Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Within walking distance to everything in downtown Memphis!
The hotel "lobby" is about the size of a closet and is located in the parking garage. When we got up to our room, I went to use the restroom and there was 1 wash cloth to use. Since our room was located two doors away from the laundry room I went down there to ask for towels instead of calling the front desk. The housekeeping told me I had to wait until laundry was done. Then they all snickered at me. Then one lady ordered the housekeeper that was folding laundry to give me some towels. She then asked the other housekeepers who was responsible for my room after asking me what number I was in. She sternly told the room of housekeepers to deduct that from her hours. Then they all snickered again about it and laughed it off. Our room was a smoking room when I had asked for a non smoking room. This was not that big of issue because it was nice out and I was able to open the window to freshen the room up. We were also staying on the 8th floor so security was not an issue with having a window open. I would have complained and asked to switch rooms but we were only staying a night and after the incident in the laundry room I did not want to draw anymore attention to myself since we were not going to be in the room that much anyway. The other people I was with were not happy with their rooms either. Furniture looked like it was leaning and none of the doors ( bathroom and shower doors) would not close in their rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If only no smoking room meant no smoke in the room

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel was convenient for downtown attractions. The breakfast was included and had a variety of options.
Cons: Only one elevator working. No smoking room and corridors smelled of cigarette smoke
Location: Well located. Near the baseball park, short walk to Beale St and other attractions
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Decent hotel with great access to Beale Street.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: It could use updating.
Location: Close to Beale St with lots of eateries and events center within walking distance.
We just stayed one night but we've stayed here before. Staff are friendly. Beds were comfortable but overall the place is pretty run-down. They could definitely use new carpet, drapes, artwork. I liked having the refrigerator in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 26, 2016
I read others reviews and didn't think it would be that big of a deal, until we experienced it. The hotel has big time problems with their elevators. So much so they actually turn them off and encourage you not to use them from the first floor. If you are on any other floor you won't know they are off and just wait forever. The hotels rooms don't begin until the 8 th floor. Parking goes up to the 6 th floor. If you are lucky you will get a room on the 8th floor. We were on the 10th and had to carry our bags up and down the stairs. When we didn't take the car, we had to walk down 10 flights of stairs in 95 degree weather. Now we are fit enough we could handle it but there were people staying there with physical limitations, elderly, etc. Good location. Rooms were ok. But the elevator situation would keep me from staying there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown Memphis

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Good location, good price, flexible and pleasant staff. Elevator not working so well. Ok overall. Good for brief budget travel. Wouldn't stay for longer visits.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No lo recomiendo esta muy mal y muy mal servicio

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Tardó el de la recepcion en atender por estar en el celular, la tarjeta no abrió la puerta una camarera nos cambio de cuarto tocando puertas para encontrar una habitación desocupada y la abrió con su llave maestra y sin decir nada nos paso y más tarde otro joven nos subió otras tarjetas, mal aspecto del personal! Nunca ocuparé estos hoteles!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oglesby

It was great.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
It was awesome. I had not one complaint. I am from Memphis but I needed a break at least for a night, just one. They made that possible.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from memphis,tn

hotel is a little old but very comfortable.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: service
Location: great location, heart of downtown
experience was great even though i had a few hiccups along my stay, firsty they couldn't find my reservation that was in my name, once that was straightened out, i got on the elevator and it stopped on me i had to get one of the employees to get me off
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to Lebonheur

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Location is right downtown
Location: Fun to watch the carriage rides go by hotel.
Nice location, we picked this hotel, because it is only one mile from the hospital. Had muffins, bagels, etc..typical hotel breakfast and a pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, Ok

2:30 am fire alarms

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The fire alarm went off at 2:30 am. We had a six year old and five year old disabled child that had to be carried down the 9 flights of stairs. By the time we reached the bottom the fire trucks had still not arrived. The only staff present was still in the office on the computer. When the 5 fire trucks finally arrived the guests were quickly told it was a false alarm and we could return to our rooms. However the alarms continued to sound until 4:00 am. When we checked out in the morning no one apologized for the inconvenience and we were told that it was a drunk who set the alarm off and the police had taken him in. We found it curious that while we were outside only 2 firemen entered the building and the other 4 trucks drove off almost immediately after they arrived. We also did not see any police cars ever. After doing a bit of searching we found that the fire alarm problem has happened several times at this hotel. We will be contacting Econolodge as soon as we return home.