Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Noisy Neighbors

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: I like the location and the beautiful private beach.
Cons: Better sound proofing between rooms.
Location: Very close to Fort Bragg and Mendocino. Right next to the ocean.
A party arrived next door to our room about midnight and stayed up partying until around 4:30 AM. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep. Not the hotel's fault, but it was a little rough.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Ohio

inexpensive hotel with private beach

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff & the wonderful beach.
Cons: New sheets.
Location: Mendocino Botanical Gardens, Montgomery woods SP - Coastal redwoods forest.
The fellows at the front desk were very nice & friendly. We had asked for two rooms with one king bed each, but were "upgraded" to larger rooms with two beds per room. The rooms smelled a bit funny, you know, that older room smell. During the remainder of our vacation, this place was referred to as the "stinky room hotel". The sheets were a bit pilled-up, but the pillows were lump-free. Beds were comfortable and we slept fine.Could really use new sheets. The hotel wasn't new but looked as though it was kept up well enough. We checked out the private beach in the morning. Tide was out & it was glorious. I would recommend & warn about this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont


Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: Access to the beach
Cons: Total renovation
Location: Not sure.
We did enjoy the relatively easy access to the beach and having a partial view of the ocean from our room but the moldy smell of our room detracted from our visit. This motel needs upgrading and is surviving based simply on modest pricing and location. We would not return to Pine Beach Inn which, at one time was probably a very nice accommodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stinky room. We were moved to another room though.

Posted Sep 14, 2015
The rooms were musty smelling, and our first room had grime we wiped off on chairs. Smelled of musty smoke. 60-70's style decor the needed some sprucing up. Great beach though!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice beach

Posted Sep 5, 2015
The private beach is lovely. Nicely kept garden around the houses. Room large and with a door to terrace that includes a mosquito door. Needs redecorating. Room somewhat musty, with rust patches at the door. Breakfast awful in much too small area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, Ca.

Condition of hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
This is a very old hotel. The room I stayed in a very musty smell, The screen on the sliding glass door was off its tracks, one lamp in the room you had it actually twist the bulb to turn it on. The bed was uncomfortable. The only good thing about this hotel was private beach and the partial Oceanview.
3 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has access to a really nice beach. Downside was that wifi was too weak to use in the room.
3 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Denise from Los Angeles, CA

Fine Inn Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was for two days and the owners were really helpful when answering any questions we had and made sure everything was ok. The hotel room was adequate but outdated but still had everything that was needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Room Poor Condition

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Large room and the open space in the compound.
Cons: Fix all the broken things
Location: good location
Beds very uncomfortable, sink handle broken, patio door screen broken and did not operate, strong smell in the room, there was no power in the room - so the lights did not come on and TV did not work, breakfast was terrible.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Browns Valley

Nice private beach, rooms aren't we'll maintained

Posted Aug 17, 2015
It was overall a good experience, the rooms aren't well maintained but everything worked and it had a nice ocean view at a fraction of the cost of other hotels in the area