of a traditional Mexican dish. Ray and Linda assisted with planning activities in the area and provided directions to points of interest. After arranging a fishing trip for us, Ray took the freshly caught snapper and prepared a delicious fish fry for us that night. Best we’ve ever had!! The hotel and its setting are absolutely beautiful and so peaceful. I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere but here when visiting Mazatlan. We will definitely return to Mazatlan in the future, and staying at El Sol La Vida will be in our travel plans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OOB, Maine

Mazatlan B&B gets A+

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beaches, restaurants, shopping, catamaran tour.
El Sol La Vida, a charming adults-only bed-and-breakfast off a dusty dirt road in Nuevo Mazatlan, is a true oasis in the parched, sun-drenched Sinoloan scrubland – and a welcome alternative to the Golden Zone of tourists and high-rise hotels a few miles away. The peaceful, breezy pool area, with its palms and cacti, affords an incomparable unobstructed view of the Pacific. Three well-built palapas provide shade, and a hot tub occupies a front corner atop the sea wall. Waves crash close to shore, and a few fishermen dot the secluded mileslong Playa Cerritos below. Gulls, hawks and pelicans soar overhead, while a friendly dog and two young cats laze around the immaculate grounds. Stone, brick, clay and tile are used artistically throughout this former hacienda. Hibiscus and bougainvillea bloom prodigiously, adding bursts of color. A vivid gold concrete wall separates the adjacent Surf’s Up Café, which opens from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday through Sunday. Our comfortable and spacious second-floor suite – one of just four units – featured a king-sized bed with an elaborately carved headboard, flat-screen TV, A/C, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, mini-fridge and large balcony, where we could watch the sunrise – and see the towering Riu across Emerald Bay in the distance. Ray and Linda, our attentive British hosts, served sumptuous al fresco breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Great bed and breakfast hotel with only 4 rooms. Ray and Linda are terrific hosts and can help you plan an outing if you want. The restaurant next door is excellent. We rented a car as it is not on a bus line and is a few miles to town or other activities. I think a taxi would get expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

And away we go!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Truly a hidden gem in the middle of paradise this little cottage or bed and breakfast or small hotel or just bit of happiness is located in emerald bay away from all the noise and traffic which in its self is not as bad as it sounds. You have to drive down a rocky dirt road to get to the resort so don't turn around like I did. Once we arrived we were greeted by our host who was genuinely kind as well as the staff and the rest of the family. Our accommodations were small but accommodated our needs throughout our stay. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruits and yogurt with cereal and a hot food option. The resort has only a couple of rooms so it stays quiet and peaceful around the pool and outside the remodeled gate leading to the beach. We rented a car so we had access to gas and shopping and to all the different place to see and visit. Can't say enough nice things about are host can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by Mike from phoenix

This place is magic!

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
What a great place! If you are looking for a busy hotel with lots of people, activity and night life, this is not your place. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, private beach, and peaceful surroundings with easy access to the city, this is a great place to stay. And I cannot say enough about Ray and Linda - fabulous hosts. They felt like close friends after only the first day. Great homemade breakfast every morning. Beautiful pool and spa. Artistically designed and well cared for, Ray and Linda have created a small oasis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Arizona

Wonderful Facility and Staff

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: My wife and I like to sit by the ocean and read. At El Sol La Vida there was no fighting for deck chairs, shade or sun.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Mazatlan offers a variety of excursions both on and off the water. We enjoyed the restaurants both in the Zona de Oro and old downtown Mazatlan.
We were at the hotel for 5 days of perfect weather. We enjoyed the ocean views and the adjacent beach. The Sunrise Room where we stayed was everything it was advertised to be. The owners Ray and Linda treated us like family, and made our stay special. The adjacent restaurant, Surf's Up Cafe, run by Leann their daughter, was a nice add to an already outstanding little paradise. The fact that it is ranked #12 of 267 restaurants in Mazatlan further shows the quality of the location. The Town of Mazatlan was too far to walk for evening restaurants and night life so we rented a car at the airport from AVIS for about $35 dollars a day, including insurance. Driving the beach route into town was fun and easy. The locals tend to drive a little crazy so give them a wide berth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Nothing less than true Paradise in every way!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything! Every detail was perfect!
Cons: Nothing... Please don't change a thing!
Location: The location is a short cab ride from the city. ($12ish) We went to the lighthouse, Stone Island and all over town. Time kept us from doing more.
My husband and I go on one vacation every year. This year we chose El Sol La Vida and it beat every place we've ever been! The quaintness of only having 4 rooms, the private beach, the immaculate grounds and the feeling of being home was just the start. Ray and Linda, the owners, offer the ultimate hospitality and we felt like instant friends when we walked in. Linda serves breakfast every morning, complete with the most delicious homemade breads you'd ever taste. We asked Ray for suggestions of where to go and what to see and each time, he and the experience was on point! The pictures here in no way give the deserved justice of the beautiful, secluded, breathtaking views of the ocean and their property. They have put their hearts in the décor and it shows. Everywhere you look is a panoramic beauty untouched by commercial hotel-type resorts. You MUST experience El Sol La Vida! Everything you want, everything you need is here! Surf's up Café is a one-of-a-kind restaurant serving delicious and different dishes, right next door. Their daughter owns it and puts great talent and effort into serving "award winning" food. The staff far exceeds the expected service and friendliness! There is not enough space to explain the peacefulness this place offers. There are not enough words to express the true experience of coming here or the appreciation we had for the vacation of a lifetime. Thanks Ray and Linda for creating a paradise unmatched anywhere!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

What a GREAT place to stay!!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Everything, we can't wait to go back!
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Close enough to town to have the city experience, and far enough away to lose yourself in the beauty of the area.
If you are like us and are skeptical of 5 star reviews, trust us, this place more than lives up to the rating we have given it. The rooms, the grounds, and the surroundings are beautiful! The Owners and the other folks that run the place are amazing! The food is fantastic and there is a great restaurant with a varied menu right next door. We needed to find a place to unwind from the stresses of work life and El Sol La Vida more than fit the bill. The rooms are quiet and open up to these beautiful gardens filled with all sorts of tropical plants and flowers. You eat breakfast by this awesome blue tile pool that seems almost to connect with the gorgeous beach that is in front of the place. The Owners and Staff are so knowledgeable about Mazatlan and can help you find exactly the vacation experience that you need. We cannot recommend this place enough. Absolutely Brilliant! :0)