Ratings based on 863 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: view
Cons: Better wifi,
Location: Cali Coast and redwoods!!!
Good, clean and pleasant staff. I stayed, the place needs some upgrades but it is a nice place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
From the pictures that I saw in the Internet it looked nice but when I arrived it's old place looking more like a motel. My room was not lighted properly, I did not have enough towels or paper towels. Still the bed was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehall, Pa

Nice room with real wood burning fireplace

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nice location
Cons: Larger bathroom with a tub/shower combo
Location: It's directly across the street from the ocean on a quiet street, with a very short drive to Hearst Castle, dining, gas and shopping.
We stayed just one night to see Hearst Castle. We arrived late after driving down from Napa, and we're pleasantly surprised to find the room had a real wood burning fireplace which we enjoyed relaxing by after our long drive with some drinks before going to bed. Bathroom is really tiny, with only a shower, but that is going to be renovated we were told. The bed was very comfortable, and it has really convenient parking right outside your door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Older style hotel. Minimum facilities

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Older style, quiet location. Direct TV..
Cons: Update facilities. bathroom fittings need modernizing and functional! - Improve WiFi - mostly nonexistent! Update TVs with flat scree
Access to private Beach included.. Miss the breakfast that used to be provided but restaurants a short distance away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach

Run down motel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Everything
This hotel is extremely rundown. The carpets were frayed, the curtains were torn, half of the light switches didn't work, the faucet on the shower fell off and the water was never warm. Additionally we had no phone service and no Internet in our room. The location is not bad as it is fairly close to Mendocino and the staff is pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Not bad for the price. Wi-Fi does not work here. This hotel is in an internet dead zone. The bathroom lights kind of flicker. Not the newest furniture. Room was clean though. Pretty big room as well. Overall, ok for the price.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel should NOT be a 3 - Star rating!!

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: All of it!
Location: Out of town, in dark area, scary. Only plus is close to beach, but found the walkway to the beach dirty.
Expedia needs to review this hotel if giving them a 3 star rating. I normally stay in 3 or 4 star hotels, and this property FALLS below 2, PERHAPS 1.5. Recently stayed at Motel 6 for quick stop to sleep, and it was way better condition than this hotel. Granted the room was clean, IT WAS OLD, everything about it was OLD. Furnishings, drapes, paint etc. The door hinge of my room was coming off, where the chain lock goes. The owners were nice but had excuses for everything. When I asked about Internet they said some young people that stayed there knocked down the antenna. When I asked why my cable tv did not work, they said some past customers pulled the connection out of the wall. When I tried to phone them from my phone, they never answered, had to go walk to the office. Another person commented that this property should be knocked down and rebuilt is right. We tried to stay there for about an hour, it had such a negative energy about it, I had to leave and find another place to stay. Stay away from this hotel so you don't loose money, fleeing the hotel in search of a safe place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA coast

Cheep place not cheep

Posted Aug 18, 2016
We had to fix the toylet. Badly in need of a remodeling. Not worth the money. I saw it had 3 * NOT. Now I know you can't trust the rateings. 1* that's being generous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Good hotel to unconnecting outside of the world

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This hotel is good to stay without wifi or phone call! and this hotel has private beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boca Raton, FL

Go elsewhere

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Tear it down and rebuild a new hotel with modern facilities.
Location: Location is off highway 1 and between Mendocino and Fort Bragg.
The hotel was old and outdated. The beds were like trampolines. The rooms were musty and the carpet was old. The TV had only very basic stations. There was no Wi-Fi that worked as well as no signal on AT&T phones.