Ratings based on 235 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Never again

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The rooms were clean but very dated. The ceiling above the bathtub was falling down. Both beds in the room were broken. Very uncomfortable. We booked because of the pool which was nice but ice cold. Will not be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to family and reasonable price for the area.

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was a large suite because it was the only room with handicap bathroom. The suite had 2 bathrooms. The bathroom that had a roll-in shower did not have a shower wand, but staff quickly came to install one. However, neither of the bathrooms were clean the first night. Although the bed was generally comfortable the bottom sheet was not large enough to stay tucked in. The staff were accommodating and friendly considering the very large number of oil field workers they were serving on our visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Never again!

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Appearance from the outside. Rate I received through Expedia.
Cons: Front desk employees attitudes and knowledge of the hotel they are representing.
Location: Good.
To begin with at check in the girl behind the counter was rude and didn't know what she was doing, she even stated that as such. Then tells me my room # and that I go outside to side of building to park and I can enter through the side door then go up the stairs and I will see my room. So while I am toting my bags which are heavy all around upstairs while searching the map she provided to me, which was no help at all, I finally went back down stairs and low and behold there was my room, downstairs not up. The floor was dirty, tub was not spotless, and it smelled muggy. Then I decided to book the next morning to stay that night as well, so I booked it back on Expedia and all was well. I did that at 10:am, prior to 11:am check out. At 3pm I received a phone call from my father stating my mom had a heartattack....5 hours away at home...........I go immediately down to the front desk, and there was the same "I don't now what I'm doing" employee. I was in tears, crying telling her about the call I had just received. She says "Ok so you are checking out early, do you need your receipt?" I asked about even a partial refund and she said sorry. Do you need your receipt. Very unhappy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT WHAT IT USED TO BE

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
I WAS KINDA CONCERNED THAT THERE WAS A BED BUG FOGGER CAN IN MY ROOM AND THE ROOM NEXT TO ME HAD ALOT OF MATTRESSES IN THERE... I WONDERED IF THEY HAD A CASE OF BED BUGS THT I DIDNT KNOW ABOUT. MADE ME VERY SELF CAUSIOUS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia

Very comfortable

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Location was not very good. In amongst a lot of car yards.
We got this hotel through secret hotels. When we finalised the booking we checked on the hotel and were horrified to see it only had a guest rating of 2. The majority of reviews were only a 1. We were not happy that Expedia had used such a bad rated hotel as a mystery hotel. Luckily when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. We found the hotel to be very clean. The staff were friendly. The shampoos etc were good quality. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was pretty standard as in most hotels. Overall very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Luke R., Hotel Management
Cherrie, The Management and Staff of the Grand Texan Hotel and Convention Center would like to sincerely thank you for your kind words! We certainly hope to see you next time when you're passing through Midland!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not working

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Bad location, dirty area. Used Expedia surprise rate and did not expect that area and a no name hotel.
Missing second lock on door. Room not cleaned and vacuumed. Hotel public area not cleaned. Curtains dirty and not covering the window, mirror on wall was visible from the window. Phone didn't work. Dirty towel in the 3 towels in the room. Beverage machines empty, about 10. Outside security door broke, did not need a card to get in.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
It was great
1 out of 5
by Adolfo Melody from Cleburne and San Angelo, TX

Good in the begining and lacking in the end.

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
I started staying here November of 2015. They started remodeling and fixing the place up. Well that seems to have stopped, there is a lot of things around this hotel that are in need of repair. We ended up with a double-bed room this last stay and one of the beds were broken and almost in a v shape touching the floor. The blankets were stained and there was mold in the bathtub.And there were gnats all over the room. In the morning they usually have a decent variety of breakfast items. Not this time! The buffet was almost empty no sausage no bacon, and they still had two hours before breakfast was over. So I waited to see if they would put any more out. NOPE nothing just biscuits and gravy. Scrambled eggs that had been scraped dry. So I decided to have a waffle, no mix and no syrup. There was only four people in the breakfast area so it's not like they were busy and trying to get caught up. The spa was green this time and so I wasn't about to go in it. There is a lot of loose and broken brick around the pool and spa. Trip hazards all over. I really did like this place when I first started to staying here but it is going down hill. Not to mention their prices just went up as well. Looks like I will be staying somewhere else for now on. Kinda sad because this place has a huge potential to be very nice.
1 out of 5
by Alycia

Dirty

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dirty and the pool was so green and my kids were not able to get in it because it was burning there eyes and stunk due to all the chlorine that was put in
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is over rated