Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany (previously Kent, England)

Hugely Disappointing

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Picturesque surroundings.
Cons: Customer care.
Location: Very remote.
We had booked a two night stay at Whaddon Grove House (WGH) based on the largely positive reviews and high ratings this B&B had received. Unfortunately WGH failed to meet the high standards suggested by those reviews/ratings. Upon arriving at WGH we were met by two friendly dogs which was nice. Unfortunately there was evidence of their existence deposited all over the lawn which did not make a good first impression. The house and grounds are picturesque but on the whole we didn't feel as though the B&B was of a particularly high standard, and we felt as though we would have got better value for money elsewhere. We wouldn't consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York, North Yorkshire

Whaddon Grove house

Posted May 13, 2015
The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had the twin room with electronic adjustable beds! The bathroom was fantastic and had a double shower. We had one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had for a long time with plenty of toast etc. The whole place was modern and clean and we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Peace

Posted Nov 8, 2014
We only booked 2 nights, We live in Essex and have such a fast pace of life. We got to Wiltshire on the 31.10.14 after a 4.30 hour journey. The room was excellant large and spacious. Only thing that let it down was no en suit, We had to walk past the next room. (Which had its own ensuit). Other that breakfast was good and the owner very nice. WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN. BUT NOT TO THE ANNIX.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014
5 out of 5
by David from London

Middle of nowhere

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Very comfortable beds, large screen TV in every room. Easy and plentiful parking. Good shower.
This B&B is about 3/4 of a mile down a farm road (well maintained) so don't give up, it is well signed. Facilities modern and well maintained. Very welcoming owners. Easy parking but it is in the middle of nowwhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything faultless!

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Breakfast was excellent, very clean, staff very polite and welcoming. Totally enjoyable stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not your average bnb

Posted Jul 15, 2013
very helpful staff, very clean room with gret facilities
5 out of 5
by Penny from Surrey England

Peace and Comfort

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: Friendliness of hosts and comfort of house
Location: Location of house itself idyllic, but you have to drive through a very parked up housing estate to find the entrance to the fields.
I was traveling with my daughter and neither of us had been to this part of the country before. We found the guest house quite easily, having been warned by reading previous reviews that it is well tucked away. The house itself stands in the middle of lovely fields - the only noise is the singing of birds. The owners and their dogs Alfie and Stella are very welcoming and instantly put you at your ease. The first impression is that everything sparkles with cleanliness and this is borne out when you see the immaculate condition of the decoration of the rooms. Our room, an en-suite twin, was admittedly quite compact and did not have any chairs, but this was compensated for by the comfort of the adjustable beds which could be converted into satisfactory recliners. The bathroom contained a spacious shower and was also beautifully clean. Breakfast in the morning was well-cooked tasty local food which set us up for the day to explore the surrounding area. We found two interesting local castles, Lacock village and Museum and Abbey, the brewery at Devises (but be warned you need to pre-book here if you want a tour) and we went as far afield as a Lavender farm in Somerset. All in all a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Mike from Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK

Peaceful pleasure

Posted Jun 6, 2012
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: Finding it
Location: Surrounded by fields, very peaceful. 10 minutes by car from Melksham town centre.
Although a bit tricky to find until you spot the first direction sign, this is a very clean, bright, modern house set in the middle of wide open Wiltshire countryside. The hosts are very friendly, breakfasts excellent and the room was first rate and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight Stay

Posted Jun 2, 2012
A very comfortable and highly satisfactory stay. Nothing to add