Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better menu ,rooms updated ,shower cubicle mould evident on tile grouting.
Evening meal disappointing due over cooked cold chips but breakfast 10/10
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Beautiful countryside, wonderful hotel.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Staff were great.
Cons: Bathroom could have been better. There was no shower curtain so water on the floor unavoidable.
Location: Near Hadrian's wall.
The staff of this hotel were fantastic. We were directly above the pub and had no trouble falling asleep fairly early at night. The room was small but sufficient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Not an ideal break.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, cleanliness, cleanliness and the breakfast offer.
Location: Lovely location away from it all but close enough to pop into Morpeth and visit nearby Wallington, a brilliant National Trust property.
If you are looking for a quiet stay out in the country then look somewhere else. We arrived for 2 nights and as the rooms are directly above the bar with an Irish band playing the first night then the apologies on arrival for a loud evening were well founded. Even on the second evening the general hubbub from the bar affected any opportunity of an early night. Be prepared for a very limited breakfast. Firstly they had no decaffeinated coffee so I had to provide my own!! There is no fruit either as a fruit salad, whole fruit or tinned. The full English was decided by the 'chef' which didn't include either tomatoes or beans but did include hash browns which were conspicuous by there absence on the second day. No option of toast - 2 slices of white appear on your plate. No asking if you want one or two eggs or even how you would like them done - you get one fried egg!! The biggest issue is the cleanliness or more accurately the lack of it. The room needed a decent hoover, the breakfast drinking glasses needed washing to remove lipstick marks, the crockery needed further washing, the bins in the room had no bags so were stained with ??, the shower was mouldy and the bathroom extractor fan seriously struggled to remove steam as it was so caked with dust. There has to be some good in everything and the young girl who seems to do most jobs including cleaning and cooking breakfast is really pleasant and chatted away - location is brilliant but issues mean you don't de-stress!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Teesside

A visit of 2 halves

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Great sized family room for upto 5
Cons: Consideration for guests when booking private parties.
2 days before arrival I called to ask about children's menu as my youngest is extremely fussy eater. They very kindly offered to buy my sons favourite in which we thought was very kind and was much appreciated It was a big relief for us!. On arrival we (myself, hubby and 6 &9 year old boys) were shattered, we'd had a very busy day but when went to the bar to check in there was DJ setting up...we were then informed that there was a party on that evening and unfortunately our room was right above him...I would certainly have liked to have known this prior to arrival, possibly the 2 days before when I spoke to the landlady, especially having young children. As it turned out it didn't bother the littlest but my eldest couldn't settle. Our evening meal was lovely, compliments to the chef. However, it would've been nice to have had a table reserved in the restaurant instead in the pub which was packed to the rafters due the party. We slept well once t he music stopped. Breakfast had to be ordered the night before, no issue, but having ordered so much in advance I was expecting a nice, full english...in stead, what I got was 2 x bacon, 2 x sausage, fried egg and toast, only the toast was edible...It's been a great shame, it could've been a different stay without the party on downstairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Very peaceful with lovely countryside views.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
The staff were very welcoming and friendly but the bedroom/ bathroom needs some attentions. There was no milk in room and only decaf. tea. The place in general is a bit 'tired'. Would think twice before going back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Not somewhere I would be desperate to revisit

Posted May 8, 2017
A very tired, typical pub trying to make some extra income through B&B. The carpets were in need of a good clean. Shower was blocked. General decor shabby. Need I say more .... but the Manager, Paul was trying his best. Didn't even have any coffee for breakfast - apparently they had run out
3 out of 5
by Gary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gatwick

Misleading Description

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Refurbishment and staff training
The description of "guest house" misleading as actually rooms over a pub. I arrived just as pub was opening on a Friday lunchtime, there were 3 female staff behind the bar but no customers. As I walked in all three staff decided to go in to a back room leaving me alone. I thought this odd, so went out to my car to collect a bag and returned. This time a staff member acknowledged me and I gave her my name to check in. She gave me a key and showed me to the room. This was a spacious family room which was clean and bright albeit the carpet had seemed better days and was rather grubby. She advised that if we wanted to access the room when the pub was closed we would have to use a door which meant crossing a flat roof and using the fire escape stairs. Windows in our room opened directly on to this flat roof which concerned me about security. The wifi didn't work and staff said they had reported this to senior management who hadn't done anything about it. There are no other place to eat in the local area so decided to have an expensive (£6.95) ham & cheese toasty for lunch in the seedy bar area. Drove out and had dinner elsewhere. In the morning couldn't get the shower to work, although the house keeper sorted this. Breakfast was a scummy couple of poached eggs on toast which had two pats of butter which had failed to soften on the luke warm slices. My wife had a slightly better fried breakfast. Although we had booked for two nights left after the first night.