Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pay attention to Check-In Time and Cleaning Fee

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I am a frequent business traveler, and was unpleasantly surprised when I was at a business conference and received a call from First So-Fi that I was required to check-in by 8 PM or lose my already paid reservation. I had to leave my conference early to check-in, AND pay a $60 cleaning fee that I didn't notice was in the details of the Expedia reservation. The location is great 2 blocks from the beach and right in the middle of where plenty of locals live which makes for a cool experience, but this is NOT A HOTEL- this is an apartment, and that cleaning fee does not include cleaning while you are occupying the room. Make sure you know this before confirming your reservation know what you're getting into!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tammy from Forest Park, IL

Great location - rooms need updating

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Updating the apartments. The paint is old and chipped and the bathrooms are outdated. They could use new linen and mattresses as well.
Location: 1 block from the beach and restaurants
The location of this hotel was fabulous. The apartment was decent, but worn. We had to use the plunger EVERY time that the bathroom was used. The staff was very pleasant and she went out of her way to help with restaurants, activities etc., I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was close to dinning and attractions.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
The room was too close to the street. Noise kept me up until 5 a.m.
2 out of 5
by Egidijus from Denver, United States of America

What did I book?!

Posted May 26, 2013
Pros: Location is great. Two blocks from the 5th street, and just one block from the beach!
Cons: No hidden fees? No lies about the parking? No need to pay rent for towels?!
Location: One block from the Miami/South Beach! Two blocks away from all the fun! Ocean drive, Collins ave, Washington ave - this is where the fun is at!!!
First, we had to drive around a block twice untill we saw the sign for the "hotel", which is not actually a holel, but a place where they rent a few rooms in the building. Yey, we found an entrance, and right after they have asked us to pay $60 dollars for the "cleaning fee"!!! We were staying 1 night and they asked for $60 dollars in advance with no refund! Then, there's no parking on a property, but they wrote down 50% off the indoor parking garage deal, which was only two blocks away. Once we got to the parking garage they told us that they no longer accept those vouchers from First So-Fi. Finally, rooms were big and spacy, thus if you wanted to host a big party - go for it! You already paying them $60 extra dollars for the clean up.
2 out of 5
by Rhonda

This is not a hotel; it is a room being rented.

Posted May 9, 2013
Pros: Not far from the beach. The owner offered to give our money back if we didn't want to stay.
We expected a hotel room, but received an apartment with minimal amenities. A $60 cleaning fee was assessed when we arrived - definitely not normal industry practice. No parking is provided though their web site does not make that clear.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deco budget stay

Posted Mar 31, 2013
Great location for exploring south of fifth, and good value for money. Excellent access to beach. We walked everywhere, up to Lincoln mall and down ocean drive. More attention to detail would improve the apartment significantly (eg there was no bathmat, handtowel or wash towel provided, no washing detergent, no extra toilet paper - however when we asked for extra towels etc they were provided promptly), needs another curtain in main bedroom as street lamp shines directly through bedroom window. All appliances worked, and it was great to have a washer/dryer in the apartment. Parking deal was great. (note: we've said "not recommended to friends", but that doesn't mean that it won't suit others).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Mar 5, 2013
Pros: Plenty of space. Lots of amenities.
Cons: Bathroom floors need a little work.
Location: You can't get a much better location than this around South Beach.
Location is everything. This is 2 minutes walking distance to South Beach. It's away from the nightclub scenes. The staff is friendly and the price is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location; spacious, but...

Posted Feb 14, 2013
floors in room not clean; bathroom tile grout needs to be redone; $175/night inclusive of taxes and clean fee a little too much for no facilities, some things in need of repair, and no night service. Although being on 3rd floor with no elevator not good for my husband's bad back, we were grateful for overall less noise from other occupants. The day reception young woman from QC, QC was pleasant and accomodating.
2 out of 5
by Jenny from Boston, MA, USA

Don't even think about it!

Posted Jul 15, 2012
Pros: location and size of apartment (2 br, 2 bth) were as promised
Cons: everything else!
Location: good
The "concierge" spoke little English. I tired French, Spanish and Italian too. My kids said he spoke "Borat" and his attitude matched. About 10 minutes after we checked in, just as we were changing out of our traveling clothes, "Borat" knocked at the door and said the "owners" needed to see the apartment. So there we were, half-dressed with about 8 random people walking through our rooms. I was completely offended. In addition, there was no toilet paper, no hangers in the closets, bulbs were burned out, window shades were broken, the floors were dirty, and the shampoo comes in small mustard-packets. When I shared this information with "Borat" he replied "I sorry for you" and that was it. On top of all that, they have the nerve to charge a $60 "cleaning fee" which is not shown on Expedia, and my receipt printed out my full credit card #, code, and expiration date. In other words, any one going through the trash would have your complete card identity for theft. That is completely unprofessional and I will be reporting to my bank. Wow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires

Will be back!

Posted Nov 4, 2011
Location: Big Pink restaurant, just a block away from the appartment Nikki Beach... Sunday brunch the best! and in the night best club to go on Sundays (two blocks away) Joe's Stone Crabs just (two blocks away) Mango's Cafe just 4 blocks from apartment
Love it! every one very attentive, the apartment was just what you see on the photos, the location the best ... one block from Ocean Drive, one block from Washington Av, just on Collins Av.... perfect perfect! The receptionist was very friendly and helpful! We enjoyed every day we stayed and we will return next year! *****