Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London. England

Great room, my boys loved the lagoon.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We had a beautiful for my family needs but was disappointed with the bathroom when you shower the floor was wet. The overall hotel facility was good. I didn't like the ideal of been queue to be seated for meals. My boys loved the pools and lagoon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Family Vacation

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Definitely the staff. My teen daughter really enjoyed the teen club activities and the water park.
The staff were excellent. The beach was beautiful. The food was great. Really liked that there were Jamaican options for the food and not just North American. Golf was fun - but much more affordable if you bring your own clubs - club rental was expensive when added to cart rental and caddy fees. If you enjoy tennis I really recommend playing with pro during the clinic times - I really enjoyed it. Lots to see when snorkeling on your own - reef close to the beach so easy to do. Rooms near the main pool are loud until 11 pm - so don't pick one of those if you need it to be quieter. It didn't really impact us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Keisha & Latoya were great. Informed resort about not having hot water, however this was never addressed. Received e-mail confirmation about not having a fee for an amenity, however payment was later requested. When e-mail was provided to verify conversation about not being charged an additional fee, the e-mail still was not honored. This speaks volumes about the character of the resort. Experience was inferior to that received two years ago. There are too many hotels to choose from with better customer service. Not going back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nww York

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Food Service Staff Beach
Cons: The rooms and bathrooms
Location: Lots of off property tours and transportation was provided for each
Food was great and staff were really friendly. "Jamaica Day" & "Night" were excellent. The bars were excellent in service and drink. Beach was fantastic. Nightly entertainment was lovely. Transportation to the airport was excellent However, Rooms need to be more inviting and look and feel like home. The bathrooms need doors and what happen to the shower door? I am definitely going back and hope the renovations will be don't by then and the rooms will look as lovely as before. Overall, great trip. I love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peekskill NY

Very nice all inclusive

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Everything, cleanliness, the staff, the comfort, the food, the bars, the beach, security, I could list a lot more.
Cons: Not sure if anything else can be done about the mosquitos.
My family and I enjoyed our stay here. The staff went above and beyond to make us comfortable. The wide selection of food and drinks (alcohol) was just right. The beach omg was amazing. The water temperature and the cleanliness of the beach was awe inspiring. Live entertainment after dinner, a grill that opens at 10:30 at night, gift shop and did I mentioned "bars". There is so much to take in and not enough time to enjoy all that's there to offer. I must say I was very impressed with the security there. The attendants at the entrance were very alert. They checked everyone coming in and out and were very quick to lend a hand when needed. I will be heading back very soon. Yeah Man!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Carlene, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from winn

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Not bad Good place to relax Fun for the kids and the whole family
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback on Jewel Runaway Bay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phl

Pleasant stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016
My family of four had a nice stay here. They greet you with a refreshing drink when first arriving, which is much appreciated after a long journey. Layout of the resort is good: not too big or small. Very mellow vibe, enjoyed the food. Well suited for families with kids. The waterpark was a big plus. The staff we encountered were for the most part very warm and friendly. We liked our Junior Oceanfront suite - 2 twin beds were put in the room for the kids just as we requested and it was not too crowded. Our kids liked the kids club and there were plenty of fun activities for them. There was one issue with the AC in our room but it was fixed promptly. There were some water pressure issues in the bathroom with very little cold water to the sink. These never quite went away but did improve over the week. Also the power went out about 3-4 times during our stay but came back on in less than a minute, so this was only a minor nuisance. Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway Bay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you brought the water issue to our attention while on property so we could have sorted it out. The power outages are something that we have no control over at It is the local power company that controls that very similar to the power companies in North America.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to go if you have children

Posted Jun 27, 2016
The beds were extremely uncomfortable. The hotel needs some updating. The pictures on the internet make it look way better than it really is in person. The local daycare centers were allowed to come in and use the water park. The children from the daycare centers were very disrespectful and were out of control! The food was good and they had a ton of different foods to choose from. There were several staff members that were rude to us. The beach was private and very clean. We had Claudia as our maid and she was wonderful! Most of the people were friendly. It was a pretty good hotel. Defiantly pay for an ocean front suite! It's worth the upgrade. I posted pics of our view.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you were happy with most things at the resort. I am sorry to hear that you did not reach out to us with your challenges.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burleson,TX

Beautiful calm beach!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The beach, The Moonstone restaurant and friendly staff
Cons: Maybe add a few "American" breakfast items, like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage in buffet line, so don't have to wait in the grill line for them.
Location: It's about a 45 minute ride from Montego Bay Airport. Went to Dunn's River Falls which was about 30 mins away from resort.
Stayed at Jewel Runaway Bay in mid June 2016. As expected, it was hot and VERY humid, but the pools and ocean were steps away to cool down. Very clean beach, nice sandy roped-off area for swimming/wading. Would see occasional fish, not a lot though. Need to take an excursion to see more. Service always seemed slow at the restaurants, especially The Platinum Restaurant. I know you are supposed to be on Island Time, but... Breakfast buffet was interesting! Lots of local dishes I didn't recognize! I tried a few, but stuck to the omelet line for most mornings. The Jade Samurai Hibachi restaurant was good and entertaining. However it was very hot due to the limited air flow and close proximity to the HOT grills. A favorite was the Italian restaurant, Moonstone. It's right on the beach and views are beautiful and there's a nice breeze to cool you off. Food is really good, too! We had an oceanview room with a king bed and roll-away twin for our teenage daughter. The AC had to run constantly to keep the room comfortable, and ours kept turning off- something to do with a bad sensor on the balcony door. Front desk said they would send someone to fix it, but we couldn't tell anything had been done. Had to open and shut the door to get AC back on - Thankfully it only happened about every 4-6 hours. Found most everyone at the hotel very friendly and helpful. I stuck to beer and wine, so not sure how great the mixed drinks are. Will definitely consider a return trip!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us at Jewel Runaway bay as well as your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockland County NY

Pleasant Stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Had a wonderful time. Food was excellent there are three or four restaurants to choose from including the buffet. Quick service staff was friendly and the grounds was beautiful. The beach was fantastic plenty of lounge chairs and the water was crystal blue. We even had fun in the water park which is great for everyone!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2016 by Scott, Hotel Management
dear Melissa, thank you for staying with us at JRB. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself