Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Greeted abruptly at 7pm, private function on, restaurant closed, once checked in staff nowhere to be seen.
2 out of 5
by Graham from UK

Could be very good one day

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Pros: Good rooms, beautiful historic buildings
Cons: No staff, no service, no bar-restaurant
Location: Beautiful remote rural area
Strong plusses and strong minuses. Just opened: 24 well appointed rooms in small part of vast Chateau complex. No reception staff - you use your mobile phone to summon someone: no bar-restaurant yet (apart from adequate breakfast): no lounge. No other restaurants near by. Remote rural setting - we chose that for dog walking - and got lovely walks. Only three rooms (including ours) occupied. Perhaps one day, if a good manager takes it by the scruff of the neck, it could be very good. For the moment, go with a well-stocked hamper and cool box.
4 out of 5
by StashF16

Quaint chateau

Posted Jun 14, 2012 on Hotels
The Domaine du Chateau de Modave is an absolutely gorgeous Belgian chateau/17th century farm which is still getting the finishing touches completed. The grounds are immaculate as they are stunning. Set in the Belgian Ardennes, the chateau is surrounded by old growth forrest and is arrived at by driving down a tree lined lane and watching as the walls appear in front of you. A drive throught one set of the large gates drops you next to check-in and the breakfast area. We stayed on the first (second for Americans) in two very modern, well appointed rooms. We had a double bed, separate twin boxsprings pushed together with a double mattress on top. Except for the dip in the middle it was very comfortable. The room had a TV and mini-fridge, separate water closet and bathroom/tub with shower. The windows opened fully to the orchard across the drive for a gorgeous, relaxing view. We had nice walk around the chateau grounds the next morning after our traditional European breakfast of breads, cheeses, meats, cereals, coffee and juices. There is a museum in the chateau but closed on Monday, the day we left. The staff speaks limited English but well enough to answer all our questions and the man who helped us check out seemed mostly fluent. I would highly recommend this chateau for a nice, quiet romantic get away. The surrounding area is very rural so don't expect a lot of hopping night life if that is your desire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bluevektor from London

Charming hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2012
Pros: Setting, character
Cons: Breakfast
A very nice hotel. It appears like there is still some construction on going at the hotel, but didn't notice it at first and it didnt make the stay less pleasant in any way. Its a little out of the way but a charm if you happen to be in the area. The only downside of my visit was the breakfast which was a let down for the price. There is a wonderful patisserie in the nearby village (Pont de Bonne - 2min drive or 10 min walk) . Save yourself a few euros, skip the breakfast and talk a walk down to the village. The chocolate eclairs there are heavenly.
5 out of 5
by MM from Portland, OR

Gorgeous spot, beautiful hotel, wonderful people

Posted Sep 24, 2011
We chose this hotel to have a break from cities and typical tourist spots and it was perfect for that. The chateau's main business is weddings. The hotel part is about 2 years old but seems brand new. The rooms are beautiful and very modern. Most of the workers speak English. The manager is wonderful and very oriented to helping you and ensuring you have a great experience. The hotel is part of a complex that includes a 400 year old chateau. Grounds and gardens to walk in, orchards. Quiet. The nearby town of Huy has services, restaurants, etc. There is a restaurant in the chateau that is open for lunch and dinner most days. No room service. Continental breakfast. The highlight of our recent trip to Belgium.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2018
Vraiment ageable, seul point négatif les 2 lits simple rapproché pour faire un lit double.... moyen dans un hôtel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Hotels
Bien mais pensez à apporter à manger si vous n'avez pas de voiture car il n'y a rien dans les environ et le restaurant n'est pas ouvert en hiver
5 out of 5
by Marcel

Posted Dec 13, 2017 on Hotels
TOP!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chambres du 2ème étage à éviter

Posted Dec 3, 2017 on Hotels
Superbe domaine et aménagement. Excellent petit déjeuner. Personnel accueillant. Par contre, fuyez les chambres du 2ème étage : mansarde pour contorsionnistes, pas de coin salon pourtant annoncé, glacial à l'arrivée, la salle de bain est un kit cabine ! (évier, wc, douche rideau dans un espace ridicule), coffre-fort inaccessible, rangement ridicule. Les photos du site ne sont que celles des chambres du 1er étage. On a le sentiment d'avoir été dupés.
5 out of 5
by Cornelia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels