Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Fabulous hotel… even better hosts!!

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Pros: The hotel was so clean and absolutely beautiful. Located in a secluded area, it is very quiet and you have the beach to yourself.
Location: The location is perfect if you want privacy. A car is helpful as you are off the beaten path and a bit north of the tourist area.
Could not have asked for a better experience! From the day we arrived until the day we left, Ray and Linda were the consummate hosts. Upon arrival, we were greeted with drinks, had a relaxing visit with our host and were given a tour of the property. Each morning we would wake early and take a stroll on the beach. By our return, coffee would be waiting for us along with fresh fruit, pastries and juice. A short time later we would be served a hot breakfast, typically consisting of a traditional Mexican dish. Ray and Linda assisted with planning activities in the area and provided directions to points of interest. After arranging a fishing trip for us, Ray took the freshly caught snapper and prepared a delicious fish fry for us that night. Best we’ve ever had!! The hotel and its setting are absolutely beautiful and so peaceful. I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere but here when visiting Mazatlan. We will definitely return to Mazatlan in the future, and staying at El Sol La Vida will be in our travel plans.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OOB, Maine

Mazatlan B&B gets A+

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beaches, restaurants, shopping, catamaran tour.
El Sol La Vida, a charming adults-only bed-and-breakfast off a dusty dirt road in Nuevo Mazatlan, is a true oasis in the parched, sun-drenched Sinoloan scrubland – and a welcome alternative to the Golden Zone of tourists and high-rise hotels a few miles away. The peaceful, breezy pool area, with its palms and cacti, affords an incomparable unobstructed view of the Pacific. Three well-built palapas provide shade, and a hot tub occupies a front corner atop the sea wall. Waves crash close to shore, and a few fishermen dot the secluded mileslong Playa Cerritos below. Gulls, hawks and pelicans soar overhead, while a friendly dog and two young cats laze around the immaculate grounds. Stone, brick, clay and tile are used artistically throughout this former hacienda. Hibiscus and bougainvillea bloom prodigiously, adding bursts of color. A vivid gold concrete wall separates the adjacent Surf’s Up Café, which opens from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Wednesday through Sunday. Our comfortable and spacious second-floor suite – one of just four units – featured a king-sized bed with an elaborately carved headboard, flat-screen TV, A/C, Wi-Fi, ceiling fans, mini-fridge and large balcony, where we could watch the sunrise – and see the towering Riu across Emerald Bay in the distance. Ray and Linda, our attentive British hosts, served sumptuous al fresco breakfasts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Great bed and breakfast hotel with only 4 rooms. Ray and Linda are terrific hosts and can help you plan an outing if you want. The restaurant next door is excellent. We rented a car as it is not on a bus line and is a few miles to town or other activities. I think a taxi would get expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Realmente no es un Hotel es una casa de extranjero

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: La atención del personal es estupenda principalmente de la Srita Brenda y su Padre. Cuartos y alberca limpios.
Cons: Fumigar el lugar, y aunque no es problema de los dueños es fatal el asseso por la calle de casi un kilometro y medio de terraceria
Location: Ninguna actividad
Como lo describo realmente no es un Hotel es una casa que cuenta quizás con tres o cuatro habitaciones adaptadas para rentar, los dueños son Ingleses que vienen desde Canada. El primer problema que se presenta en la calle donde se encuentra que es de trerraceria y llena de baches y mucho lodo por las lluvias, totalmente oscura realmente se puede entra con camioneta. El segundo problema es que en le desayuno que se sirve al aire libre es molesto porque por la falta de fumigación del lugar, ya que esta lleno de moscos y moscas y es desagradable. En el desayuno no hay variedad, prácticamente te sirven lo que tienen, hay poca elección,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zacatecas

Hotel para relajarse genial para parejas

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Desde el momento que se ingresa a la estancia, te recibe un agradable jardin y la vista a la piscina, con el mar de fondo, simplemente fenomenal. La atencion personalizada de Linda y Ray te hacen sentir como en casa; tu casa en la playa. 100% recomendable para parejas que buscan relajarse y despegarse de lo cotidiano. Puedes dar paseos por la playa por el acceso en la parte de atras, y en las noches se puede disfrutar de un relajante jacuzzi al aire libre mientras el golpeteo de las olas de trasfondo forma el ambiente perfecto para trasladarte a un escenario paradisiaco. Hermoso, simplemente hermoso.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madrid, España

Un lugar bonito y tranquilo

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: La habitación y el baño era grande y comoda con una terraza privada. La decoración del lugar es muy bonita estilo rústico con muy buen gusto.
Cons: El desayuno se repite demasiado. Esta todo bueno y fresco y recien hecho. Pero debe ser mas variado y añadir bollería, fiambre y quesos.
Location: Esta en un lugar tranquilo y lejos de los ruidos verbeneros de la zona turistica. Esta la playa justo en frente y practicamente exclusiva.
Estuvimos 8 dias alojados.Fuinos perfectamente atendidos. El hotel ofrecio lo que íbamos buscando, un lugar bonito y tranquilo para descansar. Todo el mundo fue amable y atento. Estabamos solos por empezar la temporada baja asi que teniamos todo el lugar para nosotros. Hay un cafe andxo al hotel que servia comidas en fin de semana. Alquilamos un coche ya que hacia falta para salir cualquier sitio..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

And away we go!

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Truly a hidden gem in the middle of paradise this little cottage or bed and breakfast or small hotel or just bit of happiness is located in emerald bay away from all the noise and traffic which in its self is not as bad as it sounds. You have to drive down a rocky dirt road to get to the resort so don't turn around like I did. Once we arrived we were greeted by our host who was genuinely kind as well as the staff and the rest of the family. Our accommodations were small but accommodated our needs throughout our stay. The grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. Breakfast was very nice with fresh fruits and yogurt with cereal and a hot food option. The resort has only a couple of rooms so it stays quiet and peaceful around the pool and outside the remodeled gate leading to the beach. We rented a car so we had access to gas and shopping and to all the different place to see and visit. Can't say enough nice things about are host can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by Maria del Rocio from CULIACAN, SINALOA

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
TODO ME GUSTO, MUY TRANQUILO PARA DESCANSAR, SOLO LOS DESAYUNOS QUE OFRECEN NO ME GUSTO.
5 out of 5
by Mike from phoenix

This place is magic!

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
What a great place! If you are looking for a busy hotel with lots of people, activity and night life, this is not your place. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, private beach, and peaceful surroundings with easy access to the city, this is a great place to stay. And I cannot say enough about Ray and Linda - fabulous hosts. They felt like close friends after only the first day. Great homemade breakfast every morning. Beautiful pool and spa. Artistically designed and well cared for, Ray and Linda have created a small oasis.